We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What you'd expect for a water park hotel. Not bad.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Save Saved
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Olympus Resort
1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What you'd expect for a water park hotel. Not bad.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

If your goal is to take the kids to an indoor water park, this place is ok. The hotel is huge, with groups of pretend & teens everywhere! Many families with multiple kids and bags of groceries in tow. There are huge numbers of people here. The lobby looks like a refugee camp at times. But this is a function of its large size. The place looks more upscale than it is. Don't expect much in the way of personal service. It is essentially a large water park with a place to sleep attached. My room was clean and didn't smell. Staff in the coffee shop and gift store were helpful if you asked.

The indoor water park is accessible without going outside, but it is quite a walk. Bring An extra bag to use at the pool, because it will be difficult to go back to your room.

If your goal is to go to a water park in Wi Dells, and pay less than other places, but still be in an attached hotel, this might be for you.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    158
    178
    161
    225
See reviews for
538
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I was nervous about our recent stay at Mt. Olympus. Some of the reviews were quite negative. We went as part of a large group so changing my mind was not really an option. Please keep in mind this review is based on the Rome building. There appear to be many more room options on and off property. I would recommend the Rome building. The other rooms seemed so far away. Also, we stayed in March. The outdoor attractions were not available to us, only the indoor and I think 1 outdoor roller coaster that I did not go to. Customer Service: fine. No issues. Check in was easy and when I requested more blankets and pillows, I got them right away. When I called for our room to be cleaned, someone came within 10 minutes. Room Quality: ok. This is a water park, you are not going because you want to lounge in your room. The room is basic but it was clean. I will say the rooms are LOUD. The walls do seem to be made of paper. Didn't stop us from sleeping after a long day at the water park. Food: it's your typical fast food option when you stay at a place like this. Don't expect more than hot dogs, pizza and burgers. For a good meal, go to Moosejaws. That place is fantastic!! Water Park: my group of 34 thought it was great! Ages ranged from 4-13. The kids had plenty to do. Water temp was fine, lines were not too long, we always managed to get a tube for the lazy river and slides. Indoor Amusement Park: great for 7 and over. We had some 4&5 year olds in the group and they were bored. They were not tall enough for most of the rides and the rides they were tall enough for they considered baby-ish. Don't expect to stay longer than 2 hrs ( if that) at the indoor amusement park ( that includes a game of laser tag which is extra). Overall Mt. Olympus was a good choice for our group. Don't let the negative reviews get you. I'm sure you'll find negative review for Great Wolf ( been there, didn't think it was that great) and Kalahari ( next year's choice) as well.

Room Tip: Stay in the Rome building if you want easy access to the indoor water park. If you want easy access...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was leary about staying at Hotel Rome at Mt. Olympus after I read all the horrible reviews. Our experience wasn't so bad. I have to agree that the rooms are VERY average, nothing to brag about at all. They have a cold feel to them because of the hardwood floors, wood tables and no pictures on the walls. Also, they were very loud, lots of noise could be heard from the hallway. I was shocked that there was not a coffee maker, no bags for laundry, 1 shampoo, 1 conditioner and 1 soap. The beds weren't all that comfortable either. Rooms were clean, but again, VERY AVERAGE. My kids, ages 7, 8 and 15 all had a blast at the indoor theme park, indoor water park and the outdoor theme park. Since it was cold out and snow on the ground they only were able to do the go karts and one roller coaster. Though, they had a lot of fun and no complaints at all. A lot of laughter and happy faces from my children. I personally had no issues with the staff, everyone was friendly and very accommodating. We did receive 12 free water park/amusement park passes for the summer. For every $10 spent in the gift shop, we were given a free pass. My family wants to come back in the summer to use the passes, I doubt we will stay in the hotel, but definitely will have some fun at the water/amusement park. Fun resort for families with young children, but definitely not top of the line if you are looking for luxury in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was terrible. We stayed in the main hotel and you would think it would be better maintained. Paint chipping, wall paper peeling, hair in tub not ours, walls paper thin, there was not even a dresser in the room. We stayed two nights and the neighbors (different neighbors) were loud. No such thing as quiet time. Horrible night sleep. I am never going to stay here again even with the deals.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This was our first stay at Wisconsin Dells and hotel Rome was a big disappointment. This hotel is very dirty and gross! The carpet in the hallways looks like it's never been vacuumed. On the way to the pool we saw men's underwear laying on the carpet. There was long black hairs in the clean folded towels in our room. The water in the pool is dirty! There were papers and plastic bottles floating in the water and nobody seemed to care to clean it up. We booked the hotel for 2 nights but decided to check out the next day. We didn't get any sleep during the night. There were people screaming and kids running down the hallways all night. Additionally, this is supposed to be a nonsmoking hotel - well there were people smoking cigarettes next door and the smoke was filling up our room. Complaining about the noise and smoking to the front desk and hotel manager didn't help. When we were checking out they charged us 1/2 for the next night that we weren't staying instead giving us credit for the sleepless night. What a service! I know why they do not give you a satisfaction guarantee...because they would money. What a complete waste of money and time!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradley, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We went to the dells for a couple of days over spring break to see if we would like it enough to come back for a week in the summer. Mt Olympus was going to be where we stayed the last night of our trip. They put us in what looked to be an apartment building made into hotel rooms 2 miles away! No front desk, vending or ice machines, and not even a mini coffee pot in the room. So we went to the water park and it was so over crowded it was gross, just people on top of people. We then walked down to ride the go carts, after a long walk in fairly cold weather they put up the closed sign as soon as we walked up. The parking lot was full and it was just rediculous, I went to the front desk and got a refund for our room and we left. Never will we ever go back. Ever!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kankakee, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

stayed 2 nights and two and a half days room smelled like dirty wet feet resort wouldn't do anything to fix, so we packed up a 3 and 5 year old at 130 in the morning and drove 4 hours home, also the room was not clean had hair still on bathroom floor, and no water preasure in the shower finally had to tell them how to fix this problem

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.