We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Dirty Room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2005

I'll get to the point....My family really enjoyed the Polynesian's waterpark. However, the hotel room left much to be desired. We needed to change rooms because our first room was on the first floor overlooking the parking lot (we paid for/requested pool view) and was also dirty. The second room wasn't much better, but at least had a nicer view. The room was pretty dingy and not up to my "clean" standards (I don't think it would be up to anyone's) The bathroom was filthy! I did complain upon check-out but the staff seemed less than interested in my complaints.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    101
    70
    62
    89
See reviews for
217
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2005

We stayed here last summer with our 1 year old son. We all had a blast. The rooms were clean, and really nice. There was stuff for him to do, and stuff for us as well.

The staff was friendly and helpful. And they don't let others buy a day into the waterpark, so there were no lines to wait in.

We would definatley stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2005

My family plus 4 other families went here and loved it.It was a very clean stay our children loved it and didn't want to leave as far as the staff we had no trouble out of them they were very kind to all of us. The kids packs were fresh and clean items were found inside of them. We travweled around all day but we couldn't wait to get back to the resort. We met some very nice college kids there and had a wonderful vacation and will return someday I'm sure. It is a place to have alot of fun and relax.
The Wilkeys of Il.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine Wisconsin
2 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2005

My family and I had a chance to visit the Polyniesian Resort in early March. The staff was friendly and the prices were very reasonable! We are only able to do one of these trips a year. (When the taxes come back) This year it was worth it. The resturant/grill was very afordable and the food was pretty tasty. The only downfall of the whole trip was because we like to travel during the "off season" the resturants hours were shorter than usual! Oh yeah...housekeeping was the bomb also!!! Thats a good thing! I would definately like to go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2005

We stayed at the Polynesian Mar. 3-6, 2005 (in three rooms)and were very pleased with everything. There were 6 adults and 4 children ranging from 16 months to 8 years of age. The resort had something for everyone! The entire facility was very clean and every staff member we came into contact with was friendly and helpful. Their attention to detail included extra large waste baskets and larger than average refrigerators in the rooms. Hope we can return again in the summer to take advantage of the outdoor water park.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2005

Please see if you would return after reading this. For the past 3 years my family & I have spent New Years in the Dells and planned to do so until the following:
1. Rude and unhelpful lifeguards. Reported to supervisor and front desk.
2. Room dirty. Peanuts in pullout and unmade. Vomit in sink upon check-in. Reported to maid supervisor and front desk.
3. Loud banging noise from water pipes when other rooms used. Reported to front desk.
4. Bloody floating bandage found in pool (nearest desk). Reported to front desk.
5. Won a shirt from New Years bash. Was told can be exchanged for proper size and style wanted at front desk in the morning. This request was denied.
6. 2 candy bars from "kids gift pack" as we checked in were stale and chocolate had turned white. This was not reported because did not open until 1/2 way home. Disgusting.
7. Unconcerned resort employees. No one seemed to really care. Never received a call or e-mail from this resort. Left messsage at front desk as well as in writing on comment form and followed up with e-mail. No one contacted us. No one cared.

This resort advertises as the best water park for your money. The Polynesian should at least care. Three families were on this little trip and word of mouth can carry a lot of weight. You can be sure when asked "how was your stay?" We care about our answers.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Polynesian Resort Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2005
Honestly, if you were to check into a hotel room that had a dirty sink with vomit in it – wouldn’t you march right back to the Front Desk and tell them that you would like a different room?

As a matter of policy, all rooms are inspected by a housekeeping supervisor prior to rooms being released for check-in.

This guest not only stayed the first night with a “dirty” room, he chose to stay a second and third night. These accusations and charges are not only untrue and ridiculous, but lack any credibility because they chose to stay a full three nights.

This guest had their “Do Not Disturb” sign displayed on their door throughout their stay which made it impossible to even do daily room maintenance. Our Housekeeping Assistant Supervisor could not go into their room to clean.

There is no record of an e-mail or any written record of any complaint other than the customer could not exchange a “Free” prize for a prize of higher value. The Polynesian Resort was giving away prizes on New Years Eve. The disc jockey for the New Years Eve party was told by Management, that if the guest would like to exchange their shirt in the Gift Shop for their correct size they may do so. This guest did not want to exchange his prize for something of equal or lesser value. He wanted something of GREATER value and was told that he could not do that. Guest ended up throwing the shirt at the Front Desk clerk. The owner was called, and discussed this matter with this guest. The owner told the guest to not talk to his employees in an abusive manner.

This being said, the customer chose to stay one more night Saturday, January 1 after all of the mistreatment and neglect he received in regards to these “alleged” incidents.

The Polynesian does care and cares a lot about the satisfaction of our guests. What it cannot do is react to fiction and events that only occur in one disgruntled person’s fantasy. The Polynesian Hotel prides itself on its customer service and customer satisfaction. All legitimate complaints are dealt with promptly, and appropriately as they are brought forth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2005

My family and I booked our reservations with the "Adventure Package" a month in advance for the quoted price of $155/night. Through a miscommunication, we were surprised to find out this didn't apply to the room we needed for our family. The hotel administrative staff was VERY unaccommodating and disorganized. The GM wouldn't even make an effort to meet with me personally to help resolve the issue - he was TOO busy to meet with a customer. Also, they were extremely understaffed and many amenities (game room, gift shop, snack bar) we not opened during advertised hours due to lack of staff. Finally, I was surprised to notice that my credit card bill reflected a couple of very inaccurate charges I am still trying to get corrected. My advice - pay an extra few bucks for a hotel that values its customers more.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.