We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Ankeny, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom suite. The wallpapers in the bathroom was peeling, there's a chunk in the carpet that was missing, the cover sheets on the beds were very outdated and the end tables were dusty. The lifeguards spent all their time looking at girls in bikinis and didn't really pay close attention to the kids. No complaints about the bar tending staff and the food. For the price I paid for a 3 night stay, I wish it would've been a better experience. Would've rather spent the money at a best western. It's a nice place.... They just need to renovate the place and fix a few things. Also, the door knob in the bathroom was so loose that it felt like it could fall apart at any moment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    101
    67
    59
    87
See reviews for
215
22
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

There were pools open in the morning, but by the afternoon both indoor and outdoor water parks had been closed. The pools we were able to go into in the morning had many bugs floating in them and were dirty with sand. No restaurants or bar areas were open. The rooms are outdated and the bathroom fixtures were rusty. We left after the first night.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linz156
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I wouldn't recommend this place to family and friends unless they are willing to spend less for a bare minimum. For us the hotel was everything we needed but no frills of any kind. There is no continental breakfast, just in case your wondering. The room had outdated decor that was in poor shape. The hair dryer only worked for 2 min. The regulator on our heater/AC didn't work, I ended up getting up several times in the night to either shut if off or turn it on, also only had one speed which was HIGH. The water park was ok, the people watching was choice, and the staff were very friendly. Oh and the bartender has a nice poor so, it wasn't as bad once your a bit buzzed. All in all my family was wanted a waterpark hotel and we got one that had everything we needed but nothing more.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I was disappointed when we arrived and our room was OLD looking, mismatch furniture and most important the screen door would not lock so they had to bring a board to place on bottom of door so no one could break in, mold in bathrooms and very dirty toilets, disgusting is the best word. Next time don't remember cheap is NOT always the best, no return trip there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaska, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a great stay in a two bedroom suite (room 308). All the rooms were clean. My daughters (18 months and 5 years old) both had a blast in the pools. Great place for families with little kids to stay. If you have older kids, you might want to look else where. There are not a lot of indoor water activities for big kids. The entire hotel badly needs a remodeling job, but all in all, I would recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms stink of poop, the bed sheets and covers smell like animal pee (they try covering it up with air freshener that makes the rim smell like a nursing home), they say you can fit 6 people in a room but in that case you better be a kid or super skinny. The rooms tvs don't function correctly you literally have to hit it (room 212). The pools are boring and literally for kids nothing special. You might be saying why don't you go to another hotel well we were invited by friends no argument their. The hotel itself is out dated, the hallways are dull, the rooms are small, the pools are crap and the staff are rude. If I could change hotel I would rather be at Mt. Olympic.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Another last minute quick weekend get away with the girl friend. Front desk staff is amazing as normal. Monk in the bar is a great person to talk and joke with. In house pizza is great, and still cheaper than most delivery. Room had a fresh coat of paint and was clean as normal. Pools were clean (unlike previous post). I stay in many hotels for work and Polynesian is right at the top with cleanliness and staff is more than willing to go above and beyond customer expectations. I plan on staying again soon!

Room Tip: Double Queen Sofa rooms are large rooms if you need the space. They have space for up to 6 people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.