We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort was absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Robinson IL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“This resort was absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed for two nights. We booked a room at the last minute due to the other hotel we were staying in had terrible beds. When we arrived the front desk were very eager to help us. We arrived around 9 in the morning. They told us they would get us in our room as soon as it was clean. We were able to get right in to the waterpark. We checked to see if the room was ready and we were in by 1:00. That was great! I don't know where to begin about this resort. The indoor waterpark was very clean, all staff were friendly and helpful. Fantastic slides and rides. The lines moved very quickly, fresh warm towels in abundance, plenty of seating in all areas. Two bars inside the park with wonderful drinks and service...restrooms were clean and I did see the cleaning lady mopping and sanitizing the entire restroom...Our locker was free with the room...we came and went as we chose...the arcade located by the park was nice...snack shack had very good food...plenty of seating everywhere...bathrooms close...we ate at the Karoo and had the buffett, the food was fantastic, steak, shrimp, etc...the desserts were endless..the waterpark was visible from the restaurant..The lobby was amazing and beautiful...the room and beds wonderful, huge shower. Outdoor waterpark was great and pools were available in each section of the resort...I did visit the spa and had a wonderful massage and facial...very friendly staff... This resort was like a small city...indoor themepark was huge with another arcade,,,,bowling alley, bars, golf etc..they also have their own cinema which played current movies...easy express check-out...This resort is very pricey but it was worth every penny...my 10 yr old son loved it...only one negative...you can hear very easily from in the rooms...kids in the halls were pretty loud at 7am but I think that is more of a parent issue than children...

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    566
    209
    138
    126
See reviews for
1,249
101
8
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rudolph, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed here for two nights attending a state conference. Brought the whole family and they had a blast while I was at meetings! Food here is great, rooms are clean and staff are friendly. Aside from the waterpark activities, there was also a lot of Halloween activities which my children took part in (hayrides to the pumpkin patch, trick or treating, etc.). My daughter went to the pottery shop and made a cat.

We had 2 double beds with TV, refrigerator and microwave. You can watch your friends on the closed circuit 'wave pool' channel on the TV!

Plenty of parking to be found.

Business recommendations--the convention staff are great. Whenever we had any problems, they were there to promptly remedy the situation. Food served for the banquet and luncheon were excellent--plenty of staff and they did their best to serve a large group quickly and without a ton of noise and distractions. Rooms were well-lit and we were not all cramped in a closet like sardines (which I have encountered at other corporate events held in hotels). Also, our conference rooms were relatively 'sound proof'--you did not hear a lot of commotion in the hallways.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

Took the family for a weekend getaway and loved it. We did the online specials and was upgraded to a suite for $129.00 total for the night. The kids loved the waterpark and it was nice to have a full size locker room with showers and hair dryers for when we were done. It was a blast!!!

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
228 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

This is a huge property with several buildings of sleeping rooms, meeting space, an indoor waterpark, outdoor waterpark, indoor amusement park and movies etc etc. The indoor waterpark is excellent. It is larger than most in the area and has a flow-rider which makes it the hands down best choice. The outdoor water park is good. It isn't that large but for the area it is as big as you will find. The indoor amusement park is silly - don't expect much. They have a pretty cool climbing thing but after that it is just expensive and small.

The service is good, the people are friendly. The rooms are expensive. The bigger and better rooms are even more expensive. However, if you make use of the waterparks it is worth it. We got upgraded to an entertainment suite which was just amazing. I highly recommend it.

Overall the place is clean, the lifeguards are attentive but unobtrusive. The biggest problem is that the Dells area has no decent restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I come here often, setting up many groups - school, sports and church. We've tried a few other area hotels, but this is the only one we keep coming back to - it truely has everything under one roof and the quality is second to none.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

It's tough to do but Kalahari has figured out how to please three generations in one short trip. We booked a condo for 12 and it was fabulous... clean, spacious and decorated with style and taste but not overdone. Our toddler granddaughter loved the play house at the water park and theme park. Our 7 year old grandson did not rest until the parks closed. There are lifeguards every 20 feet so save your money on the life jackets for the young children. The young adults, six of them from age 16 to 30 were more excited than our grandson. They tried everything over and over in both the water park and theme park. My husband and I, both over 50, loved the quietness of the pool which is away from the waterpark and the opportunity to enjoy a movie. The condo's appliances were in excellent working order and gave us the opportunity to cook our own meals. Our condo was ready when we arrived early at 1 pm on Thurs. After checking out at 11 am Friday, we returned to the parks and stayed until 5 pm. So the price for 1 night was a bargain when you consider the excellent accommodations, service and entertainment, . Everyone was very, very pleased which rarely happens on our multi-generation vacations.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

Just returned from a 3 day getaway with our kids ages 3 and 6. We had a blast the entire time! We were pleased to find out our room was ready at noon, so we checked in and quickly headed to the outdoor waterpark. And that is pretty much where we stayed the entire time. We stayed in the Sands complex of the hotel, which was quite a walk to all the parks. (we didn't mind, you might)_ The staff on the Flowrider was great and coached me how to ride the wave perfectly. We ate onsite quite a bit and the only negative I would say is that while the food is of good quality, it did miss the mark on execution. (way too much of strong sauce on the stirfry and a pretty weak presentation on the nachos, especially after the waiter talked them up). Overall, we loved it and will return. Very clean.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.