We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These are abandoned hotels.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Champaign
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“These are abandoned hotels.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The hotel accommodations were horrific! Mt Olympus bought up all the small hotels in the area. Then went in, shut down the lovely pools and lobbies. What is left is a creepy, abandoned hotel! My kids were actually nervous about all the blacked out windows. There is no security in the hotel. The park was a full mile from our hotel. The rooms were awful. Double beds when we payed for queen, the bedding was paper thin, mismatched scrubby old furniture, yucky soap and shampoo. The park itself is fun but understaffed and not being kept up.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    174
    207
    203
    271
See reviews for
616
59
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My girlfriends and I did a girls trip to the dells in June. We have been going to the Dells since we were kids and it was always a great time. Part of the excitement of the Dells was all the Motels along the main drive. It is a shame that Mt. Olympus has taken over the Dells. We were in building 6 so we were close to the water park which was nice. The room was nothing special- just a small hotel room. All the small hotel pools have been filled with concrete so you are forced to go to the water park. I do not have any intentions of going back to the Dells anytime soon after this trip. It's just not the same now that the entire strip has blue and white motels all up and down it!

Room Tip: You do not have any control over what " village" you end up. You could end up miles away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Upon arrival and check in, I was disappointed to learn that our room was not in the main hotel area, but a good half mile down the road. The building our first room was in was very old and dingy looking. There were kids running up and down the hallway and one stepped right on my friends foot/ankle and didn't even apologize. Of course our room was right next to theirs. I understand the Dells is a family destination, but we were on vacation too. I called the main desk and asked to have our room changed. and was told it would cost an additional $110 to move into the main resort building. We stayed with our original room but moved to another building. The room was super basic and very outdated. It was raining out so we decided to go to the indoor waterpark, which was really nice. It is open an additional 3 hours for resort guests only and has an awesome adults only cove style hot tub. The next day we went to the outdoor water park which was also quite nice. There a lot of activities for younger children which was nice since the friends we met up with had a one and 5 year old. Bottom line: I'd look for another hotel when going back to the Dells.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in the Hotel Rome area if you stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bonz65
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The campground (tents area) had carousers til after 2am!?! When the firecrackers blasted at 2:15am I went to find a Campground Host- THERE ISN'T ONE! Some guy walked behind our tent and urinated at 2:30am (bathroom wasn't twenty yards away) I wanted a refund but all they gave me was tickets to come back to the park. (8hr drive from home) THE PARK... concept & design = good. Roller coasters rocked! Lots of nails popping out of handrails and warped wood that is being neglected. A local told me it's under new ownership last few years and sliding downhill since. Whole place needs paint and TLC before it's too late. Water park was fun. Staff did not speak much English (blew their whistles alot and pointed) Tsunami wave pool was a hit with my kids.

Room Tip: Read title of review (repeat until it sinks in)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was the worst experience. The hotel was smelly and because they have so many village buildings(more than 30 motels they have bought), the waterpark and amusement park are over-run by people. The guests were rude and a lot of line jumping which made it tough get on anything. I will NEVER stay here again. I will stay closer to the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I just woke up from my first night here and I'm so unbelievably upset I am ready to just drive home early. The room is an apartment, hardly renovated and very broken. Toilet plugged, broken chair in the kitchen, tattered furniture. Loose fixture on the whirlpool, broken mirror over the whirlpool, broken thermostat, 1980's tube televisions, loose trimboards, and I can't complain without driving back to the resort because the phones do not work!

Aaaaarrrrggggghhhh! Get me the HECK outta here!

The ride times are much longer than reported on the signs, the ride attendants are not consiststant with the rules (many children under 42" riding the Cyclops, a 48" minimum rollercoaster!), beligerant, profane woman allowed to ride the karts just because she wouldn't get off. Held up the ride an extra 15 minutes and when the ride was up it only got worse.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

My family and I just stayed at Mt. Olympus Resort for two nights. I am going to be completely honest in this posting. Mt. Olympus has a lot of activities for a family. Swimming, many pools, go-carts, roller coasters etc. and our room was clean, not great but clean. My issue is we were in a room that was so far away from the pools and activities. I had no idea the pool was not there on location. I have other issues... One of our rooms had a door for ajoining rooms that was missing a door, so basically the other room could get into ours. We switched rooms needless to say. We had a wonderful view of the lake outside our room however there was trash all over the ground outside our window. I would never stay here again and would not recommend.

Room Tip: I would not recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.