We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect water park resort for family with teenage kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect water park resort for family with teenage kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having been to other water park resorts, I was uncertain whether the water park area would be appropriate for my teenage kids (12 & 15) or more geared toward younger kids. My daughter (12) experienced both the indoor and outdoor parks and loved them. Surprisingly, my 15-year-old son had just as much fun. I am a big fan of the outdoor water park...not too crowded when we were there (July, Saturday afternoon), access to youth and adult beverages and plenty of seating.

We had pizza delivered from an on-site restaurant and were shocked when our 14" Lotsa Meatsa pizza arrived...IT IS WELL WORTH THE PRICE OF $29. It was closer to an 18" pizza and didn't skimp on toppings. We ordered $4 "side salads" that were dinner platter-sized, with mixed greens!

Resort is a few miles from all the tourist attractions of the Dells...attractions are not in walking distance. This wasn't an issue for us as we were there for a basketball tournament, but if you want to walk to the attractions, this isn't the place for you. That being said, I appreciated it being away from the congestion of the Dells downtown.

The only complaint I have, which is probably typical of hotels with water parks, is that the room was humid/damp. It was improved by running the A/C but I do wish it wasn't so humid.

Room Tip: I'd request a room on the first floor away from the indoor water park to potentially avoid the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for such a detailed review. Within the waterpark, we pride ourselves in providing slides and rides for guests of all ages. We also pride ourselves in being known for delicious pizza. I am so glad you enjoyed the large pizza that we offer. It's so nice to get extra portions that can even be taken back up to the room.
I am sorry about the humidity issue within the waterpark. The level of comfort is different for everyone and I apologize it wasn't comfortable for you. I hope it's ideal during your next trip. We look forward to seeing you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,045
    607
    233
    151
    133
See reviews for
1,383
104
9
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was our second visit to Kalahari in the past 2 years and our kids absolutely loved it. The staff are attentive, friendly and helpful everywhere in the resort, the food in the restaurants was great, and the waterpark was well run, clean and a lot of fun for everyone.

My only complaint is about the maintenance of the rooms. We paid over $500/night for a Royal African Suite, and the room was worn out and in a poor state of repair. Light switches and lamps didn't work, the shower curtain was dirty and stained with something red, and there was a faint smell of vomit in one bedroom. We reported these issues to the hotel (except for vomit smell) and they were addressed quickly. They gave us a new shower curtain, but just left it for us to install ourselves. In general, the furnishings seemed very dated and worn out. We have much higher expectations when spending several hundred dollars per night in a hotel room. The lighting was also very dim unless we kept the drapes open, which we hesitated to do while changing as our 2nd floor room overlooked the parking lot.

While in Wisconsin Dells, we looked around at other resorts which seemed to have equally nice water parks, and we will consider staying elsewhere on our next trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hi Jon. I am glad to hear that the service, staff, and the amenities of our Resort was all very nice for you. I am sorry to hear about the condition of your room. I apologize that your African Queen Suite was not up to our standards. That is not how we usually run things here at Kalahari. We really appreciate the feedback and have forwarded them to the correct departments to make sure this issue doesn't occur again. We remain in high hopes that you'll stay with us again and we look forward to seeing you back again soon. Thank you and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Staff was beyond helpful and went out of their way to make our stay an amazing experience. It was better than we could've imagined. The villa itself had so much to offer to our group. All of the recreational activities within the hotel never left us bored! Our dining experience was commendable at the kalahari's double cut restaurant. Our entire group will be returning in the future! Very satisfying experience for everyone.

Room Tip: We had the entertainment villa. It met the needs for everyone in our group. It was a vacation getawa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Hello Jen. I am so happy to hear that everyone in your group had a fun and enjoyable stay with us and we were able to go above and beyond your expectations. The entertainment villas are a great way to stay at the resort and have a bunch of people and just want to have an all around fun time. Double Cut is our signature steakhouse and I am just thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience there. Thanks again for the great review and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview IL
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Had low expectations for Kalahari....cheap vegas for kids was expectation. However, our 2 bedroom family suite had outdoor patio on ground level with table for 6. Great outdoor space to hangout at night. Hotel is HUGE but waterpark particularly after 6 pm is great because crowds go WAY down. We were there on a friday and saturday and sunday which were prime days. I'd probably just pick up food or order in and have dinner outside on your patio. Double Cut restaurant was good ..... and expensive. Definitely not the place for romantic getaway but kids have a blast.

Room Tip: Family suite with patio on ground level by outdoor waterpark ideally rooms further away from lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review. I am so happy your two-room family suite was very comfortable for all of you. I am thrilled to hear that we went above your expectations and you were able to take advantage of both the Indoor & Outdoor Waterpark during your stay. Again, we appreciate the review and hope to see you back in a family suite again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

You are paying top resort fees, with out top resort service. I really do not understand the infatuation with the Dells. If I pay $400 a night, I expect full service. That being said, this hotel is the best out if these rinky dinky hotels. But that's not saying much.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Hello, first I would like to thank you for choosing Kalahari Resorts for your vacation, however I am deeply disappointed to hear that we did not live up to our expectations, nor provide you with the experience you deserve during your last visit here. I have already passed your comments onto our management team who would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. Please email me at SocialConnect@KalahariResorts.com & I will be sure to put you in contact with them. It is our goal to make sure every guest leaves here with a great impression of our beautiful resort, and we hope that we have the opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future & another opportunity to provide you the level of guest service you expect and deserve.Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stopped for a break during a family trip. I had kids ranging from 5 years old to 13 years old...Reservation were made over the phone with ease. Military friendly. Professionally run...Staff was friendly...Locker rooms clean..towles provided along with life jackets...Life guards are friendly but firm...Fun for all ages...I will be back....

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hi Robert. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed a "pit stop" to Kalahari during your spring break trip. We're so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark and your kids all had a great time as well. We pride ourselves in creating a safe and fun environment and making sure everyone has a great time. Thanks again for the great review and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

our first trip to KALAHARI .. it was amazing .. everybody so helpful. especially DONNA @ the front desk.. explained many details

very clean room . excellent POPCORN and high-quality chocolates from the lobby.

WATERPARK . all clean .. many lifeguards.. very safe resort.


LOTS OF FUN in the ACTIVITY park . mini golf.. laser tag.. etc.

BREW PUB..
great quality BURGER .. excellent BEER CHEESE soup .. !! fun atmosphere for the whole family @ this somewhat new restaurant in K.



As we were loading up our car to leave, the valet gentleman cleaned off our windshield. !

Definitely will return -- have stayed @ other resorts.. but KALAHARI is our new favorite

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Hello Carrie. It is so wonderful to hear when a first time guest falls in love with Kalahari. I am so glad we were able to go above and beyond your expectations to the point where you labeled us the "Best of the Dells." I hope you all had a fantastic getaway and an amazing time in the Waterpark. Yes, the chocolates at the Sweet Hut in the lobby are a fabulous treat! Yummm! Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
4.2 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 372 reviews
2.8 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#40 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.