We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rome Room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
eastman, wi
Level Contributor
99 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Rome Room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed in the Rome room in Mt Olympus, it was very nice and location was very nice. The rooms were normal sized and the bathroom was nice. It wasn't overly huge, but had a nice layout and plenty of room for my husband and I. We were not far from the indoor waterpark and was happy all the way around, we would stay there again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,094 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    193
    246
    236
    311
See reviews for
727
68
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anamosa, Iowa
Level Contributor
117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed at Mt. Olympus several times in the past, the first time right after the water park was built and the last time two years ago.

This time when I booked we stayed at one of the Village properties (located off-site). The cost was considerably cheaper ($150 for two nights, compared to $315). We were put in building 10 (I think there are 20-some buildings in the "village"). They start at the Hotel Rome and go towards the Lake Delton Fire Department. They are all painted blue and white and have a road that runs behind the buildings that takes you to the main complex (Hotel Rome, the water park, and the theme parks) (note: at least buildings 1-10 had this road) so you do not have to drive on the main Dells drag. I was a little scared to stay at an off-site property, but was pleasantly surprised. It wasn't fancy, but a nice hotel building. Our room was bigger than we booked, with two queens and a bunk. There was also an arcade in the lobby for the kids.

We went this past weekend, April 26 - 28, 2013. On the website it stated the outdoor theme park (which is the only reason we went (our kids are 10 and 14), to ride go karts) was open Friday - Sunday, weather permitting. When we arrived on Friday it was sunny, beautiful, 65 degrees, but the outdoor park wasn't open. I even called and spoke to a receptionist days before making my reservation to make sure it was going to be open.

When the outdoor park was open, they had two go kart tracks running and one roller coaster. It was about a 30-45 minute wait (or longer) to ride the go karts. Sunday afternoon we were able to ride twice between 11:00 am and 1:00 pm.

The water park is geared towards younger children (I would say under 12). It is nice and there are a couple larger water slides, but my 14 year old hung out by my husband and I most of the time.

There is a full bar located in several areas. This was a bonus to be able to have a beer and watch the kids playing.

It is getting a little rundown (compared to when it was first opened and a smaller resort), but that is to be expected with all the families going through there year-round.

There are no restaurants on-site, except for snacky foods. Since we stayed off-site and had to drive to the attractions anyway, it wasn't a problem. But if you're planning on parking and walking the entire time, that won't be possible (unless you order in pizzas).

The theme and water parks are also open to outside patrons, so it can get really packed with people staying on other hotels and paying $30 for the day, per person, to swim and play.

Until the kids are out of school, be aware that their website hours for attractions are not accurate (and neither is calling). Don't be surprised if you show up and the park(s) are closed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Booked 3 queen room for my daughters birthday. I had a problem with the booking which ended up costing me $114 more than I expected to pay. When we arrived we went straight to water park and the kids were bored within 2 hours and ready to leave. The rooms are not well maintained and in strong need of renovation. I will pick a different water park resort next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If Mt. Olympus indoor/outdoor theme park is your desire, book your hotel elsewhere. I am reviewing this from my Hotel Rome room currently, because I couldn't wait to warn everyone. I have never stayed at a hotel that did not have a coffee pot in the room. I have just made my second trip downstairs to see when the Kaffe Opa would be open, and was told 20 mins. I responded with "Why don't you just open at noon? We finally went to a local gas station for our coffee. The resort's mission should be to eliminate any need for guests to leave the property. Last night we stopped in at the bar next to the arcade hoping for a couple of mixed drinks, what we received was so disgusting that we left them sitting on the bar and walked out. If you walk around the hotel in the morning, you have to dodge the trash that quests have thrown into the hallways. The hotel package is very inexpensive and I guess you get what you pay for. The staff is very unfriendly, never smiling, highly unqualified for the positions this was my first impression upon check in, and I am still waiting for someone to change my impression. But management seems to be the definitive downfall of this (resort). My advise to owner/management is charge more and actually provide a service.

Room Tip: Find a room in another hotel. Stay away from Hotel Rome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmen, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were attending a concert and doing some shopping in Wisconsin Dells and wanted an inexpensive room for the night since we knew we wouldn't be there most of the time. Since it was three adults, we chose the room with three queen beds. It was very large with two of the beds in a separate room. The room was clean, had a microwave and mini frig. For $99 we couldn't beat it and were very happy with our stay. However, it's not all as rosy as it seems. There is no breakfast included; they don't have a business center so we had to go to Radio Shack to print our concert tickets (problem with printer at home before we left); some of the staff were friendly but many were short and rude with us; the beds are ok but we've definitely had better (and worse); the indoor water park does not open until 10:30 a.m.-the same time as check out. I've never heard of a pool opening that late. Your pool passes are good for your entire stay including the day of check out which is nice but we had other things to do so weren't able to take advantage of the pool. If we would have had time we would have headed to the adults only hot tub area! It seems like a great place to stay with younger kids but make sure you are in the main building as they have bought up many properties all along the main strip so you could easily be driving distance away for all the amenities. Basically, yes we would stay again for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room in the main building or you will have to drive to use the game room, water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Mt.Olympus for spring break.This place is gross.Very dirty filthy place.Not enough seats in the water park for guests. Water rides are very lame.This place lets people in that are not staying at the hotel so you get a place that is packed full of people.The owner parks his Lamborgini at the front door in a no parking area for all to see.Very Very tacky to all the guests staying at this dump.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oglesby, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked only 1 day here. Boy am I glad I did!!!!! I went to check in early so I could use the go carts. I know it was the beginning of APril but still should have had more outside to do cause a 17 year old was not using the indoor theme park. I also was told they would text when my room was ready, but never got that text!!!! It was 5pm before I went back to the front desk to see the status of my room. She handed me the room number and the entrance door and buillding number. ANd then said have a nice night. Was not impressed with the room. NO COFFEE!!!! Beds were very uncomfortable. Seems all they did was take plywood and set a mattress on top. Very Noisy and could here the neighbors talking. Will never stay here again!!! Especially when I have to get in my car and drive to the Waterpark for the day, they shouldnt be called a resort, this is not one!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.