We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mt. Olympus Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mt. Olympus Resort to your Saves list
Mt. Olympus Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
newark ohio
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

After reading some of the reviews AFTER I had made reservations, I was concerned. We arrived and registered. Our room was nice and clean. The cool bunk beds were a hit with our grandsons. The waterpark was great! Plenty of things for younger children, we all loved the lazy river. There were numerous staff members overseeing things. The amusement park was ok. Small, yet it entertained the kids. We ate at Buffalo Phil's one night. ( It is near the outlet mall). The food was very good, the kids loved that their food was delivered by a train! The only thing that we felt was lacking was food choices. If you want a sit down meal you have to leave the premises. Overall a great weekend!

Room Tip: 3rd floor, so kids are not running on your head!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    182
    227
    223
    293
See reviews for
675
61
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
c'ville, IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

Went in Feb w/ 4 adults and 3 kids (5-8yrs old). Resort gave us free tickets to Christmas Mt for skiing or tubing. Kids had a great time doing both, so that was a great promo! Rooms were clean and large. The bunk beds were a major hit with our kids! Our kids loved the Theme park, and since many things there were free/included so did the parents. I think if you have kids 10+ they won't enjoy it as much or you'll have to dish out $$ for rock climbing $7 or laser tag $5. Again for our age group it was great! So overall those were the high points. Now as for the indoor water park, it has great potential, but the design team or management group really goofed this place up. First, the lighting is simply horrible. I know they are trying to stay green, but if you go there in the evening time, it is depressing, its dark and after an hour of being there you wan to leave (maybe that's the point). Additionally, in order to go to the indoor theme park you have to go through the pool and then go outside, so in winter the cold jet of stream right spreads quickly into the pool area. There should have been an overpass connecting the two buildings! There is only one elevator by the front lobby, so often you'll see a long line of people. We used the stairs which is no biggie, but if you're checking in/out, its a pain, since it seems like everyone is arriving/leaving at the same time. You're near by many known restaurants, so we didn't eat at the resort and can't comment about it. Check in at 4pm is kind of late, even though you can use the water park facilities upon your arrival, the 4pm seem a bit lite if you have smaller kids or have many family members and trying to dig through your luggage to get your attire. So plan ahead, pack a separate back w/swim stuff so you can just grab that and go.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Had a wonderful family getaway at Mt. Olympus. Stayed at the Hotel Rome with our 2 year old son. Although, he was a little young for some of the indoor activities, there was plenty to keep him occupied and we enjoyed ourselves! The beds were comfy, great water pressure in the showers and good customer service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota, United States
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

The hotel itself was decent. We were there in the winter, which is a pretty slow time, and we had a very good experience with the hotel itself being clean and overall very quiet. We did have to wait a long time to check in, and I felt myself standing there getting very annoyed and thinking how they need to hire more staff for the front desk. That was really the only negative aspect of the hotel stay. The waterpark itself was also very clean, but it was pretty small and really did not have too much variety. It was nice to have it connected right to the hotel. There was also an indoor themepark which was really disappointing. There was not much there at all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dousman, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Upon arrival the outside looks great & so does the lobby, but the unloading area & front desk was pretty darn packed. Afterall, it was check-in time (4pm), but, still, they could have & should have made a double entrance & a few more front desk clerks available for a smoother & easier check-in. After check-in, we made out way to our room by way of one of the only tiny elevators across from the front desk area. The elevator was just barely big enough for our luggage cart, myself, & our 3 small kids, as my husband was off parking our van in the hotel parking lot. Once we made it to our room (#310 to be exact w/ 2 queen beds & a twin bunk), I was less than impressed: no comforters on the beds (just sheets & knit blankets), bathroom super small & outdated, room echoed & oddly laid out, had 2 sinks in room & then 1 in bathroom, plus, an old school microwave & decent compact fridge, but the heater made weird noises when you turned it above 70F. The room was all laminate "fake" hardwood looking flooring, beside the old tile in the bathroom, so it felt cold & def. didn't help the echo factor. Also, there was just a mirror on the wall & a weird long desk w/ only 2 chairs & then the beds & TV area, so not very warm & inviting at all. I can understand the laminate flooring from a quick cleaning standpoint, but other than that, our room could have used a functional table & some kind of lounge chair. It just seemed that the room was too long & poorly laid out. Plus, the bathroom didn't match any decor that the room had going on (which was pine furniture & painted "Roman/Greek" wall decor). The indoor waterpark was small & limited cause it was so packed. I learned that the owner bought up a bunch of the cheap motels nearby & allows free admission to Mt. Olympus with the stay, so it can get pretty crowded & undesirable after awhile. Also, no amazing restaurant is available, unless you like greasy pub food & a very open setting near the hotel lobby. I'm sure the outdoor attractions in Summer would make this hotel much more desirable, but for the Winter months I'd much rather stay elsewhere (Kalahari or Chula Vista). Not to mention, check-out time is 10:30am or earlier & they don't let you get away with a bit more without paying. They offered us $40 to stay another night or to get a late check-out, but when I called down to use that option our room was booked (on a Sunday), so we had to go or exchange for a smaller & more expensive room, so we obviously just packed up & went home. Overall, I wouldn't stay again with all these things considered.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We stayed in a King suite (1 seperate bedroom with a King bed and TV) and a queen bed in the main room with a TV, small fridge, sink and microwave on the 3rd floor. It was quiet (no one to jump in the room upstaris).The hotel room was very clean. Hard wood floors which was very nice (no stained disgusting carpet). The beds were comfortable. You get a wristband that gives you access to the water and theme park plus you can use the wristband to charge things to your room. The water park has 2 tube slides and 2 body slides, 2 whirlpools neither of which is adult only they have a sign that says no children under 6 but it is NOT enforced, lots of little kids splashing and either the parents don't care or are not with them. They have a nice area for smaller children to play. The theme park (must walk outdoor to get to it) has 1 roller coster and go karts other than that everything is for smaller children. they do have some other activities however, they cost extra.
We were there after it snowed they do not clear the snow very well at all, VERY slippery, especially going in the front door, no salt, nothing. I did bring it to the attention of the front desk staff who looked uninterested and nothing was ever done about it.
They (Mt Olympus) are buying up several properties along the stipr there (including Copa Cabana) we heard they were closing all the pools / water parks in the properties they aquire so everyone will come to Hotel Rome.... they will certainly need to increase the indoor park if that is true.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor room, no carpet = no sound barrier
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel room was very clean. I liked the hard wood floors. They don't keep the stains like some other hotels. The beds were very comfortable. The kids enjoyed the bunk beds. You get a wristband that gives you access to the water and theme parks plus you can use the wristband to charge things to your room. This makes it a lot easier than carrying your wallet in your bathing suit. We have two small kids. The water park was just right for them. They had a few large water slides, but my kids enjoyed the pirate ship water play area and the lazy river the most. Very friendly and helpful staff. The whole hotel had a very nice, clean, kept up look to it. We will be going back.

Room Tip: Try for a first floor room. It makes things even more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mt. Olympus Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Olympus Resort

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mt. Olympus Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 1300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mt. Olympus Resort provides our guests with both Indoor and Outdoor Water & Theme Park fun! All 1300 Mt. Olympus Resort rooms are spread over the famous Wisconsin Dells Strip, surrounding Mt. Olympus Water & Theme Park. Free skiing, tubing, snowboarding and Golf passes (depending on season) are included with stay, Free wi-fi access available, 44 Indoor and Outdoor Water Slides, 4 Interactive Children's water play areas, 7 Outdoor Go-Kart Tracks, 1 Indoor Go-Kart Track, 5 Outdoor Roller Coasters, 1 Surf pool, creating 9ft waves! 1 Wave pool and a giant water fortress. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Mt. Olympus Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rome - At Mt. Olympus Water And Theme Park
Wisconsin Dells Treasure Island
Treasure Island Wisconsin Dells
Treasure Island Water Park Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mt. Olympus Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.