We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kalahari among the best for family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Kalahari among the best for family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We spent 3 fun filled nights at the Kalahari resort during the peak summer season and have nothing but good things to report. This property rates right up there with the Beaches chain in catering to families.

The value at this resort was excellent as I booked a hut room on a beat the clock deal which included theme park passes. The theme park provided hours of entertainment and was a nice break from being wet at the waterparks.

Part of what I loved about the resort was there is one indoor park, one outdoor park and the theme park. Everything is contained within those areas unlike Wilderness which smaller parks are spread out between 3 hotels.

The indoor waterpark had so many slide options, lazy river, wave pool, outdoor hot tubs and even a swim up bar.

The outdoor waterpark was also a blast and neither park was ever overcrowded. We found going in early in the morning and late in the evening we had little to no waits for the most popular slides.

There are a few dining options on site and several more in the nearby area. The outlet mall is just across the street.

The free passes included to the Tommy Bartlett show were a bonus and we loved the show. I didn’t take the warning others have offered on Timbavati and found out for ourselves it was a waste of time. A tourist trap really and thank goodness we didn’t pay to get in.

Our room in the Sand’s building was nice and clean and for the most part quiet. We did have a noisy crew move in next door on our last night that were partying on their balcony. I would have preferred a balcony without a parking lot view and to be in the main building to cut down on the walking but you get what you pay for. I just had to make sure we were prepared with everything we needed before heading out to avoid the long walk back.

My only complaint is that staying at Kalahari ruined us for our 2 night stay at Wilderness. We so much preferred Kalahari that we felt ripped off at Wilderness where everything was more expensive and not as nice.

Kalahari is hands down the best value vacation in the Dells. So much to offer at a reasonable price. If we should ever be in area again Kalahari will be our destination.

Room Tip: Book in the main building to be closer to the action.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for giving Kalahari a try. The "beat the clock" deals on our Social Media pages every Tuesday are a great way to experience the Resort at a great value. I am so happy you all had such a wonderful time in our Waterparks and at the Indoor Theme Park. At the Indoor Waterpark, I hope you were able to try The Screaming Hyena or Sahara Sidewinders. Those are our most thrilling slides, being part of Tufani Falls. Also, if you were daring at the Indoor Theme Park, the Revolution 360 is one of our newest rides that will flip, twirl, and swing you around like a pendulum all while aboard the carnival-style ride. We pride ourselves in keeping the crowd down so no guest feels like the Resort is overcrowded. With tickets included in your stay, the Tommy Bartlett show is a great way to spend an evening while getting some thrill and excitement. I am sorry to hear about your experience with Timbavati. Thank you again for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    520
    188
    135
    124
See reviews for
1,151
89
8
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Evevry year for the past six years we take a weekend trip to the Dells and we stay @The Kalahari. It has something for both the young and old. The kids love the water park and I love the food and the cleaniness. Please try it and I'll promise you will return!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty and continual appreciation for Kalahari. I am so happy everyone finds something fun to do at our Resort. The Waterpark is one of my favorite spots to kick back and relax. I hope during one or more of your visits you were able to take advantage of the Kalahari Indoor Theme Park. Thanks again for the review and we'll see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

After staying here last summer it was definitely our favorite place in the Dells! Returned again this summer getting family fun package which gave us 3 of our 6 meals for free and dinne at $50 discount. We also got $20 spa credit & four free games of bowling plus wrist bands for indoor theme park. Clean all around! Staff was very friendly and helpful and food was great. Buffets aren't usually our favorite but their breakfast buffet at Great Karoo was excellent. Phone reservation line messed up our cabana reservation so we didn't get one. We were pretty bummed and not much was offered to remedy it. But all in all the rest of our stay was fabulous so I still highly recommend Kalahari!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
We are thrilled you picked Kalahari for the 2nd year in a row for your summer Getaway! The Family Fun Package is a great way to experience most of what the Resort has to offer along with a few of the dining options located within Kalahari Resort. I hope you all had a wonderful time bowling and were able to try some of the other activities at the Indoor Theme Park. I'm sorry to hear about the mix-up with our reservations team and the cabana. Next time you visit, please don't hesitate to connect with me to ensure that all is set up properly for your cabana rental - KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. You shouldn't have to double check, but a second set of eyes is never a bad thing and it would certainly be my pleasure to ensure that you have a simply flawless visit when you return. Thank you for letting us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed in a suite. Spacious kitchen area. Nice pool at the sands. The rooms are respectable. The water parks were a blast! My daughter and I had so much fun. She is 18...her friend and aunt came along. We all had tons of fun. I don't typically care for commercialized resorts. But it truly was a blast. Surprisingly the food wasn't overly expensive..nor the drinks! And it was surprisingly good! Outdoor and indoor grills were good. The stir fry was excellent at their indoor restaurant over near the Sands building. Oh...the spa was fantastic!! Another big surprise! The staff was so so.

Room Tip: Stay in The Sands Building...ask for a room facing the pool. Ours had a full size kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is so sweet that you and your daughter were able to spend such a lovely time together with some other family and friends at Kalahari Resort. What a treat that you were able to take advantage of the Spa as well during your stay. I hope you were all able to enjoy the Indoor Waterpark as well. Thank you for the review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We have been coming to Kalahari since it was built—at least 15 years. Love the recent updates! My kids still have so much fun, a teen and a pre-teen.

This year hotel seemed short-staffed. Food trays from room service were left in hallways all night. Not as many lifeguards. Our room was not made up until late into the afternoon, and then often times we were missing towels or coffee, cups, soap.

My oldest especially enjoyed Flowrider lessons from lifeguard Kyle. He was excellent! My youngest climbed the rock walls more times than ever. Both loved the interactive attractions added to the theme park. They played from 9 am to 10 pm everyday—best exercise around! Free tickets to Tommy Bartlett’s Water show were used this visit. The show was amazing!

Will most likely travel back to Kalahari again soon since airfare prices are ridiculously high.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for continuing to visit Kalahari Resort as we are constantly adding new attractions and renovating to make sure our Resort is a step above the rest. It is so wonderful that your teen and pre-teen both have such a great time here, between the Flowrider and the climbing wall at the Indoor Theme Park. I am so happy to hear you took advantage of the Tommy Bartlett Water Show tickets included with your stay. Take care and we hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This was our best hotel. My daughters couldn't forget our stay here. From the entrance to our. Room was excellent! The price was cheap and we had a free gas card bonus. That was a great deal! The hotel was very updated. The room we had was two bedroom one king bed and one with two queen beds. 3 flat screen tv and fireplace with sofa bed. Two bathrooms with jetted tub. Has balcony and was relaxing. There was bo breakfast as what we were used to have but we have brought foods. There were microwave, micro ref and mini sink and counter were you could prepare your food. There were separate automated doors each section of the floor. So everytime you go out the elevator to go to your room, one has to enter and swipe the card to pass the hallway. That's something to be appreciative that area was a secure area for the guest renting the rooms. Waterpark was a nice size for the hotel. We have many pictures taken for the nice memorabilia inside the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
It is wonderful you were able to take full advantage of all the amenities and attractions Kalahari has to offer. Safety is very important to us and swiping your room key to get to certain rooms within the Resort is just one way we help ensure every guest is taken care of and safe. I am so glad you were so pleased with the room and everything it included. We hope to see you back here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We spent a weekend at Kalahari with our three kids - we had a two-bedroom suite. The kids absolutely loved it - we enjoyed both the outdoor and the indoor water parks. We didn't pay extra for the indoor theme park - it didn't seem worth it on a summer weekend when there was so much to do outside. Our biggest complaint was that the carpet in the suite was filthy - we would shower, and notice that 5 minutes later, the bottoms of our feet were black.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Both the Indoor Waterpark and Outdoor Waterpark are a great way to spend a summer weekend. Those 2-bedroom suites are sometimes the best way to go while traveling to make sure everyone stays happy. I am sorry to hear about the carpets in your suite. That is unacceptable on our part. When you're here next, give the Indoor Theme Park a whirl. There are games and atractions there for everyone of all ages. We'll see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#9 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.