We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterpark, average hotel room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kalahari Resorts & Conventions
Save Saved
You added Kalahari Resorts & Conventions to your Saves list
1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great waterpark, average hotel room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed at the Kalahari for a night after a Christmas party.The room was clean, but very average for the price. Two queen beds, refrigerator, microwave, average sized bathroom. The room was dark and the view from the window was the outside wall of the waterpark. There are plenty of activities within the resort including the waterpark, indoor amusement park, shops, places to eat, and a coffee shop. There is also a large movie theatre on site.
We had a bit of a tough time sleeping as there were lots of kids running and screaming through the hallway into the wee hours of the morning.
If you are looking for somewhere to take your kids for a weekend in the winter to enjoy a waterpark, this is the place for you(a little expensive). If you are looking for rest and relaxation, try the Sundara Spa resort at the Wilderness.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Social Media Coordinator at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 23, 2011
Thank you for choosing to spend the night with us after your Christmas party being held at the Kalahari Resorts and taking the time to review our Resort. Glad to here you were able to find all the activities we offer. There is so much to do, it's just a matter of choosing which activity. We have lots of room styles available to choose from, so if you visit again, maybe you will be able to try out another style.

Thank you again for taking the time to review us, we look forward to having you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,737 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    822
    486
    178
    128
    123
See reviews for
1,085
81
8
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I visited the Kalahari resort this last weekend wit hmy wife, siblings, and parents to celebrate christmas. Overall, it was a great experience as the room was large and there was no noise from other rooms. It is a large facility and I had been here once before for a bachelor/bachelorette party 3 years ago and it was a great experience.

The ony complaints i have are that one of the hallways smelt wretched on the third floor and the charge to take a picture with the baby tigers was a high amount. However, i recognize the cost to care for these animals is high, so that is acceptable. I just wouldn't pay that much to take a picture with one of those animals.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for the sands roms, as they have full kitchens in some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ypsilanti, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

WOW! Had an excellent time!!! Went with the Hubby and two kids (7 &13)! The kids were surfer dudes on the flow rider-eventhough we are from Michigan!! Bought the family getaway package which was well worth it!! The breakfast buffet was AMAZING!! YUMMY blueberry scones and eggs benedict!! So, don't listen to the haters! It was amazing-there even was a cheer leading competition at the hotel-and it still wasn't too crowded!
Blessings!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Went here with my GF. Got a good package deal, this is the best way to go. Lots of things to do in the Dells. We are in are 20s and found enough to keep us busy for 4-5 days. Loved going to the indoor ropes course at the Kalahari.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, IA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

Accommodations: I stayed in Room 2419 (2 queens + a long sofa; also a microwave and small refrigerator). It was VERY spacious but also was dark. It could have used brighter lights. Other than that, no complaints. Internet access was consistently solid.

Meals: My prime rib at Damon's was very good. I also bought a slice of carrot cake from the bakery in the lobby. It was 90% icing and 10% carrot cake. Stay away from this one (but kids will like it)...

Other: It's a great family getaway. You gotta love a hotel that has its own Ferris Wheel!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kassie R, Manager at Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our Resort. It sounds as if you enjoyed your stay and were able to combine business with pleasure! Your carrot cake review brought a smile to our Executive Pastry Chef because his carrot cake is one of the items most in demand. Is there really such a thing as too much frosting? We feel privileged to have hosted your group and look forward to your return in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
255 reviews 255 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

I traveled alone to the Kalahari Resort for a seminar in October and it was very good. The place is huge, the food is good, and the staff is wonderful. I had to attend a conference, for my company, and I loved the Kalahari. The logistics of meals and such was outstanding. The staff that puts things together must be top rate. We had great meals, great snacks, and everything was delivered on time. I am not much of one for staying at casinos but this place made me think twice. I would certainly go back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

I was exhibiting at a Tradeshow here and decided to bring my daughter and 3 year old granddaughter with because of the watermark features. As it turns out, my granddaughter didn't particularly enjoy the water. The surprise was all of the other activities Kalahari had to offer. They spent everyday busy with crafts and pottery and loved their time there.

The staff was wonderful and really made them feel welcome. Thank You All!!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kalahari Resorts & Conventions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Resorts & Conventions

Address: 1305 Kalahari Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#11 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 750
Also Known As:
Kalahari Waterpark Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Resort Wisconsin Dells
Kalahari Hotel Wi Dells
Kalahari Wi Dells
Kalahari Waterpark Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kalahari Resorts & Conventions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.