We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not stay here again” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would not stay here again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Did not even use water park, so cannot comment on that. Rooms outdated. Toilet had a ring around it like it hadn't been scrubbed in a long time. Just an old, outdated hotel. Felt like I had to clean everything that we brought into the room when I got home. :(

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    102
    70
    62
    89
See reviews for
217
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very good hotel. Fairly clean and many water rides geared to younger kids. Much less expensive thsn most other places in the dells and a good value. Overall an sbove aversge experience but not a top of the line waterpark or hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This hotel had wonderful staff and is a very easy location to access. The outside pool area had beautiful plants (that smelt wonderful) and music piping through the speakers to make it feel very resort like. The hotel also supplies the towels, which was a plus not to have to pack and dry constant wet towels The water slides were low key both inside and out, and therefore may be more fun for small children. We had two teenage girls who were just fine with getting wet and laying out. The inside waterpark had very limited hours, and when it rained on Saturday it would have been nice to have those slides and lazy river open. This was surprising considering it was summer and prime season that it wasn't open until 4pm. The inside pool, hot tub, sauna were open near the front lobby. Our room was a nice size and we had a pull out sofa that was separated by a half wall, which did offer some privacy. The in room refrigerator in was also a generous mini-fridge and the microwave had a silent key on it which made it nice for early risers to heat up something and not be "beeping"! Our room did, as my daughter said, smelled like guinea pigs. We opened the window when we checked in and it was eventually better. The shower needed to have one of those curved curtain holders, as it was very narrow, especially for my husband. The water was hot and there was good water pressure. We did try to get ice cream at the snack shop in the waterpark (which was store bought Kemps), but all flavors were freezer burn. The attendant said he told them over a week ago that it was bad but they didn't replace it.

Room Tip: We had room number 183, which was across from the indoor waterpark. Very convenient and we didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

For the price you pay, it is a decent place and we were satisfied with our stay. We stayed in a luxury suite which has a private room with a king size bed which was perfect to have our 3 year old sleep in for naps. Yes, the rooms are dated and need to be refurbished but we were still comfortable with the exception of the sofa bed. That definitely needs to be replaced as it was the most uncomfortable night of sleeping I've ever had. Loved that the rooms had a mini fridge and microwave. Liked how their were multiple indoor pool areas and while our daughter wasn't quite ready for the Waterworks indoor park, the other indoor pool area was perfect and she really enjoyed the baby/toddler pool. The weather was cool and rainy so we didn't get to enjoy the outdoor waterpark but from what we could see, there were a lot of cool slides and areas for younger kids and we would consider coming back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here because of the pools and water slides. So early in June, we knew that poor weather might limit us to the indoor pools but looked forward to using the outdoor hot tub shown on the website. We were right about the weather, but there wasn't an outdoor hot tub -- it's been repurposed as some kind of a massage spa and was closed up with a tarp. A couple areas of the water parks were barricaded off -- including the indoor area for children (within the Black Pearl) which we were told was not working right, and an outdoor slide that had equipment/parts sitting on the dry slide. Puddles of dirty standing water were in the first outdoor kiddie pool we passed, while some others indoors and out had visible dirt and apparent lack of maintenance (i.e.,peeling paint, areas of green or yellow substance that looked like it needed to be scrubbed off of pool edges or bottoms). One of the two hot tubs in the indoor water park featured cold water only--but no sign saying it was broken -- and that was the hot tub with the ADA-compatible chair lift. We didn't need to use the lift, but it would've been disappointing for someone who did! On the plus side, the water slides that did work were enjoyable, as was the lazy river and the indoor kiddie waterworks area (despite its vintage appearance).

We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite. It had a nice layout and kitchen, which I thought would help make up for what was lacking in the waterpark facilities...boy, was I WRONG! In the morning, a cockroach scuttled off the counter of the kitchenette. As if this wasn't disgusting enough, while packing to leave that morning, my daughter discovered another cockroach in the bottom of our granddaughter's pack and play crib! Eww! Horrifying! This was not a hotel crib, but one we brought with us -- and almost carried back home with a cockroach hitchhiker! Needless to say, we had to shake out all our clothes and luggage, and are following suggested guidelines to eradicate any "hitchhikers" we may have missed or eggs laid on our belongings (hopefully none!).

We informed the front desk manager, showed her a digital photo of the cockroach in the baby's crib, and gave her the dead cockroach in a ziplock bag. She was surprised, said they don't get cockroaches there, and called someone else over who told us the room had just been cleaned from an occupancy the previous night. The front desk manager said they would investigate, and that IF THE ROOM WASN'T being OCCUPIED that night (Beware!) they'd have someone go during the night to check for cockroaches! She said she'd talk with her GM about comping some of the room price, and they'd definitely be in touch with me.

At this point, however, I'm out the full price for the room, no one in management has yet even apologized, and I don't know for sure yet if any cockroaches or cockroach eggs hitchhiked home with us!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My kids and I stayed overnight at the Polynesian over Memorial Day weekend. Got a cheap rate, didn't require a 2 night stay and the water park seemed more manageable for one parent supervising two kids.

Several items turned me off:

Pools: water was cold and indoor areas did not seem to be heated. There were lifeguards around, but with the exception of the lazy river and slides, they were not very engaged. This water park is definitely geared to families with younger kids. My oldest is 9 and was kind of bored.

Rooms: in need of update and carpets seemed like they had not been attended to in years.

Outdoor music: it was a rainy cold weekend, yet the outdoor water areas were still staffed. one annoying part of this was that there was music playing in these areas until 10:00 at night- when no one was out there. Our room faced the outdoor water area and we found this to be disruptive.

Room service: one word. Terrible. We ordered a pizza from the in-house bar/restaurant. Staff told me it would be 15-20 minutes. 45 MINUTES LATER: no pizza. I called again to find out that the staff person had not asked for our room number, so they were waiting for me to call back. Very poor service.

Would not be surprised if this place shuts down in the next few years. It definitely cannot compete with the bigger resorts int he area.

Room Tip: Do not choose one that faces the outdoor water park area if you want to sleep (or want to put kids t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My family stayed here and was pleased with this hotel. Yes, it's older, but still a good value. The water parks are for younger children. We could no use the outside water parks due to weather. The staff was very friendly. Overall, a very good experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 230
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.