We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun for all ages!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Champaign, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family fun for all ages!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Pros: We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite. It was big enough for 2 families (both w children) & it had separate bathrooms & had pretty decent soundproof walls! Rooms were equipped w plenty of towels, blankets, etc & room was very clean. Microwave & fridge were perfect for bringing a cooler & a few lunch items. There were 2 tables too. Water park was great for the ages we had: 5 mos, 1, 2, 3, 4 (& the adults had fun too!) we spent ab 15 hrs there in 3 days & still didn't try every part!) lifeguards were friendly & staff kept bathrooms, water areas clean. Temps of air & water we felt were perfect. Amusement park was not as kid friendly but had enough options considering we mainly went for water park anyways. The kids liked the Ferris wheel, bumper boats & small ropes course. The sugar cookie station was a hit too, thanks! Decor was neat & our kids loved taking pics w the statues. Hair braiding was reasonably priced & my girls loved it.
Cons: We tried to bowl but $7.50 a game per kid was ridiculous. In my opinion it should be included since there are limited choices for children under age 3. Staff at kahunaville was beyond rude & we chose to not eat there. Instead ate dinner & breakfast at the buffet next to water park... VERY nice staff & food was amazing! Spa staff was rude as well, didn't even use a coupon for $20 off due to this! Front desk needs to be more helpful in terms of where everything is. This is a huge place & if its your 1st time it can be stressful lugging kids around aimlessly. Maps are hard to read. I suggest handing an info packet out like other hotels w entertainment do.
Overall, it was a great long weekend trip & can't wait til next year. I think for the price it had everything we needed & the parts that cost extra & we didn't do & our kids didn't notice so not a big deal! U could def spend less than $500 & have a good time & have a couple good meals! :)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    508
    184
    134
    125
See reviews for
1,125
85
8
135
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed during the week and there was barely anyone there! The ride lines were very short, if any and the waterpark was not crowded at all. The kids had a wonderful time. I like that the water and amusement park are all under one roof.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

My family has visited Kalahari at least once a year since their opening year. The combination of over crowding, short water park hours, and noisy rooms do not justify the premium price. I believe they have shortened the water park hours to maximize spending in the arcade. We visited to enjoy the water park not to spend more money in the arcade. My advice is to do your homework and shop around.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi there! Thank you for taking the time to continuously visit us! I am sorry to hear about your recent experiences. We very much appreciate your patronage and hope that we have a lasting relationship with you and your family. This was posted on the Wisconsin Dells page, but I am thinking (but not positive) that this was for Ohio. However, I confirmed with both the waterparks, and the neither have had hours change. They are both open till 9 weekdays and 10pm weekends. The only time this changes, is when we add hours to the waterpark during busier days. I am wondering if you are referring to specific times of the year when we ask departing guests to enjoy the waterpark until 3pm instead of closing. This is to control overcrowding and to give arriving guests the same experience as our guests the day before. Hopefully this helps some. We very much appreciate you and hope to see you again and again for years to come. Thank you for your time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm not sure who had more fun - our son, or us! We stayed here as a one day get away from family obligations. It was mostly meant as a reward for our 10 yr old for being so good while we worked through some tough family stuff. The resort is like a great big theme park as soon as you walk in. I wasn't sure what to expect, but was pleastly surprised! We got a great deal since Jan was Military month, and the second day was reduced to do being snowed in. (great planning on our part - haha)

We ended up with two different rooms due to checking out after our intended stay only to realize we couldn't safely leave. Both nights the room had 2 queen beds and a sofa. Neither room hav enough light! First night our room was in the wing near where the deleveries were made in the morning... I woke up at 6am to BEEP...BEEP... However, second night we were in the opsit wing and it was fine. Rooms were comfortable, clean, and nicely decorated - not to mention lots of space. There was also a fridge and microwave in both rooms.

The staff every where was so friendly, from reception desk, to security guard, to waterpark lifeguards. Amazing! It was better than the famed Disney staff.

We spend most of our time at the waterpark and my son rode the waverider for hours. The varity of water rides was great, and I could see in summer even better. The water was warm and we were never cold between rides. Other indoor waterparks have had a chill in the air. We also bowled and spent some time in the indoor amusement park. My son loved the in the air gokart track!

We did not eat at any of the resturants, but at the quick dining outside the water park and the bowling alley. I was happy to see the prices were not resort prices. And the food was good. We also ate at the sweet shop in the loby and it had a great assortment of items.

Over all - I can't wait to come back! Our son either! We had a great time for a teriffic vaule. I would guess summer would be more expensive and crowed than we had. But I'd brave the crowds to go in the summer.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms near the loading docs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
That is just so wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing! The FlowRider is challenging, I am impressed. Sorry to hear about the snow day... or am I?! :) That has to be one of the most epic snow days ever. We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you for your time and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carroll, iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had a great time at the Kalahari. We were there with 3 other couples and kids and we did the water park and theme park. We all had 2 room suites which was really nice to give both parents and kids their own space and 2 bathrooms. I thought at $25 for our 3 day stay the theme park was a good value. We also rented the private whirlpool cabana which we were very pleased with. When we split it out 4 ways it was very nice to have our own private space where we could leave items and the kids loved having their own private whirlpool. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The fourth floor is probably the quietest. You can hear kids running from above floors on lower lev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Came here with a group of girls for a fun weekend getaway. We got a "Royal 2 Room Suite"...the room was very spacious, clean and nicely decorated. The room was actually much nicer in person than it looked in the pictures on the website, which was a nice surprise. Employees were very friendly and attentive also.

The best part of this resort (for the adults) is the swim up bar that goes outside! Great drinks and so much fun! If you're at the Kalahari to party with friends, this is the place you will want to be! The waterpark rides were a lot of fun too.

We ate at Kahunaville and the food and service was very good.

For those complaining about the noise...this is the Dells! There are hyper little kids running around everywhere. LOL deal with it!

Great stay at the Kalahari...will definitely be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Sounds like you had an awesome trip! Thank you so much for visiting us and taking the time to review our resort. It was our pleasure to have you and it looks like we get to see you again in the future! Thank you for all the wonderful tips. Just wanted to be sure that you knew how appreciated you were! Take care and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Me, my husband and our 9 and 11 year old visted this week. We had alot of fun. Everything you need is here at the resort. There are also a lot of other conveniently located businesses next to the resort. Fast food, gas stations, outlet mall etc. There is something for everyone at this resort. The one downside is the themepark wristbands have to be purchased separately. At Mt. Olympus resort they are included in your stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#8 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kalahari Resorts & Conventions 3*
Number of rooms: 750
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Kalahari Resorts & Conventions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.