We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Christmas” 2 of 5 stars
Review of BlueGreen Odyssey Dells

Save Saved
You added BlueGreen Odyssey Dells to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BlueGreen Odyssey Dells
1701 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Christmas”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in the Bluegreen part of the Hotel. For a supposedly new addition the Bluegreen rooms need serious upgrades, but when you start with cheap things it does not take long for them to become real junk. Couches/sleepers are garbage, I felt sorry for my son having to sleep on it. The doors to the patios do not close properly and could use some weatherstripping, we had 3 rooms with family and they were all the same. They say no smoking on the patio but someone had left and ashtray with butts in it and there are butts on the ground below all the patios. The carpets are dirty and could use replacing since I am sure they are not worth cleaning. The kitchenettes are what they are. There is no real oven and the microwave is a dual convection oven but no instructions on how to work it. The indoor waterpark facility is a very long walk from the hotel rooms. It was very busy and I do not know what the capacity is for the waterpark but it is no where near big enough for all the hotel guests and now I guess all the guests of the new offsite hotels the Hotel Rome owns. The place had a very small pool, two 20 people hot tubs(water is lukewarm) that I would not even call a hot tub. Unattended kids where swiming in them and spitting water, lovely! No lifeguards watching the big hot tub. A very small lazy river. The water is not what I would call very clean infact I could not really see the bottom of the very small swimming pool there where so many people in it. They used to have a nice swimming pool and a real hot tub in the actual Hotel Rome part but they closed it? I did not understand that move, now everyone has to go to the pretty gross "indoor waterpark" that is no where near big enough for the size of this hotel and it's new off site property hotels that all get to use the park. There are much better places to spend your money.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    19
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
29
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed for 4 days in July of 2012. Check in was fast, no problem. The unit was a little smaller than the other Bluegreen properties and I really wish the rooms had washer/dryers. Other than that, there is everything you need. They provide you with all the cooking utensils to make simple dinners and table settings for your family to have nice meals at the dinner table. We saved so much money cooking in the room and it wasn't such a far walk from the waterpark to make it inconvenient. The full size refrigerater was a plus to store all of our groceries. We loved coming in from the hot sun to enjoy our homemade frozen treats we could make in the unit for the next day etc. We had friends staying next door at Hotel Rome that would have preferred to stay at our property b/c of the bigger space and the "home like" amenities/feel. We also liked the fact that 4 wristbands for Mt. Olympus were included. You also have the option to purchase an extra for $20.
My kids (5, 10 and 12) loved Thevoutdoor waterpark and didn't even want to explore another one. The indoor waterpark and the indoor center (go-karts, crazy mouse, rock climbing and more) was also a plus. Overall, great place to visit, good central location, and you don't have to spend a lot if you don't want to. Everything on property can keep you busy your whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The complex this is located in is the same as one of the great waterparks, which is convenient if that is on your to-do list. Outside of this complex are a variety of other water parks and attractions - all incredibly close.

The unit we stayed in was clean and came with the amenities that most BlueGreen properties have, including a whirlpool, kitchenette, fireplace, etc.,

Customer Service was ideal at this location, and the concierge prepared for us some additional resources of things we may be enjoy doing in the area based on our interests.

This location is also incredibly close to BlueGreens other nearby site, Christmas Mountain Village.

Room Tip: If you're traveling to WI Dells for the waterparks, definitely stay in this location. If you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We are silver owners through BlueGreen and come every summer to stay at Odyssey Dells. The units are a little smaller than most other properties 2 bedroom units, but everything you need is provided here! The decor is very nice not outdated as other reviews state. This is a newer property. Beds are comfortable. Staff are GREAT and always happy to help. My only small complaint is that the unit did smell a little musty. Room was very clean upon arrival. Don't hesitate to book, you will love it!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After reading a few reviews on this property, I decided that I needed to chime in as my experience was completely different than the others. I am always amazed when I read reviews of properties that people have clearly gotten for much less than they would have paid for a moderately priced hotel but I guess they are expecting a 5 star hotel. This is not the Ritz and it does not claim to be. We stayed here on several occasions and did not experience any of the travesties that I am reading about -- I had to check to be sure I was still reading reviews for the same property. The rooms are nicely appointed and offer two bedrooms. Kitchens have what you need to cook a basic meal -- again, nobody is promising a gourmet kitchen. We have stayed on several occasions and never had a problem with room cleanliness nor bugs (and my wife and I are sticklers when it comes to clean hotel rooms). We found the beds comfortable, fitness room nice and well maintained, and the public areas (on the Bluegreen side of the property) to be immaculately well kept. Don't get me wrong -- I am not the biggest fan of Bluegreen and their constant attempts to sell you up (I avoid the concierge like the plague when I am at their properties), but overall I have been impressed with the properties. If you say NO to the constant attempts to market more points and don't answer your room phone during your vacation, I have found that my stays at these resorts to be quite pleasant.

This facility is connected to a waterpark (which is not run by Bluegreen) -- this would be my only complaint -- staff at the waterpark are unfriendly and really give visitors a bad impression of the Dells. Would it hurt to smile at guests and offer a friendly greeting? Waterpark is not well maintained and lifeguards do little to control unruly youngsters (other than look the other way). Wish that Bluegreen had their own waterpark, but understand that this would probably be difficult...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacy, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Odyssey Dells August 10-13, 2012. We actually enjoyed our accommodations but be warned we got the Blue Green "deal". I bought a $99 package at a car show I guess through Bass Pro shops. When I called to schedule I was offered an upgrade at Christmas Mountain to a 2 bedroom 2 bath townhouse with fireplace. I called the week before we left to confirm our reservations and found that we were booked into a cottage which from what I understand is a rustic cabin. After hours on the phone with Blue Green customer service they finally on Thursday found us a room at the Odyssey Dells. When we checked in at the visitor center there was another women there who they had also changed her reservations without notice. The clerk said rooms were based on availability. Not acceptable by any standards but especially not when they are trying to sell you their products and services. With that being said...

The room itself was very nice. Nice bedrooms with armoires for your clothes. Plenty of room for clothes for a week or so. They don't come and clean but we didn't need anything but towels and we went and found them. The second bedroom was a bit on the small side but the boys only slept in there any ways.

I was very glad for the mix-up on the rooms because this property is connected to Mount Olympus and 4 tickets to the park were included. Christmas Mountain is actually 6 miles away which would have made trips to the waterpark much more of a hassle. Our boys 12, 13, and 15 had a great time all though the water was a bit frigid. Please see my review of the park.

The kitchen was more than adequate we had eggs, ham and toast for breakfast and sandwiches and chips for lunch. One night I even made spaghetti for dinner. The kitchen is equipped with basically everything you need.

I would definitely return to this property but from what I understood you have to be a Blue Green member to stay at this resort and because of the poor customer service we opted to not purchase, I will say this; the 2 hour (actually 3) sales presentation was very low pressure and as we walked away my husband and I both agreed it was painless and worth the inexpensive vacation with the family. Be careful to call and confirm is all I would recommend.

Room Tip: Even numbers face the waterpark and odd numbers are quieter and face a cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

As you can see by my rating I have been around the world. I thought this was really a bad stay. First night, after unpacking our food and filling the fridge, the fridge decided it was a microwave and literately destroyed our food. Though maintenance came and replaced the fridge all the food had to be thrown out. The TV in the living room made a high pitch squeal when ever the DVD player was used and the slamming of doors made us feel right at home. On our last of 3 days my wife and I thought we'd use the hot tub in the room and when I turned it on it looked exactly like Ghost Busters 2 slime coming out of the faucet. We went the the owners orientation and showed them the photos of the rotten food and the slime of the hot tub and were told this is not normal (seriously?) they then tried to sell us a new package "deal", and I said if you bought a bad piece of meat from a butcher, would you want to buy the cow? They did tell us that the reason for the slime was because a line broke up the hill and when my wife asked, when we returned to the room, if it was ok to take a shower because of the broken water pipe the desk clerk said he knew nothing of a broken pipe. I started loading the car and a maintenance person passed and I heard on his radio "hey some dumb woman in room XXX says a main sewer pipe broke, what a fruit cake." "yeah, she's probably sniffing coke right now hahaha."
Will we ever come back? Why would I want a room with stained carpets, smoke smell and cigarette burns throughout? No way will I ever come back to that inhospitable worn out smelly place again.
BTW this is the first bad review I have ever written after 65 reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BlueGreen Odyssey Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueGreen Odyssey Dells

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your BlueGreen Odyssey Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueGreen Odyssey Dells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.