We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice family get-away” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Save Saved
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mt. Olympus Resort
1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice family get-away”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I also had to write about my experience at Mt. Olympus Hotel Rome. I was a little ify as well due to all the negative comments posted.
We stayed at Hotel Rome and checked in on New Years Eve. Our room was to the left of the lobby (great, close location to all the entertainment).
A fabulous new years set up awaited us with a great DJ, balloon drop, party favors and even a champaigne toast at midnight. My 7 year old loved dancing to the cupid shuffle and gangham style. Great family event.
The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very accommodating.
We called for towels and within 5 minutes towels were given to us along with three of the cleaning staff offering to clean and make our beds. The staff at the Opa Starbucks was very polite in cooking our breakfast to our liking and helping my daughter pick out cereal and pouring the milk.
We can't wait to return in the summer and will definitely recommend this to our friends/family.
An added bonus was the free lift passes to Christmas Mountain. We enjoyed a full day of skiing and teaching our little one for the first time. Great trip to start the new year!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with our family New Years Eve party. This is an enjoyable time for people of all ages to have fun without worry of leaving the resort. Each of our staff members, in all departments, strives to ensure a great vacation for each of our guests, and we are glad to hear that they did a wonderful job accommodating your family.
We sincerely appreciate your good feedback and hope to see you here at Mt.Olympus Resorts again soon.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    132
    150
    135
    174
See reviews for
452
39
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Be VERY weary about booking your stay at Mount Olympus. What you read on their website is NOT what you get! Unless they book your reservation in "Rome" , you will be staying 1/2 mile to 1 mile away from the waterpark in various outbuildings they have scattered around town. During the cold winter months, to have to drive back to your room is ridiculous. There is NO staff in the outbuildings to assist you with anything. It reminds you of the movie "The Shining" where you walk into a desolate, empty lobby and no one is there to assist you with anything (they put us in Building 10). It was creepy. The website states under room amenities "internet access" but there isn't any, unless you go to the lobby. Internet access is listed under the room amenities but was advised by "Amanda" Manager that the "hotel" has internet but there is only 1 router and it doesn't reach all of the rooms. The laundry facilities are a joke. The washer only fills 1/4 of the way, and the dryer takes 2 cycles to dry ($6.00 total to do one load of laundry). The staff excels at one thing...taking your money and laughing all the way to the bank as you are "stuck" once you pay. They do nothing after that to ensure your stay is enjoyable or satisfactory. It's one of those hotels, where you stay once and never return. A "live and learn" moment.

Room Tip: If you love your family, NEVER stay here
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We appreciate your feedback from your recent stay with us. At Mt. Olympus we do strive to make sure that all information is provided to each person who books/stays with us. We provide this information on our website along with in the confirmation letter that is sent to the provided email address when booking your family vacation. We do this to ensure that each guest has all information about their booking choices.

We do have staff that is available if assistance is required, housekeeping, maintenance, staffing for noise issues. These people are always available for assistance if needed. We do recommend that if there are issues with any amenities during your stay with us, always contact the front desk. This way we are able to fix any concerns that are brought to us. The laundry facilities are available for our guests for convince, if this issue would have been brought to our attention we would have gladly fixed any problems reported. Internet access is available at all of our properties. Please do always keep in mind that large amounts of users will make it difficult for new users to connect along with current users having slower downloading speeds. If contacted about any concerns we do always have our IT department look in to any pending issues that may arise.
We here are Mt. Olympus are working on creating a family environment at all of our properties, and always enjoy feedback that will help better our guests stay.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Included in our stay was free access to the indoor theme and water parks plus free ski lift tickets at Christmas mountain village. Rooms were clean but the buildings are spread out. Our building was about a mile from the parks.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Mt. Olympus always appreciates feedback from our guests. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room accommodations along with the free ski lift tickets to Christmas Mountain Resort. We do hope to see you and your family here at Mt. Olympus again in the near future. Thank you for choosing us as your family’s vacation destination.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My family and I just returned from a 5-day stay at Mt. Olympus during the holidays. After reading so many horrendous reviews, I feel compelled to write a review of my own. I will try to break my review down into segments.

Check-In - We checked in on a Thursday afternoon and had maybe a 5 minute wait. The desk staff were courteous and very prompt. We were given a room on the first floor of Hotel Rome. The room location was excellent and very convenient for getting around the hotel.

Room - The room we had was a two-queen and bunk bed family room. The room was nice, large enough for the 6 of us and the wood floors are a nice touch. The only upgrade I would recommend would be to add dressers. It was difficult to keep all of my families belongings organized without dressers. The room was cleaned and was refreshed every afternoon.

Indoor Waterpark - There are 2 tube slides and 2 body slides, 2 hot tubs, an activity pool and a kiddie pool area for younger kids and a lazy river. We found the indoor area smaller than expected, but we enjoyed it. The staff there were pleasant and were constantly picking up after guests (picking up towels, etc.) and monitoring. A regular pool would be a nice addition.

Indoor Amusement Park - The amusement park contains a mad mouse roller coaster, bumper cars, go karts, a few small kiddie rides, an arcade, laser tag, and a climbing wall. The laser tag and climbing wall are an extra fee. My family enjoyed the coaster and bumper cars. The lines were not too bad, considering it was a holiday weekend. Staff was friendly, with the exception of the laser tag attendant. We thought the indoor amusement park made up for the smaller than expected water park.

Noise level - This is not a quiet hotel, though I didn't expect it would be. It is a family hotel with many kids running around having fun. If you are looking for quiet and relaxing, than this is not the place for you. I find it funny when people stay at a place that is obviously catering to families with kids, and then are surprised when kids are present.

Special Events - The hotel put on a really nice New Years Eve party in lobby area with a dj, a balloon drop and complimentary champagne and party favors. It was very crowded, however we had a nice time and appreciated the extra effort.

Overall, we had a great time and I would recommend this hotel for families with kids. My kids are excited to visit again during the summer months.

Room Tip: When booking a room, make sure to select a room at "Hotel Room" if you wish to stay onsite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
It’s great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us here at Mt. Olympus. We do hope that you continue to use Mt. Olympus Resort as your family’s vacation destination in the future. Make sure to come visit us this summer and try out our new Hades 360 roller coaster! Hope to see you soon.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed in Mt Olympus Village (not hotel Rome) in the former American World. If you know the Dells you know that a few years back whoever owns Mt Olympus (I think it's BlueGreen Resorts) went through and bought a ton of the underperforming hotels in the Dells and added them to their resort (I think they have 25 buildings now) the biggest problem with this is that they closed all of the pools and hot tubs at all of the facilities except for the main "Indoor Waterpark". This means you have a ton of people attempting to use TWO 20 person hot tubs, and they dont' have an actual pool. Now we got a special for Dec 30-31st where it was $89/night with Skiing at Christmas Mountain, and waterpark passes included. Sounds like a grea deal, right? Well I don't feel that it was that great of a deal since the hill was extremely busy (I overheard an employee there talking about how the 31st and 1st were going to be their busiest days since there are so many people at Mt Olympus) and the waterpark, if you can call it that, was insanely busy because of the extreme amount of people flooding in there from all of their buildings. Now to the actual hotel we stayed in (building 18 to be exact). The room was clean, and everything worked properly. It was actually not a bad room. You can tell that they bought it, painted the outside and the hallways and kept operating the hotel though. It has a very 90s feeling, all the way down to the tube tv. Parking is, well, limited. But other than that It wasn't a bad hotel. I just wish the ammenities were better. They should think about reopening some of the indoor pools during winter for the guests. Honestly if you don't think about the fact that you're going to Mt Olympus and set your standards a little lower you may enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We do appreciate your feedback from your recent stay at Mt. Olympus Resorts. While being a privately own company, we have tried to keep original businesses in this area locally owned and operated. Our indoor water park does serve as a gathering place for large amounts of people, either staying with us our visiting for a day. During the winter months we do have busier periods that will fill our parks that are open. Please also keep in mind that the 31st-1st are holiday weekends, which provide a longer time out of school for most kids allowing for more vacation time. Most weekdays will provide a quieter environment with room to enjoy the parks.
During our winter months we do provide free skiing or tubing passes for our guests. This is a wonderful activity for all families, and brings large amounts of business to ski hills. We do provide contact information for the skiing and tubing hill, this way if you are concerned about a waiting period or large groups of persons you are able to have this information to plan accordingly.
We are pleased to hear that your room was enjoyable. We here are Mt. Olympus are working on creating a family environment at all of our properties, and always enjoy feedback that will help better our guests stay.


Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If you are looking for quality, cleanliness , comfort, and good service...this is NOT the place. They book rooms at an extreme discount, but don't tell you it may mean driving from another location up to a mile away while wet in the cold winter months. If you stay in the main building, the carpet is filthy, kids are running thru the halls unsupervised at 6am, oh and did I mention room service does not clean your room until after 4pm? It's a bargain, and you get exactly what you pay for....not for the family that wants a quality get away experience....thought I saw Honey Boo Boo and her family...maybe it was just an illusion ?

Room Tip: Confirm that your room is located in the main building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Mt. Olympus does make sure to let all guests know if they will be staying at our premier onsite building or at our offsite properties. It is specified on our website and in confirmations that get sent out to each guest. If a guest is unhappy with the location of their room we do try our best to move them to a location more to their liking. As for noise issues we do try to take care of these right away once we are made aware of the situation. We do try to make all guests stays with us as comfortable and enjoyable as possible; if we are made aware of any guest issues we will do our best to fix them in a timely manner. If you would like to discuss your stay with me further you can contact me at 1-800-800-4997. Thank You.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We made a reservation from Friday to Monday Dec 31st. This is the second night we are here. The first night we heard lots of noices from upper floor (we were in 10156 Rome) and the noises were so bad like several people playing soccer upstairs or jumping up and down, sort of like the whole room and ceiling was shaking! I complained to the front desk at about 10:45 PM and the woman said she would fix it and talk to the people in upper floor. We saw no fix, we all went to bed about 2 AM in the morning with headache. Next morning I talked to the man in front desk, and he said if happened again, I should complain. Well it was happing right then at about 8:30 AM, and I told him that I did not have any patience to put up with it. He said the quiet time was 11 PM and that is why probably they did not do anything the previous night.
I am wrinting this reivew at about 7:30 PM on Saturday, the noise and shake is so bad that you can not even relax for one minute in the room. It is beyond quiet time or non-quiet time.
I would say, you better not come here if you want to sleep at night or even day. WE have stayed in many hotels across the globe, bad and good, this one is far worse.

Room 10156 , at Rome
Mount Olympus , Wisconsin Dells

Room Tip: Do not come to this hotel at all and if you come, get a room in upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christin B, Manager at Mt. Olympus Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We do apologize for the inconveniences during your stay with us here at Mt. Olympus. We do strive to make sure that each of our guests leaves our resort with a great family experience. Each of our departments work together to make sure that our guests are not bothered during their stay with us.
With noise complaints we do always make sure to have staff members check the area where noise is being reported multiple times, this way we are able to ensure that noise is settled down. Our quite time does start at 11PM, if there are immediate issues prior to this time we will always do what is needed. Noise is a factor in all places, but we do try our hardest to keep things quiet for a peaceful stay.
We always do recommend that if there is any type of concern while staying with us, always bring this to our attention so we may immediately fix these issues.
We do hope that you will consider Mt. Olympus Resorts for a future stay.

Christin Bloom
Mt. Olympus Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.