We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Water was warm on Saturday - not Friday or Sunday” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Palos Heights
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Water was warm on Saturday - not Friday or Sunday”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Our family stayed here for 2 nights in February. One thing that we really appreciated was that the water park was not crowded at all compared to the a park we stayed in the night before arriving. We could see our children playing in the water and enjoy time with other family members. Our rooms were clean, but clearly dated and showing some wear.

The water park is small, but there is a lot of variety in the space. The water temperature is what causes me to give the poor rating of the property. When we arrived on Friday the kid area was very cold and the hot tubs were the temp that the kids area should have been. On Saturday they turned on the heaters and the pools were a very comfortable temperature. On Sunday they again left the heaters off and the pool was cold and the hot tubs were at body temperature.

A signficant draw for us was that the hotel was half the price of the larger resorts. After staying at a larger place, I'll probably plan any future trips to the Dells to be midweek so I can stay at a larger place for half of the price.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that overlook the water park on the 2nd floor - those rooms would be very conve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    112
    73
    71
    98
See reviews for
246
29
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night in February with my husband and our three year old son, and we chose it because it was rated highly for kids of his age.

The hotel was decent enough, rooms are a little aged, but that wasn't a big surprise. The letdown in the room was the whirlpool tub - the drain didn't seal properly, so after twenty minutes of soaking, the tub had drained down and had to be refilled. Also, the pipes were TREMENDOUSLY loud, as were the jets.

The waterpark was okay - the biggest complaint I have is that the area for the kids in the main waterpark area was FREEZING. Seriously, that water was SO COLD. The water temperature in the "Aloha Pavilion" was great, the temp in the pool with the slides and the lazy river deal was great, but the area with the kids' stuff was just miserably cold.

All the staff were friendly and wonderful, and we'd stay here again if we found ourselves in the Dells, but I'm not sure we'd make a special trip just for this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here hoping to avoid the more popular resorts since we had a five-year-old. When we arrived, there was a sign on the door that parts of the waterpark were closed. Of course, it was one of the parts for the younger kids. We went back in to inquiry, and they have us tickets to a newer waterpark. The rooms were outdated, but fairly clean. They were a nice size and has a balcony. There was lots to due regardless; however, there were parts that didn't open at their designated times. The hot tubs were not really hot and all drained one day of our stay. The day we checked out we went to A newer waterpark, Atlantis, and it was much newer and nicer. This hotel is okay for price, but probably better for younger kids rather than older ones, which worked for us. Probably won't stay here again, but was okay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We recently stayed here the end of December 2012 and had a blast. The rooms are definaetly dated and run down, but they were clean. The staff was very nice and laid back. The Indoor Waterpark was awesome and we had children with us ranging from 1.5 to 12 years old and they all had a great time; there was something for all of them to do. There was a shallow area for our 1.5 year old and even though the water was a little bit cold, she didn't seem to mind. The lazy river provided hours of entertainment for the 6-12 years olds and they loved the 2 water slides too. It was on too busy and never had to wait long to go down the slides. Overall it was great and we will for sure return. Great price compared to the other larger indoor water parks.
We paid $125 (tax included) for a 2 Queen w/ a sleeper sofa. Can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the indoor water park!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3rd Chaise to the Left
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've always viewed the Polynesian as under-appreciated in the Dells. It's not nearly as fancy -- or expensive -- as the bigger, newer properties, but delivers a solid value for your dollar. I have stayed there twice in the past week and noticed several positive changes since I stayed there last spring.
First -- the nice soaps and shampoos are back in the rooms. Minor change, but positive.
The dumpy little bar in the back of the waterpark has been remodeled into a nice little bar / snack bar.
Within the last couple weeks, a new sports bar has opened on the second floor. It's a work in progress yet.
The room decor is still dated - at least the rooms I stayed in -- but how much do you spend in the room?
They have done some painting and patching in the indoor waterpark area.
After years of inattention, it appears the new management is committed to the property.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are in the back section by the waterpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Arrived for two nights, Dec. 29 - 31, 2012. Our group numbered about 24 and we booked five rooms - most w/the pull-out sofa option. The friendly, hospitable staff was stellar - from the woman who helped me w/our multi-room reservations prior to arrival, to the front desk clerks, to the snack bar employee, to the sports bar bartender! We couldn't say enough about the warm, attentive employees. Lobby is well appointed. Check in was smooth and all was ready by 2pm. The place did not at all feel crowded, though we noticed a full parking lot. Pools are great. Our kids loved the water slides, lazy river, and my absolute favorite - hot tubs that were actually HOT. I was impressed. Honestly, can't believe some of the poor reviews I've read about this place. Some people!

The room decor is dated - I'll give you that - however, we're not there to be impressed by modern interior design. Our space was functional, comfortable and clean. Everything was in working order. No complaints.

I highly recommend this resort for it's location, amenities, fantastic staff, and above all VALUE. We got great weekend rates (around $125 per night w/tax - over Christmas break). Compared to other indoor waterparks in the Dells, this was about a third of what we would have paid to stay at the always over crowded and usually underwhelming Wilderness, Kalahari, etc.

We'll definitely return, likely in summer, as this place far exceeded our expectations. Thanks to the hotel staff for making our stay enjoyable!

Room Tip: They put all of us together on the 3rd floor near the water park. Convenient!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The front desk staff and housekeeping staff were very friendly. The rooms are not very modern but were clean. We had a nice patio outside of our room on the first floor. The only downfall was the kiddie pool was freezing! The adult pool was nice and warm though.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poly123, Manager at Polynesian Resort Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your review of the Polynesian. We appreciate your kind words about our friendly front desk and housekeeping staff. They work hard to overcome the age of the hotel through friendliness, great service and cleanliness. We have noted your comment about the temperature of the kiddie pool and have forwarded to our staff for corrective action to be taken. We look forward to having you return to our hotel on your next visit to the area..

Thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.