We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Villas!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding Villas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We spent a fantastic week in an Entertainment Villa! Five adults, three teenagers, two elementary-age kids and two toddlers shared a five-bedroom condo. It was perfect. Room enough for all, pool table, movie area with huge TV, lots of separate bathrooms, great kitchen, two fireplaces... We came prepared to treat the condo like a beach rental, with dish soap, TP, etc. and were thrilled to find that the staff treat the condos like hotel rooms! Daily linen service, soap and toiletries provided, running the dishwasher, the whole nine yards! Housekeeping offered to come every day, but we declined for most of the trip - we were barely in the villa to dirty the place up. The indoor water park had something for everyone. We rented a Whirlpool Cabana for Saturday, which was a great decision. The hot tub was a nice getaway and the cabana made a perfect home base for our clan. Five days was the perfect amount of time to enjoy everything at the park. I'm a tough customer and I loved this place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    444
    170
    120
    116
See reviews for
999
77
7
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just on our way home and wanted to do a review while it is fresh...
Kids absolutely LUV the water and theme parks! Really nice to have wet and dry options to shuffle between. Restaurants are pricy, but not too bad. Pizza is very good! We bought the kids refillable slushy cups, refills are very cheap after you purchase the souvenir cup! The adults did the same thing with "adult" beverages. There frozen drinks are very good, our favorite was the Blue Rhino.
Fitness area is great if you go to the one nearest the Theme Park. It's open 7-1pm and the other gym is 24 hours.
Staff all seem very helpful, overall a great stay! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
How wonderful of you to get that review up there right away. We certainly appreciate and it was our pleasure to have you! I second you mentioned of the slushies... both kids and adult versions. Thank you so much for sharing! I just wanted to be sure you know how much we appreciate it! Looking forward to seeing the family again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anoka, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The king lodge suite is the only room for us. This was our second visit in the last year and are planning on returning soon. The fantastic family package includes waterpark, theme park, dinner and breakfast. The staff at Kahunaville provided exceptional service while we celebrated our daughter's 15th birthday. Theme park was clean, indoor waterpark was recently renovated and the work in the lobby is complete.
With the included breakfast bar being closed, we ventured to Ivory Coast. Burnt pancakes with limited concern from on duty staff, led me to contacting management. We were invited back for lunch but couldn't convince our youngest that her meal would be better than the previous experience. For this, the 5th star could not be awarded.
Enjoy your stay at kalahari, the staff is welcoming and is concerned about your comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for an odd number in the sands building if you want to overlook the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us! We so thankful you could pay us a visit and then take time out of your day to connect with us here. Very glad to hear everyone had a great time! I am sorry to hear about your breakfast and the initial lack of concern. I am also sorry to hear that we didn't have the opportunity to make it right. Hopefully in the future this will not be a concern any longer. Thank you for letting us know. Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Yes it's my second review. It just doesn't give this resort justice with one review. This place is AMAZING! Really! I love it here. The waterpark has anything from baby pools to the most thrilling ride in the Dells! I love Screaming Hyena, Master Blaster, Sahara Sidewinders, and Rippling Rhino. The Indoor Theme Park is sooooooo cool too. The ropes course is really fun and so is the Ferris wheel! All the restaurants at Kalahari are delicious too. The even have Krispy Kremes. :) The golfing course is nice too. The rooms and suites are high quality too. So you cannot go wrong with any room you choose. Most rooms have nice views of the waterpark. Kalahari is also next to The Desert Star Cinema which is really fun desert themed movie theater. You can spend your whole vacation here!
It was become a family tradition to come to Kalahari just because its such a nice vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
I'm not sure a simple thank you will do you justice for how great we think you are! Thank you so very, very much for taking the time out of your day, not once but twice to review us. Your patronage and loyalty is so very appreciated. Looking forward to seeing you and your family year after year! Take care!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

It's winter and we are all going a bit stir crazy! Friends and I wanted to do something fun for the night so we booked rooms at the Kalahari for a Friday night hoping most kids would be in bed early and give us time to enjoy the water park. (We are various ages but all over 21) We had a great time! Kids were generally leaving when we went down, around 6 p.m. and we didn't have to wait in any extensive lines. The slides were fun and the swim up bar with the attached indoor/outdoor hot tub was great. BTW drinks are ridiculously expensive but mighty potent. Various room sizes were booked. Mine was a Lodge Suite (king bed with a kitchen) and was well done. Walls are a bit thin but not bad. Overall, a great way to spend a Friday night.

Room Tip: The Lodge room was great, friends stayed in the room without a balcony and I would not recommend tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
That sounds like an amazing Friday night! Thank you so much for choosing to spend it with us. I would 100% agree with you; The Mud Hut Indoor/Outdoor Whirlpool swim-up bar is the way to go for escaping the cold. Glad to hear you loved that addition as much as us. Thank you again for visiting us. Take care and hope to see everyone again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Lookout, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was nice, beds were pretty good and the resort was fabulous! There was so much to do for my son who is Five years old with the indoor theme park all perfectly acceptable for his age group and the water park with the variety of rides for any age. Last year we stayed at the Great Wolf Lodge which was equally as good except more suited for five and under. We purchased the family special which included breakfast for entire stay, theme park passes for the entire stay, water park passes and two dinners made it very affordable. If attractions are purchased separately outside of the family package It would've been much more pricey. We will definitely take another trip here next year! Canadian mid week march break also a perfect time to go because it's not busy at all!

Room Tip: Trying get a package deal is the best value for your money! It makes coming to this resort extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you so much for spending your Spring Break with us! Great to hear your 5 year old loved everything and was able to play in the Indoor Theme Park too! We just added a few attractions, so that is great you got to try those out! We are so excited to see you next year too! Thank you again for visiting us and your time. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have enjoyed Kalahari more and more as our kids have grown up. Not only are the pools/watermarks entertaining and well -worth a whole day or two, but there is so much more to do. Our college age and high school age kids loved being able to swim AND play mini golf in the same place, and love having a movie theater next door. The hotel rooms and lobby carry out the African theme well, making the whole experience reminiscent of a Disney vacation. We have tried several room types and liked all.

Room Tip: The rooms farther from the watermarks are nice and quiet, and the walk is not a big deal for older k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Simply an amazing compliment to be compared to Disney. Thank you so much for sharing! I just wanted to be sure to send you a note, thank you for not only your time to review our resort, but also continuing to visit us year after year! Always our pleasure. We are looking forward to seeing the whole family again soon! Take care and thank you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#13 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list