We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polynesian Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Polynesian Resort Hotel to your Saves list
Polynesian Resort Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good for the kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Polynesian has some good things going for it, and yet has obviously suffered because of the economy and possibly mismanagement. On the up side, this is a small waterpark resort, and your room is close to the pool. You can even use your room bathroom instead of the public restroom located in the pool area. The pool area has great areas for young children, a lazy river and a couple of waterslides that are pretty tame. It wasn't crowded, and there is a tiki bar with kind of expensive drinks. We were able to bring in our own cups and snacks into the pool area. They were very relaxed about this. They just didn't want any alcohol brought in. Who says you can't drink beer out of a coffee cup? Our room was clean and the air conditioning was ice cold. We had a fridge so we could bring our own food and drinks. The noise from the hallway was pretty minimal even being by the door and ice machine. Check in was a breeze, and staff were all very friendly. They quickly provided us with extra linens when requested.

On the downside, there are some maintenance issues and cleanliness issues outside. The cave hot tub outside is closed and is apparently available for rent during a massage, according to the sign. They serve food, but don't expect anything fancy--it's convenient at most. Also, if you don't like classic rock, you're out of luck. They played it in the pool area until 9pm each night. I like it, but could get very sick of it quickly.

This is a nice place to go for a chill little vacation with your kids if you can overlook its' flaws. It's definitely convenient and relaxed, which is just my style. The kids loved it, and that's really all that matters.

Room Tip: Ground level poolside room is the most convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    103
    70
    64
    91
See reviews for
221
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Beloit, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were in town for a basketball tournament and didn't want to spend a ton of money at one of the bigger waterpark resorts because we didn't know how much time we would have to enjoy it. We thought the Polynesian was a good option.......price was great and still had the waterpark features. BIG MISTAKE!!! This hotel is a dump! Our room was extremely damp and smelled like mold and mildew. The bathroom had a ton of mold on the ceiling. The carpet was disgusting. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the springs soundend like they were going to break when you sat on the beds. We had a 1st floor room and the window had no lock on it.......Big Safety Concern! The hotel staff was very unfriendly and not very helpful. The pool areas both in and out were dirty.....the water was somewhat cloudy and there were leaves all over the bottom. Overall, this place is extremely run down and in need of desperate repairs and upgrades. I wish I would have listened to all the negative reviews because I definately would have changed my reservation to a different hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We stayed at here as part of a Bluegreen promotion. I really enjoyed the time spent here. The room was clean and big enough to put a double air mattress in the room without being crowded. There were 2 queens but we had 2 adult children with us so needed the extra bed. There was a refrigerator, microwave, and coffee maker. As a woman I liked the extra sink and mirror outside of the bathroom so that I could put makeup on without waiting or having steam from the last shower. There was a sink in the bathroom also. The beds were comfortable and we always bring our own pillows if we’re driving so couldn’t comment on that. There was never a noise problem although it was crowded that weekend.
The only drawback is that we were not in the main building where there is an elevator but were in an annex building on the second floor without an elevator. This wouldn’t have been a problem if my husband had not just has a leg problem that made climbing stairs very painful. Lack of this knowledge was not the fault of the hotel because if we had made reservations with them directly they said they would have told us. Because the arrangement was through Bluegreen we never got the information. We survived!
What was especially nice about this hotel was the water area. We had tickets with the promotion to Mt Olympus which was OK but very crowded. On our check out day we spent the afternoon at the hotel water area. We are in our 60s so the lazy river and sitting around the pool are our style. None of these were overrun with people. I and my adult kids did the water slides which were fun but never had a long wait to use them. I think for a group who either have young kids or are all adults this water park was great and relaxing. There are some cute little slides for the young kids and I saw a lifeguard in that area. We ordered a pizza from the little food area there and got a special which made it reasonable and good. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Make sure if you can't climb stairs to get a room in the main building. No elevator in the anne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights recently and have a mixed review. Pros: Reservations staff was friendly and courteous; outdoor pools were nice; option to have room service or food brought to your outdoor table is convenient; our room was clean and very spacious. Cons: When we passed staff in the hall, no one made eye contact or greeted us; the outdoor tiki bartender didn't know what Bosco Sticks were and couldn't order them for me even though there was advertising for them all over the bar; the indoor tiki bartender didn't know how to make a mai tai.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are convenient, but the outdoor music doesn't turn off until after 9:00 or so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The hotel wasn't what i thought when I got there but when explored and once I saw what they had to offer i realized I was gonna have a good time! I thought the price was reasonable. The sevice was great and the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
REGINA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Stayed here las week. Would stongly recommend against it. Hotel is run down badly and is badly in need of an overhaul. Room were not clean and smelled of urine. Service was very poor. We cut our stay short.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Would we stay here again? No we wouldn’t. We stayed for 2 nights, the beds were rock hard and so were the pillows-in fact we almost left after the first night! The rooms are beyond old and worn down. Our shower/tub still had “hair” from another person in it! Everything about the room was old and outdated. NO INTERNET!! The outdoor water park water was cloudy and dirty, made us wonder what they were trying to hide! The equipment for the water park was worn out and some not even working at all. The bathroom in the indoor water park had human feces all over the walls and floor. I told the lifeguard about this (he hardly spoke English), he said he cannot do anything about it!
I would rather pay more money to stay at one of the nicer/newer hotels that are updated, clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Polynesian Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polynesian Resort Hotel

Address: 857 N. Frontage Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Polynesian Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Polynesian offers a variety of room styles to choose from - King rooms, Queen Rooms, Two Bedroom Suites, & Luxury Suites - one is sure to accommodate your family's stay in Wisconsin Dells. IMPORTANT INFORMATION: The resort is undergoing improvements during 2015 and select areas will be restricted due to these improvements. We make every effort to offer alternatives but will occasionally be unable to do so. Thank you for your understanding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Polynesian Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polynesian Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Polynesian Resort Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polynesian Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.