We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The WORST hotel the Wisconsin Dells has to offer!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1570 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Volo, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The WORST hotel the Wisconsin Dells has to offer!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Our family tried The Atlantis Hotel for the first(and ONLY) time this weekend. We planned a nice trip to the Dells for our oldest son's fourth birthday....and ended up having the worst time. We booked the Volcano Fantasy Suite, which looked great in the pictures shown on the hotel website. When we got into the room, it was apparent that they have not done any updating to the room since the hotel's opening in 1992. The carpet was disgusting & had giant stains, the table in the room shows the 20+ years of customers who have sat down there, the grout in between the bathroom tiles was breaking apart, the wet bar has a giant crack down the middle of the counter, and some of the decor in the room was definitely from the dollar store! We were charged $345/night for the room, which is BEYOND ridiculous.

The first night we stayed was a Saturday and the nightclub(Club WETT) two parking lots over kept us up ALL night! The music was so loud the walls of our hotel room were shaking, and woke our children up...keeping them up until 3am. Any parent knows just how precious your little one's sleep can be, especially when you need energy for all the water park activities.

Tired and frustrated the next morning, the hotel front desk staff was of NO help...in fact they were RUDE.They refused to get management involved, or to offer us a solution to the problem. The girl at the front desk and my husband exchanged some vulgar words because we were certainly not going to pay another $345 for a night in this hotel. While my husband was talking to the girl at the front desk, another employee of the hotel opened the door to our room and immediately apologized for having entered it & shut the door in a hurry. I opened the door and insisted on knowing why she was trying to enter our room, which ended up being that she was trying to show potential guests our room! How could the hotel have made the mistake of thinking our room was empty? At the exact same time, the keys we had to our room stopped working.

After begging for something to be done we were refunded for one night of our stay & transferred to another room on a more quiet side of the hotel. The difference between the new room and the fantasy suite were night and day! The room was clean, updated and faced the Noah's Ark Waterpark. Strange how you can update a room you don't charge as much for...

We thought our troubles were over, but we were wrong...

The next morning when we went to our car to start packing it up and check out, we noticed a huge door ding on the passenger side of our car. (I know this is not the Hotel's fault, but the fault of an ignorant hotel guest) As we had been waiting all weekend to talk to a manager, I approached the front desk to speak to them about cameras in the parking lot and our horrendous stay. The woman manager was beyond ignorant and was very dismissive of everything right from the start. She said we could file a claim with our car insurance, and that since we were refunded for one night she was not going to do anything else for us. We had to have the police get involved and ended up leaving the hotel extremely upset!

I guess this is how this hotel wants to represent itself, and unless everything is made right the owner Mr. Bruce will be hearing from us!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate each and every feedback response from customers. It truly does make us a better property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    91
    80
    42
    49
See reviews for
207
36
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband & I decided to take a short trip with three of our grandchildren. We had a great time! My granddaughter and I were the ones that enjoyed the waterpark. The hotel was very close to where the children wanted to go for dinner(Pizza Pub). The room was very clean and comfortabe. The staff was very nice. I would recommend this hotel to families, for sure. I hope to go back some time this summer.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and the hotel does have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you. Our guests love Pizza Pub for the exact reason you said it is walking distance. I love their gigantic salad bar for the record. Thank you for your kind review. We cannot wait to see you this summer. Thank you kind traveler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brownsville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband & I have a 3 year old; my brother & wife have a 7,4, and 2 year old. We like to travel together. . .and chose Atlantis (a Neptune suite) from a Groupon deal. We were very happy with our experience. We knew exactly what we were getting. . .a small water park for younger kids. And it was perfect. The staff was helpful, everyone was friendly. The hotel was clean, and the suite was nice and comfortable for 4 adults and 4 kids. This is the perfect place for families with younger children, and a great value to boot. In reading other reviews--either people do not research what they are purchasing, or have nothing better to do than complain about than the décor. For what we wanted to do (allow the kids to swim and play) we could not have asked for more. We'd definitely go back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Amy you and I could travel together. You know value when you see it and did your homework. We do offer value. Free breakfast Free Noah's Ark Free Chula Vista. Thank you for the kind comments and we are so glad you choose us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Stayed here recently w/a group of friends in one of the "suites", they weren't that sweet. Main room w/king bed has heavy traffic, why would anyone enjoy a jacuzzi tub in there? King bed was very firm. All lights in main room controlled by switch. Couldn't have some on/off, just all or none. Housekeeping did a good job and staff was courteous. One car show began in town, parking became an issue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Well hello. That was the Neptune Suite. The whirlpool is in the main room for mom and dad and the kids sleep in the back room. If you are with couples try the king with whirlool room next time which is geared toward 2 people only..... for privacy.
Glad to hear help was friendly and courteous. Thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

My family and I stayed the weekend in the Dell's. I got a great deal on the Neptune suite in the Atlantis hotel. The room was descent. It was spacious and had a safe, microwave, fridge and patio. Those were all plus's but the furniture was a little out dated. I also didn't like the way the hotel areas were broken up. You had to switch floors to get from one end of the hotel to the other. The game room was nice but the pool was kinda gross. The kids pool needs the bottom to be resurfaced. I can't complain for the price but they definitely need to upgrade a few things.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Well ask and you will recieve I heard once. Bam we replaced the furniture and took care of the kiddie pool. Thank you for choosing us. Love the feedback and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazomanie, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was a pleasure trip. My mom, and 6 of her daughters spent 4 nights and 5 days at the Dells. If you decide to stay here, you will be treated with the utmost respect and the accomodations were spacious. The big room we stayed in was like an island, complete with a hugh hot tub. Lots of breathing room. Make sure to spend time at the pool and no you are not to old to shoot a few hoops. It was centrally located and not far from the Tanger Mall. Relax and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Ask for the big rooms...sleeps 8 with the fold out couch. Mini kitchen with nice size counter, micro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Love this family. We have noticed your basketball game has improved. Thank you for choosing us. We appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I can not say enough goods things about my stay. For 37 years my mom and my 6 sisters have gone some where for a weekend get away. For the last 2 years we have stayed at The Atlantis. We have so much space, which we could never find anywhere else. The waffle breakfast is great, we did not have to leave the hotel. This is now great as our mother is 92. We lost our dad 1 1/2 years ago. Mom just loves this place. Her and all her daughters together in 1 room. Thank you Atlantis for helping to keep our special time together alive.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaymie B, General Manager at Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thank you so much! Families like yours make our jobs better! Your family is alot of fun and it is is great having you every year. Thanks and see you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites

Address: 1570 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel is located on the main strip walking distance to Noah's Ark and Mt. Olympus water and theme park. Indoor and outdoor waterparks on site geared toward kids 11 and under. Pools open late. Weekend hot waffle bar September through May $5.00 adults and $2.50 children all you can eat. Free Chula Vista waterpark passes every day of your stay and check out. Free casino shuttle service. Huge ticket redemption gameroom. Indoor Whirlpool and Sauna. Free Wifi. Newer beds with flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Waterpark Wisconsin Dells
Atlantis Hotel
Hotel Atlantis Waterpark
Atlantis Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.