We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Day's End Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Day's End Motel to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Day's End Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   North 604 Highway 12 & 16, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$50 (USD)
Ranked #4 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Morton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

Even though this is a 1950s-era mom and pop motel, it has been kept up very well. The carpet in my room looked new. Some of the rooms are only open seasonally, so I received a free upgrade.

Don't try to follow Google Maps' directions, or you'll never find this place. Instead of turning right at the Walgreens, turn LEFT and go about 3 1/2 miles.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We are pleased that our guests enjoyed their stay. We try to keep our rooms update and always sparkling clean. We hope to see this guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    43
    10
    1
    5
See reviews for
77
49
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our second anniversary. It was a pleasant experience from beginning to end. I had called to make a reservation because we wanted to be assured that we would be welcome with our two small dogs. It also was important to us to have a nice room with a decent amount of space and a jacuzzi tub. Right off the bat, the owner suggested their honeymoon suite and was very clear about the expectations and made the booking process incredibly easy!

When we arrived, the check in process went very smoothly as well and when we saw our room, it was more than we even expected for a motel room! There was a living space with a couch, two chairs, a flat screen tv and a table with 4 chairs and LOTS of space! There was also a sink, micro and fridge and then the bedroom was a separate room with a door, a decent sized closet, another flat screen tv and lots of space in there as well. and then in the bathroom there was a powder room with two sinks and then in a separate room was the shower/jacuzzi tub and toilet. We absolutely loved the setup and we also appreciated the special touches they added, knowing that it was our anniversary--chocolates in our room with a note and bath salts with a note near the tub!

The staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay and honestly for what we paid, we got so much more than we expected! No complaints here, other than the old fashioned coffee maker, but really, it didn't matter as coffee was available down the street, less than 5 minutes away! We intend on visiting the Dells area again in the future and this is where we will be staying next time as well!

Room Tip: Be sure to get the Deluxe rooms if you need more space--definitley worth the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We are pleased that these honeymooners enjoyed their stay and we look forward to seeing them again in future. Personal touches are our delight and specialty and we were glad to have them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, WI
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

My sister's vehicle got a semi-flat tire from a nail she picked up on the highway the day before. We had reserved 2 rooms & had my 93 yr. old mother along with us. The manager brought us an air compressor to pump up the tire, offered to call AAA, offered to let us stay in the room longer than checkout time, if need be, without charging us for another night, etc. Very accomodating. Rooms are kinda quaint, but clean. Would definately stay there again. The excellent manager and his wife go out of their way to meet your needs. It's a great place for families or couples like my husband & I.

Room Tip: Make a reservation ahead of time. Fully booked when we stayed there & it was off season for WI...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We are pleased this guest liked our property. We strive to provide clean, comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

The beds are hard as a rock. I asked to get a bed pillow or foam to soften bed. I was told they didn't have any. We stayed with our small children and found out after checking in that the hotel is next door to a strip club. Not what a call a family-friendly environment.

Room Tip: Stay at a resort. You can't go wrong that way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
We are sorry that this guest had a less than perfect stay. We strive to maintain clean, comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnham il
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is a nice hotel..you can't beat it for the price...SO clean..big pool..big room...flat screen tv..COLD air...good water pressure in the shower..relaxing grounds....friendly staff
If you want a nice clean room with a nice pool...perfect place to stay

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are very happy that the guests had an enjoyable time. We always strive to maintain a clean, fun place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

Let me start by saying that after I arrived in Wisconsin Dells it took me 1 1/2 hours to find the motel - this is not an exaggeration. I was driving all over the place, stopped three times for directions but nobody could help. Nobody knew where it was. In the 3 months I was in the U.S., this motel took the longest to find by far!

In the end I found it, but it is 10 minutes outside the main town of Wisconsin Dells.

Once I arrived, I noticed the bathroom window was missing a curtain, but that was all that was wrong. The room was very clean, basic and comfortable, staff were great - it is a nice 'country' motel and they do take pride in the overall appearance place.

As long as you can find the motel it is a nice place to stay (I stayed for two days), and easy drive back into Wisconsin Dells proper. Unlike me, try to arrive in daylight - will be a lot easier!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We're glad that the guest enjoyed his stay with us! We like to accomodate our guests in any way we can.

I'm sorry that it was difficult to find our place. I would like to point out that because of our odd address, GPS's do have a hard time pin-pointing our location. If the guest had called (608-254-8171), we could have given directions and helped the guest find us much sooner. Our apologies.

We hope to serve this guest again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2011

I have stayed here before over the years and this place is ALWAYS spotless. After reading some reviews of other area motels it seems some other places just don't get it when it comes to basic housekeeping. Some of them were major national chain hotels. The owners of this motel are very nice people and they really do take pride in their motel. Every inch of it. This place is away from the"action". It's about 5 minutes AWAY from all the people and the traffic. It's easy to get to and easy to leave. The owners make updates when needed. New tv's, new carpet, etc, etc. There are ALOT of places to pick from in the area. But for the room rates, location and how clean they keep the rooms and the grounds I really don't think you can do any better.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel S, Manager at Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, responded to this review, October 9, 2011
We are pleased that this guest enjoyed our property. We pride ourselves on our clean and comfortable rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Day's End Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Day's End Motel

Address: North 604 Highway 12 & 16, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Day's End Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FREE wi-fi. All rooms non-smoking, and ground floor. Short drive to Wisconsin Dells. I-94 exit 85, then West on WI 12/16. Seasonal outdoor heated pool. Gas and diesel nearby. Restaurants nearby. Putt-putt golf course and outdoor playground, ideal for families and reunions. FREE parking. Snowmobile trail access next door. Quiet, rural location. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Day's End Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Americas Best Value Day`s End Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Days End Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Day's End Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.