We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rockford, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a great stay in this very clean resort. We used both the indoor and outdoor water park and there was so much to do with our energetic little 2 year old. The indoor waterpark had such a variety of rides/attractions, I was sorry we were only staying one night. Will return for sure.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Digital Media Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
You're so wonderful! Thank you for taking a moment to review us! I wanted to say that we can't wait to see you again soon (hopefully a little longer) and thank you so much for your time. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,960 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    553
    203
    138
    126
See reviews for
1,223
99
8
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (476)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at the Khalahari as a mini vacation right before school starts for the kids. I love that they have a military discount because without it, we wouldn't have been able to afford the trip. The hotel is beautiful and the suite we stayed in was well-apportioned. We enjoyed the water parks (there's an indoor and outdoor park) and had a few meals there. I was not prepared for how large the bathtubs in our room were. The kids wanted to take baths every night, instead of showers; even with five of us in the room, our water stayed hot. The water parks were a lot of fun and there were no long lines. I only have two complaints for the Khalahari: everything, from the food to the souvenirs are way overpriced. $70 for a breakfast buffet and over $100 for the dinner buffet seemed ridiculous. There is an ok selection at both but not enough to warrant the cost. My second complaint is that there is no amenity information in your room. For instance, there is a "book of amenities" but really it's just advertisements for more places to spend your money. There is no information about what time the breakfast or dinner buffets open, no information on gift shop hours, or hours listed for the other food places. I never did find out if there is laundry on-site or any information about the shuttle (I only found out there was a shuttle because I asked about a shuttle to the Tommy Bartlett show); all of this information is simple guest-oriented information that should be readily available in the room. Our package included tickets to the Tommy Bartlett show and the Timbuvalti (sp?) zoo. We returned the zoo tickets because the reviews were so horrible but we enjoyed the Tommy Bartlett show very much. The concierge has tickets available for a few attractions in the area and had a few coupons, too. Also, the Original Duck Boats pick up right outside the hotel and brings you back, so that was nice, too. We really enjoyed ourselves, even if we spent quite a bit of money eating, it was worth it to have some nice family time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Coast
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We had a nice stay at Kalahari Resort. I'll review other parts of the resort separately -- this is just regarding our hotel/room experience. Our room was in the same building that houses the indoor waterpark, so the convenience was fantastic. Our balcony overlooked the outdoor waterpark, which was really neat, but made for a little noisier experience (luckily, the waterpark doesn't open until 9, and it closed at dark, so it didn't interfere with sleep). We did hear road traffic at night, but I have a feeling all of the waterpark-facing rooms in the main building probably have the same problem, given the location near a very busy road. The room was comfortable and, as I mentioned, convenient. Front desk service was pleasant and friendly. I was not impressed with the maid service. Our room was not serviced until well after 2pm, even though we left the room early in the morning. Other hotels use a "please clean promptly" type sign (on the back of the "do not disturb" sign) to differentiate between late sleepers (who may want later cleanings) and early risers. I think something like that would have been helpful. Also, the ice maker was not emptied, and the coffee maker was not cleaned, which made me wonder how thorough of cleaning job was actually done. Despite those problems, the many activities offered and the convenience of the room are enough for me to say I would return, and would even request the same building.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Digital Media Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
We certainly can't thank you enough for taking a moment to review us and furthermore, visiting us. Very much our pleasure to have you! I wanted to let you know that I have already touched base with our head of housekeeping and passed along your thoughts and suggestions. She is reviewing now and wanted me to thank you for letting us know. So glad to hear that the family had a wonderful time! We can't wait to see you again and hopefully your stay will be flawless. Take care and thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mankato, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

This was our first time staying at the Kalahari, and the experience was roughly comparable to that at The Great Wolf Lodge, Rome, and The Wilderness Lodge. Commons areas, the amusement area, restaurants, and both the indoor and outdoor waterparks were all kept immaculately clean. The room was grossly overpriced, but most properties in The Dells are able to price gouge, so, in all fairness, the Kalahari is no different in overpricing from other comparable self-contained waterpark lodges in the area. Supply and demand. Our room was fairly nice, if a little narrow, and the balcony was tiny. The beds were comfortable. Our main negative issues with the room were that (1) AC would not work correctly, so the heat and humidity did interfere with our sleep and room enjoyment, and (2) My wife was disappointed with the bathroom, because she found hairs in the sink and bathtub. Our son found what appeared to be a pubic hair on a chair. Despite our generous tipping, our room was not cleaned in the manner that one would expect of a nice resort. As I mentioned, we had lots of fun in the water parks (very well life-guarded) and indoor amusement and ticket-redemption games park. The workers in the amusement/arcade area were uniformly excellent, helpful, friendly, and kind. We were very impressed with every single one of these employees. We ate snacks, salads, and sandwiches at the resort on several occasions. Once again, the dining employees were all pleasant, patient, and helpful. The food was certainly a cut above this usual type of fare. Now comes the worst aspect of the whole trip, and it may very well cause us to stay elsewhere next time we go to the Dells (3 or 4 times a year). After we had driven for five hours-plus to arrive at the resort, a light-haired man with glasses said that he would check us in. It then turned into the Inquisition, with him rudely barking out orders about what documents were required (thank goodness we didn't need a passport). Then he told us that my driver's license would not be enough, since I did not actually make the reservation (the wife did). This, even though we have the same last name and share all credit cards and checks. I was tired, and I bristled a bit at his haughty attitude. A asked him why in the world my wife or I would have to walk the long distance to our car to get her license. I have stayed in hotels over 1000 nights with my wife, and this request has never been made of us. The worst thing was how cocky and unapologetic the man was. He told me, "It's our policy-no exceptions!" and, "It's really not a big deal." He might as well have been wearing a T-shirt that said: "I'm a jerk and I hate you just for being here." It's such a shame that one ultra-rude desk clerk and a sub-par cleaning job in our room could taint an otherwise fun trip, but they did, and we're going to give one of the other places in town a try next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Digital Media Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
While I'm very to glad you had fun for the most part on your adventure, I am so sorry to hear about your experience while checking in. I can certainly understand your frustration and concern with this experience. As this is our policy, there is a certain way that could have been expressed to you, so that there wasn't any lasting negative experience surrounding this. I apologize that this instance left a negative impression on your stay along with the cleanliness of your room. I will assure you that I will be connecting with our team on your concerns. If you are able, can you please email me your contact info? KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. I would love the opportunity to learn from your experience and speak with you further on this. Thank you again and I hope to hear from you soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Pool- not maintain there was rocks on the pool floor in the basketball pool indoors and lazy river. Scratched my foot a couple of times. Saw 3 kids bleeding from the jungle theme outdoor slides. Hot tubs had no bubbles.

Stay- bed was horrible/ sleeping on top of rocks and wood. In the morning my body was super achy and stiff. Told manager but he didn't care.

Service & life guards- Not friendly everyone seems to hate their jobs, at least they're getting pay to stand around and be rude to customers.

Food- Damon's expensive food for low quality. Buffet too stingy when serving their meat, had to go up 3 times just to get a small portion of steak the size of your palm. $22.99/ adult and $13.99/kid

Over the years this year the Kalahari has been poorly maintained. Hopefully they'll realize that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. I will connect with our waterpark manager and have him look into the basketball pool and lazy river. We have constant, state-or-the-art filters that work around the clock to ensure the pools are maintained. We also check and recheck throughout the day. I am concerned with the fact you thought there were rocks in the indoor area. I will have our team inspect that further. I am sorry to hear the bed was not satisfactory to you. I will pass this along to our team. Last, I apologize with your disappointment of the Great Karoo Buffet and Damon's. I will pass this along to our Food & Beverage Director. Thank you for the feedback and the opportunity to improve. As we consistently put money back into our resorts, including the renovations to the Great Karoo, Damon's, updating the waterpark and the rooms quality, I hope that we have the opportunity to show you the level of customer service you would not only expect but deserve. Thank you again for reaching out to us. I remain in hopes that we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed in the car while my hubby checked in. Even though there was a lot of activity, he was out quickly. He had a map and was told exactly where to go. We were in the Sands building, which is a ways from all the activity, but I was pleased when we got there. The room was spacious, clean and on the ground floor with a door to a patio. I appreciated the fridge and microwave for the food we brought. The beds were comfortable and room temperature was easily controlled. The outdoor waterpark was amazing. There were two areas that were perfect for our 4 year old and 1 1/2 year old. The indoor theme park was fun for the 4 year old but my youngest really could only go on the carousel. There are lots of food choices but were too pricey for us. If you can swing it, there is lots to do and eat and I had no problems with staff.

Green Features: I really appreciated that the Kalahari recycles soap products. I always bring my own and its great to know that they give to others in need. Paying it forward to make the world a better place!
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
So wonderful to hear about your visit. Thank you so much for taking a moment to review us. Sounds like the family had a blast! My 4 year old love the Indoor Theme Park as well, especially the mini ropes course Sky Tykes. Can't wait to see the whole family again. Thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Check in was at 4pm. When we got there the staff was very impatient and rude. They seem like they hate their jobs attitude ( no smiling, very impatient, and rushing through everything). We booked 4 nights... The 2nd night we tried the buffet. $22.99/adult. I spent $132. The food was great, but the meat cutter/ manager was rude.. I was standing at the buffet table for him to cut a piece of steak. I know he saw me but he ignored me and another lady. He went around stirring other food. By the time he came to us he took his time getting himself ready. The lady standing next to me demanded to see a manager. He said he was the manager. She told him what an awful service hes doing. He gave us the i dont care attitude. Last time im spending money there for bad service.

Our room is horrible we had to stay in a room on the second floor looking at a wall. Found a cigrette on top of mirrior. Fridge is not cold. Asked to change rooms with a better view. They moved us 4 rooms with same view. Got angry called back and was put on hold for 30 min. Lady was giving me an attitude. By the time they found a room, turns out they down graded our room and didnt let me know till i got there. The new rooms phone was not working and tv. Went out to my room found a maintence guy. He fixed it... Oh my gosh what a diaster this place is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! I am sorry to hear about your experience. I would love the opportunity to learn more about your experience and connect with you. Would you be able to email me? My email is KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. Thank you for passing along your thoughts. I would never want you to leave with this experience as your memory of Kalahari. Hope to speak with you more soon. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.