We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1570 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quite Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family and a friend's family stayed at the Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites this past week. When we walked into our room, we were hit with a horrible smell. We figured out that it was coming from the bathroom. Our toilet had urine all over the outside of the bowl and skid marks inside the toilet. The stench was so strong even after cleaning the toilet ourselves, we figured that the smell must have been ingrained in the tile and grout floor of the bathroom. My husband went to the cleaning crew and got a full bottle of cleaner and used the whole thing to clean all areas of the bathroom. We opened the window and left for awhile, all to come back to the same horrible smell. My husband went back to the cleaning crew and got a large cup of straight bleach and soaked the tile floor and everything in the bathroom with the bleach. We left again and came back to a room that no longer made us sick to our stomaches. Never did the cleaning crew offer to clean it themselves and were happy to allow my husband to do the dirty work.

Our friends checked out our room and said ours was so much better than their room, which was hard to believe. They actually had poop floating in their toilet. Early the next morning I asked the woman at the front desk for other room options and she offered to have the cleaning crew go in and clean the bathroom really well but at that point the bathroom was as clean as it was going to get. She offered a room change but I was worried we would only end up with something worse. The woman at the front desk acted very put off and annoyed with me so I left it at that.

The hotel is very outdated and has tacky decor but I understand that extensive resources go into updating a hotel and that may not be an option at this point. BUT, at the very least, pillows and bed linens could be updated. The pillows were as flat as I've ever seen and the blankets had cigarette burns in them. I imagine they've been around for many, many years. I woke up in the middle of the first night in a panic because I hadn't checked for bed bugs which I rarely do but really felt that this would be the place to have a bed bug problem.

It is nice that the breakfast is included however it is extremely weird. The breakfast is located in the hot and humid splash pad/pool area. Plates and plastic ware are on one side of the pool and then the food is way on the other side of the pool with seating on the opposite end of the splash pad. It seemed bizarre to eat a meal in the pool area and not to have a separate place devoted to breakfast.

The positive features of the hotel are the on-site splash pad and other swim areas - they were perfect for our 4 and 5 year old kids. Also the two large water park passes that are included in the room fee are a very good perk.

Our vacation ended up being very good because we were in our room as little as possible and were able to make fun of how spoiled we and our friends must be to have so much disappointment in our accommodations. We could not help but feel depressed and grossed out every time we had to head back to our room for anything though. We would never stay there again. Spend a little extra money so that you are able to sleep well and enjoy a little R&R in your room in between activities.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Sorry you had issues with your stay. It sounds as if you did like the hotel. Happy to see the positive in the review also. In the future please call the desk and we can take care of any and all problems. Thank you for taking the time to fill out a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    91
    81
    42
    49
See reviews for
207
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My family and I stay here at least once a year and can never understand the complaints of some of the other guest , we usually stay in one of the Mermaid suites which is perfect for my family of three not only do the roms have fridges and micrwaves they also have a jacuzzi,the best time to stay here is in the summer the hotel is located right next to the bigger waterparks in the areaand resturants so that unless you like driving instead of walking you don't have too,our rooms have always been clean and the staff is so helpful and friendly we recomend this place to everyone we know

Room Tip: room service comes and goes early so be prepared also try their breakfast all you can eat waffles ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
We couldnt agree more! It is guests like you that make this job rewarding. We love the positive feed back. Who wouldnt? Thank you for choosing us again and again. Travel on! See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

This hotel is wonderful, the room is very comfortable and the beds are super relaxing. The breakfast was great, the staff is customer friendly and the pool area is family orientated. I will be going back there soon... i love it!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you so much. Your kind review is our favorite kind of review. I will pass along the good revuew to our staff. They deserve the credit. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This hotel is right in the middle of the attractions. You can easily get in and out of the property to go to any of the other resorts or businesses. There are two different swimming areas which makes it great to come back to relax to and not have to stand for 15-30 min in line to go down a huge slide, or fight the crowds and parking.
Staff are very friendly and helpful from the front desk to the daily cleaners, offering to help and give directions. Price of the stay is very reasonable and comes with free passes to Noah's Ark.
Great place to just sit and relax and get away from the bustle of people during resort season.

Room Tip: Pay the extra to get a spa tub or double bed occupancy. Also love the back of the hotel away from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Well thank you. You nailed us. We are happy when our guest is happy. Thank you for the kind words it is always appreciated when a happy guest takes time out of their busy day to let us know they liked us. We shall see you in the future, hopefully sooner than later.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

This hotel was old, outdated and the pool/water-park areas are a bust. There were no 40 foot slides, and we were sent to 2 different water-parks with free passes. One was closed and the other was a 20 minute drive from the Atlantis. It was at a resort and water-park, it was over packed and so many people from the Atlantis and the resort people. Will definitely not be staying here again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you. Yes Noah's Ark is a very busy waterpark. It is America's largest waterpark. We love the fact that our waterparks here are geared to 11 and under. Thank you for the comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This hotel was great for what we paid; however the entire property is old and outdated. The unlimited waffle breakfast was a waste of time. Old bedding, towels, dirty bathroom walls. The owner should invest some time and money into this property that has potential to be great.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you. The new beds and furniture along with roof were improvements made this year. Along with flat screen televisions. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volo, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family tried The Atlantis Hotel for the first(and ONLY) time this weekend. We planned a nice trip to the Dells for our oldest son's fourth birthday....and ended up having the worst time. We booked the Volcano Fantasy Suite, which looked great in the pictures shown on the hotel website. When we got into the room, it was apparent that they have not done any updating to the room since the hotel's opening in 1992. The carpet was disgusting & had giant stains, the table in the room shows the 20+ years of customers who have sat down there, the grout in between the bathroom tiles was breaking apart, the wet bar has a giant crack down the middle of the counter, and some of the decor in the room was definitely from the dollar store! We were charged $345/night for the room, which is BEYOND ridiculous.

The first night we stayed was a Saturday and the nightclub(Club WETT) two parking lots over kept us up ALL night! The music was so loud the walls of our hotel room were shaking, and woke our children up...keeping them up until 3am. Any parent knows just how precious your little one's sleep can be, especially when you need energy for all the water park activities.

Tired and frustrated the next morning, the hotel front desk staff was of NO help...in fact they were RUDE.They refused to get management involved, or to offer us a solution to the problem. The girl at the front desk and my husband exchanged some vulgar words because we were certainly not going to pay another $345 for a night in this hotel. While my husband was talking to the girl at the front desk, another employee of the hotel opened the door to our room and immediately apologized for having entered it & shut the door in a hurry. I opened the door and insisted on knowing why she was trying to enter our room, which ended up being that she was trying to show potential guests our room! How could the hotel have made the mistake of thinking our room was empty? At the exact same time, the keys we had to our room stopped working.

After begging for something to be done we were refunded for one night of our stay & transferred to another room on a more quiet side of the hotel. The difference between the new room and the fantasy suite were night and day! The room was clean, updated and faced the Noah's Ark Waterpark. Strange how you can update a room you don't charge as much for...

We thought our troubles were over, but we were wrong...

The next morning when we went to our car to start packing it up and check out, we noticed a huge door ding on the passenger side of our car. (I know this is not the Hotel's fault, but the fault of an ignorant hotel guest) As we had been waiting all weekend to talk to a manager, I approached the front desk to speak to them about cameras in the parking lot and our horrendous stay. The woman manager was beyond ignorant and was very dismissive of everything right from the start. She said we could file a claim with our car insurance, and that since we were refunded for one night she was not going to do anything else for us. We had to have the police get involved and ended up leaving the hotel extremely upset!

I guess this is how this hotel wants to represent itself, and unless everything is made right the owner Mr. Bruce will be hearing from us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate each and every feedback response from customers. It truly does make us a better property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#16 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 227 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Address: 1570 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel is located on the main strip walking distance to Noah's Ark and Mt. Olympus water and theme park. Indoor and outdoor waterparks on site geared toward kids 11 and under. Pools open late. Weekend hot waffle bar September through May $5.00 adults and $2.50 children all you can eat. Free Chula Vista waterpark passes every day of your stay and check out. Free casino shuttle service. Huge ticket redemption gameroom. Indoor Whirlpool and Sauna. Free Wifi. Newer beds with flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Waterpark Wisconsin Dells
Atlantis Hotel
Hotel Atlantis Waterpark
Atlantis Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.