We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent accomodations but beware of Blue Green deals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BlueGreen Odyssey Dells

Save Saved
You added BlueGreen Odyssey Dells to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BlueGreen Odyssey Dells
1701 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Stacy, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Decent accomodations but beware of Blue Green deals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at Odyssey Dells August 10-13, 2012. We actually enjoyed our accommodations but be warned we got the Blue Green "deal". I bought a $99 package at a car show I guess through Bass Pro shops. When I called to schedule I was offered an upgrade at Christmas Mountain to a 2 bedroom 2 bath townhouse with fireplace. I called the week before we left to confirm our reservations and found that we were booked into a cottage which from what I understand is a rustic cabin. After hours on the phone with Blue Green customer service they finally on Thursday found us a room at the Odyssey Dells. When we checked in at the visitor center there was another women there who they had also changed her reservations without notice. The clerk said rooms were based on availability. Not acceptable by any standards but especially not when they are trying to sell you their products and services. With that being said...

The room itself was very nice. Nice bedrooms with armoires for your clothes. Plenty of room for clothes for a week or so. They don't come and clean but we didn't need anything but towels and we went and found them. The second bedroom was a bit on the small side but the boys only slept in there any ways.

I was very glad for the mix-up on the rooms because this property is connected to Mount Olympus and 4 tickets to the park were included. Christmas Mountain is actually 6 miles away which would have made trips to the waterpark much more of a hassle. Our boys 12, 13, and 15 had a great time all though the water was a bit frigid. Please see my review of the park.

The kitchen was more than adequate we had eggs, ham and toast for breakfast and sandwiches and chips for lunch. One night I even made spaghetti for dinner. The kitchen is equipped with basically everything you need.

I would definitely return to this property but from what I understood you have to be a Blue Green member to stay at this resort and because of the poor customer service we opted to not purchase, I will say this; the 2 hour (actually 3) sales presentation was very low pressure and as we walked away my husband and I both agreed it was painless and worth the inexpensive vacation with the family. Be careful to call and confirm is all I would recommend.

Room Tip: Even numbers face the waterpark and odd numbers are quieter and face a cliff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    20
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
31
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

As you can see by my rating I have been around the world. I thought this was really a bad stay. First night, after unpacking our food and filling the fridge, the fridge decided it was a microwave and literately destroyed our food. Though maintenance came and replaced the fridge all the food had to be thrown out. The TV in the living room made a high pitch squeal when ever the DVD player was used and the slamming of doors made us feel right at home. On our last of 3 days my wife and I thought we'd use the hot tub in the room and when I turned it on it looked exactly like Ghost Busters 2 slime coming out of the faucet. We went the the owners orientation and showed them the photos of the rotten food and the slime of the hot tub and were told this is not normal (seriously?) they then tried to sell us a new package "deal", and I said if you bought a bad piece of meat from a butcher, would you want to buy the cow? They did tell us that the reason for the slime was because a line broke up the hill and when my wife asked, when we returned to the room, if it was ok to take a shower because of the broken water pipe the desk clerk said he knew nothing of a broken pipe. I started loading the car and a maintenance person passed and I heard on his radio "hey some dumb woman in room XXX says a main sewer pipe broke, what a fruit cake." "yeah, she's probably sniffing coke right now hahaha."
Will we ever come back? Why would I want a room with stained carpets, smoke smell and cigarette burns throughout? No way will I ever come back to that inhospitable worn out smelly place again.
BTW this is the first bad review I have ever written after 65 reviews.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We stayed at the Bluegreen Odssey Dells for 4night/5days and were happy to leave. The units are very small and outdated. The colors are dark and the units are not inviting and relaxing as you would wxpect when you are on vacation. The kitchen area is extremely small and only has two burners and a convection oven/microwave, but everything in the kitchen worked well. We found our unit very dusty and the floors were dirty. The beds and the furniture were very uncomfortable. There were bugs in the unit and the odor was stale and musty (we cleaned it and had it smelling good during our stay). Having a pass to the theme water park was good and it gave us a chance to do some things outside of the unit. I was not impressed with the up-keep of the unit. I seems like a motel room as opposed to a resort. If elegance is what you want on a vacation, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierz, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just returned from Odyssey Dells, Wis Dells. after spending 4 nights/5 days. We reserved 2 2bdrms/1 bath units. My hubby and I and a daughter had one unit and my other three kids stayed in the other. It was heaven to them since they never get their own private bedrooms!!! Each had a kitchen and a nice big jacuzzi tub in each master bedroom. Layout was nice, but even though I understood why the second bedroom didn't have walls all the way to the ceiling(air flow), I didn't like it. If my daugther was watching tv in her room and I was watching in the living area, it was like a competition because neither of us could hear over each other's tv. Kind of annoying. The kitchen could use a few more things if you plan to make meals. We didn't have any bowl larger than a cereal bowl. Makes it kind of hard when mixing up pancake batter or anything else like that.
We spent a lot of time at Mt Olympus which is nice. We've been to the theme park before, but never had stayed at the resort until this trip. It was great to not have to use the main entrance to the theme park. Resort patrons enter through the indoor waterpark, so by the time the others enter the main gate, we were already sitting at tables and got our chairs. Nice perk!
I don't know the traffic reports, but I'm guessing there are a lot of fender benders or worse on that main drag by the resort. The traffic is awful.... crowded and fast. To make it across while walking or by vehicle is very scary.
We enjoyed our stay and have no major complaints. Our room was very pleasant and plenty of room. All 6 of us in one would have been cramped, but having 2 was perfect for us. I recommend the fourth floor because that way you don't have to hear the noise from the rooms above you and you get a great view of the park. (even numbered rooms view the waterpark which can be noisy, odd number rooms just see a rock cliff wall but is quiet)
Let me know if you have questions!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just got back from a week's stay at Odyssey Dells. Stayed in a 2 bedroom 2 bath "condo", even though it feels like a hotel. it has a small kitchen area with a convection oven and 2 burners. It allowed us to cook dinner a few nights, which helped saved on the food bill. Because the dining room and the family room are the same, we had to move the dining table to the middle of the room to allow all 7 of us to fit around it (including using the couch for some seating).

Beds were comfortable, the sleeper sofa worked well for the kids. Having the room right next to the water park was nice, if that is your thing. If we were to stay at BlueGreen again in the Dells, we would probably stay at Christmas Mountain. But in all it was an enjoyable stay. It would have been nice if they had a normal swimming pool (for those times you don't need a 50 ft. waterslide). But I understand why they don't.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This was a nice stay for a couple of days. No noise this time( even if the hotel was full of kids). Everyone enjoyed the water-park & MT. OLMPUS (that also has some new rides) . Only draw-back was the room ,( which was small & the furniture ) . Plenty of places to eat & things to do .

Room Tip: Ask for 2-bedroom unit on the front-side of building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The furniture was a little shabby, wood chairs were chipped, leather sofa was worn, beds were innerspring mattress with too much sag. The "master" bedroom seemed to have a double, not queen, bed. 3 tv's made it nice to watch tv anywhere. The shower curtain had spots of black mildew and the room smelled moldy on warmer days. When we stayed (before Memorial Day) only the indoor parks were open. Most of the activities were either child-oriented, or required a more active adult than us (rock climbing wall is not for us). Everything in the indoor waterpark seemed too piddly. I would be happy with just a lap pool. All this would have been a better deal if both indoor and outdoor parks were open, but all in all I would have preferred to stay at a nice, cleaner facility with no theme park but a lower cost. The staff were very friendly and helpful, though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BlueGreen Odyssey Dells? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BlueGreen Odyssey Dells

Address: 1701 Wisconsin Dells Parkway, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your BlueGreen Odyssey Dells reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BlueGreen Odyssey Dells, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.