We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in worse....Stayed in better...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Save Saved
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Lake in the Hills, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stayed in worse....Stayed in better...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went on Presidents Day weekend, which was a busy weekend for the Dells. All the other indoor waterparks were sold out, so we settled for the Polynesian. I was nervous after reading the other reviews, so I had low expectations. But, I figured the kids (twins, age 6) would have fun no matter where we stayed and that I can turn a blind eye at some of the things the other reviewers mentioned, especially since the rate was so reasonable. We were in a king room with a sofa bed, which we liked the layout. I described this resort as "Hot Tub Time Machine", tropical style.

The Pros:
Very clean
Quick check in
Water park was not crowded, and really geared for young kids
Very good lifeguards in waterpark area by slides
The staff we had interaction with were all very pleasant
Location, near Christmas Mountain (we went snowtubing)
Liked having a balcony off our room (we kept our cooler out there...never needed ice!)

The Cons:
Room was outdated and ripped carpet
Bed was TERRIBLE (didn't sleep for 2 nights in a row)
Towels in the pool areas were non-existent
Restaurant choices were poor and weren't hardly ever open
Pool water in pool area off of lobby was murky and foamy
Paid a weird charge on our bill for the in room safe

Bottom line...We got what we paid for, so cant complain since I knew all this before booking the room. I probably would pick Mt Olympus over the Polynesian for a value priced property next time only because the size of the waterpark and the included indoor amusement park.

Room Tip: Stay on the 2nd or 3rd floor to avoid hearing kids in halls going back and forth to the different po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    99
    64
    55
    71
See reviews for
201
17
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
beloit wisc
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

As a ell seasoned travelor, I read some of the reviews and thought I must have stayed at a different resort. We took our grandsons there sat 2/1/14 for 1 night and had a great time. My room was not dirty, or falling apart. It is a waterpark resort marketed towards kids 10 and under. Our room was clean with fridge and microwave in the room, the kids had a great time in the waterpark, the staff was friendly and our room was spacious. I just don't buy all these negative reviews, Yes, the Kalahari is a little more upscale and their prices are definatly much higher also. We had a great time at the Polynesian and will go back again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viroqua, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were looking for a place in Wisconsin Dells to take our 3 year old granddaughter for her birthday. This facility seems older but is well kept. There were friendly staff everywhere, including the housekeeping people in the halls who all were smiling and acknowledged us with hellos. They were all very friendly toward our granddaughter who loves people. The woman we made reservations with was extremely helpful and when she learned the age of our granddaughter booked us in a quieter wing for naps and quiet times. The lifeguards were attentive and also very friendly as were the shop staff. The halls, pool areas, and our room were all very clean and smelled good. We were able to book a room with an actual bedroom door between the bedroom and sitting room so we could make it very dark in there for our granddaughter to sleep while still being able to watch tv in our bedroom. The indoor water park seemed more geared to younger children and as such fit those needs very well. The only complaint we might have is there was no internet of any kind available in the rooms, just the lobby. All in all this was a great choice for us and we are very, very pleased with our stay.

Room Tip: The King Suite room is a good choice and value for sleeping children in one room and adults watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Ok, it was half the price of other water park hotels, but that was only good part. Check in and the gal circles water park next to our room. I'm thinking, "thats nice. They put our room right next to water park". They didn't tell us it was closed. Now our room is furthest from the only indoor pool open. We are the only people there. Kids enjoyed pool with basketball hoops even though there was dirt collected in corners of the floor of the pool. Waited for happy hour to get a drink. Guy was in there having a drink with his buddies, but when I came he said they were closed and just cleaning fryers. At least something was clean! If we had reseached this, we would have heard about stains, paint and wood chips, old tvs with no remote and limited channels, disinterested staff, etc. Learned our lesson...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

If the dirt ring in the toilet and the toilet paper dispenser coming out of the wall and the hard beds don't turn you off the thugs watching over your kids in the pool will. there about as rude as a person can get. we were down right harassed in the kids pool area when we were the only people there and we were with the kids in the pool some little bit of a man come over to me stuck out his chest and said get that pop out of the pool with a mean look on his face. not at all polite in any way I am a grand father that will never set foot at that place again. the water had a bad smell in the hot tub like the water was stagnate and pant chip off poles in kids pool water. There was one life guard there his name was Logan and he was great guy and great with the kids he should find a better place to work.

Room Tip: chose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

As a world traveler, I have seen a wide variety of hotels and motels. I have slept in cheaper hotels that were a lot cleaner. When we first walked in, the hotel smelled of wet dog. Combination of probably pools and wet carpet. I did not feel very safe sleeping in the room with my two year daughter. More for the uncleanliness and for the high volume of traffic walking past the patio door. For how much we paid for the room, was not worth staying. Bathroom smelled like urine, unclean. A small hole in tube, was patched over but the the patch work was coming off and dirty. The carpet nor ceiling was vacuumed/dust. Huge crack in ceiling, felt as if a piece was going to fall on my head. Waterpark did not meet standards! Again, stayed at cheaper waterparks and had a better experience. The water outside was ice cold even though it was a nice, warm day. The water park inside was ok. Be aware of jets in lazy river, will kick you off your tube. Caution with small children! Not much activities to do, could find better at another place. Don't believe me, check out the pictures! Overall, this hotel needs a major makeover. If you want to stay at a dirty, rundown waterpark resort than this is the place for you! We checked out early.

Room Tip: Pick a different resort! Not worth the stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This is our first visit here and we would definitely come back! Our room was huge....had a king size bed with a beautiful parrot cover...a couch!!!! It also had a refrigerator and microwave. The tub and toilet were in a separate room, which allowed me the sink, mirror to use while my husband was in the shower!!! Only had 2 drawbacks....no internet service and only 4-5 tv channels worked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.