We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Save Saved
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Elk River, MN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pros: We have been coming to Kalahari with our kids who are now teenagers for many years. The oldest, the twins are 18 and they still find a lot to keep busy during our stay. This year we got a living social deal (and it definitely was a deal including a two bedroom suite of Kalahari's choice and indoor theme park passes). We requested a specific two bedroom suite and they told us they could not guarantee but when we arrived that was the suite they had given us. It was a Royal African Suite and it worked out well for our family of 5. The master had a Jacuzzi and the kitchenette included a coffee maker, microwave and a small fridge, the living room had a fireplace and the kids bathroom had a very large vanity.
The staff was friendly, the beds were comfortable and walking paths were OK. If you are a runner, you have to be more inventive as the paths are short and it is located by a busy road within approx 3 city blocks.
We were here during a slow time so the lines were short if at all-maybe 4-5 people in line for body boarding at most. If you can find family vacation time in May, this is the best we have ever seen crowd-wise.
The indoor water park has really expanded and the hot tubs are very nice.
The indoor theme park has really expanded, too and we really had a good time. The girls all LOVED the new 4-D theater, this is included with the indoor theme park pass and it is there new favorite. We all did the ropes course, Steve helped us along and 3/5 of us made it all the way across. If you are afraid of heights, its ok to just go to the second level too:)
Cons: And the reason it only gets four stars-
1. They no longer offer stand up surfing, only body boarding because of some liability issue.
2. When you sign the credit card machine when you arrive, you are opting in for a $750 pending charge on your card and they don't tell you this info. (This $ is available for using your room key to charge while you are here and when you check out it is released-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Thank you so much for continually visiting us and allowing your children to grow up with us! We certainly love having you back time and time again! Thank you so much for all your kind words and letting us know about all the great attractions everyone enjoyed. Thank you also for letting us know about the cons you experienced. I will certainly connect with our front desk and assure we have the proper signage about the authorization charge. Just to clarify for future guests, this is when guests opt-in to in-room billing for their stay. We authorize $50 per person per day for this amount, and like you stated this will be release when you check out. Thank you for bringing the awareness factor to my attention and this tip for future travelers. Also, I am sorry about the stand up surfing. I will be sure to pass that along to the right people. Thank you so much for everything and we can't wait to see the whole crew again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    803
    475
    174
    127
    122
See reviews for
1065
79
8
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

kalahari was nice, but not worth the price. it has a very big indoor waterpark which i enjoyed. AS far as amenities they were very cheap, threatening to charge if any towels were missing! The towels were so cheap i would be surprised if anyone would take any at all!! the beds were comfortable and the food there is good. You cant even play your own video games or movies because there is no hook ups

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to visit us and letting us know your thoughts. While I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed the waterpark, I am discouraged that you did not find value in your stay. As we are constantly updating, renovating and adding new items and attractions to our resort, hopefully soon we will include something that you will find more value in. We appreciate you letting us know your thoughts. I do hope that we can see you again in the future. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neenah, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our family (three generations) stayed at Kalahari on Friday and Saturday in a five bedroom media house. The house had everything you could want on two floors. 6 adults and 7 children were totally comfortable. If we needed something we called and it came. Transportation (we could have walked) to the water park was immediate. The waterpark is so much more than a waterpark. It has all the amusement park stuff plus more and more.

We rented a cabanna with its own hot tub. What a day at the waterpark. All ages enjoyed. Food was served in our cabanna. There is something for everyone here, the staff is well trained and super helpful.

Would compare to mini Disney without the super expense. It makes a great weekend or even a week getaway. Absolutely the best for cross generational fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I don't think I could have a bigger smile after reading your review. Thank you so much for sharing and just our pleasure to have you and all the generations! Sounds like just the most amazing time! I simply wanted to send a note thanking you for everything, from taking the time to reviewing us, to visiting us to all the kind words! We can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited the Kalahari on our spring break. Had received gift certificates as a gift and needed to burn them. Check in took a long time despite it not being a busy time. Our room was not ready so we left the property and found lunch in town. Room was adequate, nothing spectacular. We were in an attached building so giving a kidney would have been easier than getting a breakfast for the kids. Left property for breakfast downtown. Lunch on the property consisted of bad food expensive. Water park was a blast and the kids had alot of fun in the indoor amusement park. The ropes course was particullarly fun for my 8 year old. Dinner at the Kaunaville was surprisingly good. Service was excellent and the menu was very good. Kids enjoyed the entertainment. Check out was uneventful.

Room Tip: Dont stay in the Sands Building if you want to eat in one of their restaurants for breakfast. stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for coming to visit us over Spring Break. It was certainly our pleasure to have you! I'm sorry to hear that you felt as the Sands building was located far away. When you return, feel free to work with one of our reservation agents to choose a room style that is located within the resort side. That would certainly be our pleasure to help find the best solution there. Please keep in mind that the breakfast options within the resort are located in or very close to the lobby, so you can plan accordingly. Glad to hear everyone had a blast in the parks! I do hope we can see you again. Thank you so much for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Valley, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This was the first time at Kalahari for us. The lobby is beautiful and the check in was fast and smooth. We were staying for 3 days and had reserved the hospitality suite. We got to our suite and and at first glance it was nice. It had 2 Murphy beds, a wet bar, 2 televisions, a fireplace, and leather seating. We had to call the front desk right away because one of the towels in the bathroom had what looked like lipstick and mascara on it. They brought fresh linens up right away. The following day we were getting ready to go to the indoor water park and tried to use the in room safe. It was broken so we called the front desk and a maintenance man was to our room in just a few minutes. He couldn't get it to work so he had to remove the night stand it was in. I was horrified when he took it out. It had about an inch thick of dust on the side and what looked like dried milk all over the side. We also asked maintenance if he could replace the 2 bulbs that were burned out in the bathroom. While at the waterpark housekeeping came and made 1 bed but not the other. The patio had a beer can full of cigarrettes on the table. The mantle place had about an inch of dust on it as well as the entertainment center. as the I'm thinking this suite doesn't get used a lot or their quality control needs improvement. The fitness room was just below us and at 7 am sharp so done would start doing free weights and drop them on the floor ALL MORNING LONG! The constant banging was enough to drive you nuts! Our final day there we had to ask again for clean towels because the hand towels looked like they had dried formula on them. I talked to the manager and it was basically to bad so sad. We will not stay here again!

Room Tip: Get as far away from the fitness room as possible. Ask if the room your booking is used often or pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for giving us a shot and coming to visit us! While some things ran smoothly, I am sorry to hear about your experience overall. I can certainly understand your frustration and concern with the cleanliness of your room. Please know, that I am looking into that now with our housekeeping team. Can you please email me your contact details, so I can further research this for you? KRizzo@KalahariResorts.com. Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is very much appreciated. I am looking forward to connecting with you further. Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We took our kids and grandkids to the Kalarhari and stayed in the Sands building in a Family Village Suite. We also purchase a family saver package.The Package included 3 large pizzas with 12 sodas which was more then the eleven of us could eat. $150.00 for dinner at any restaurant in the resort. 12 indoor theme park passes which were good for the entire stay. $60.00 is spa credit which we put toward massages and the breakfast buffet for 12 each morning.
The Suite was clean, comfortable and very spacious. We had more then enough room for all of us.
The indoor water and Theme parks are excellent. We have kids, and grandkids, that range from 2 to 27 and everyone had rides, games and attractions to accomadate them. This is not just a kiddie park. The adults enjoyed themselves as much as the little one. The new swim up bar was especially nice for some of us.
The breakfast buttet was at the Kahunaville restaurant and we also chose to eat there for dinner one night. The breakfast was very good and had a decent selection. Dinner was excellent and the check for 11 of us (8 over the age of 21) was just over the $150.00 which was included in our package.
This is really a top notch resort and you get quite a value for what you pay for.
We would definately go back and recommend for families of all ages.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have stayed in the Dells before but never in such luxury! We got a deal to stay in the "Lodge Suite" and had a fully equipped kitchen so we were able to cook some exotic meals over our stay. Beautiful king bed and comfortable living room space... We loved it. Since the outdoor water park was closed due to it being winter, we only had access to the indoor one. It was fine, but there are better indoor water parks in the Dells. Overall a great room and great stay. Hopefully return in the summer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you so much for visiting us! Certainly our pleasure to have you. Furthermore, thank you for taking the time to review our resort as well. Glad to hear you like the King Lodge Suite! Personal favorite! You mentioned you were here in the winter. Hopefully you came after the opening of Wisconsin's first and only Swim-up bar and the indoor/outdoor whirlpools we just added. Both of those have been very popular! We are looking forward to seeing you back this summer! Thank you again for everything and see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.