We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Read through reviews about poor customer service!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Holiday Shores Camp Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Shores Camp Resort
Save
You added Holiday Shores Camp Resort to your Saves list
River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Wisconsin Dells B&B and Inns
Hortonville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Read through reviews about poor customer service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The campground itself is nice. We visited ahead of time to pick out sites (which we try to do as sometimes you get stuck in a poor site or way too close to other people). There is alot to do but like others said, it's very large and the "beach area" is difficult to get too. We were there the last week of July and the water was thick with algae (even in the swimming area). We had three seperate reservations total (family group) and they made an error on one of the reservations by adding an extra night. Office staff were rude and inflexible as if there was NO way THEY could make a mistake. After reading other reviews, I see there are several reviews were office staff DID make a mistake. They refused to budge so my brother ended up paying for the extra night. The report that sicne they send you written confirmation in the mail, it's up to you to "catch" any errors two weeks ahead of time. We didn't have the confirmation with us and even if we did, it wouldnt have helped as I'm sure it had what they wrote down. BE SURE TO REVIEW YOUR CONFIRMATION CAREFULLY FOR CHECK IN AND CHECK OUT DATES AND BRING IT WITH YOU. We visit the Dells every summer but not sure if we will come back here because of their attitude. They definatley don't care as they know they'll rent their sites to someone. We weren't happy with their golf cart rental policies either (as other's have written). Most placed let you rent a cart for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    9
    8
    0
    4
See reviews for
19
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

This is our second trip to Holiday Shores. We go with a group of friends and rent 5 spots. We stayed in a park model this year which was better then the camper we rented last year. The unit was clean and everything worked. It is small so be preparedmoo for that. This resort is large so be prepared to walk or bring a bike. They do rent golf carts but they can get annoying at times and seems like theIndy 500 for golf carts at times. There is a nice laundry room and game room to use. If you are bringing a camper and staying in the back part of the park ask to use the back gate. It is very difficult to navigate through the park to get to the back otherwise.
You do get free Chula Vista passes when you stay here and it is worth the trip. It is a smaller indoor/outdoor waterpark but fun for something to do. We also rented pontoons and spent the day on the river. Staff will tell you where to go.
The location of the resort is a few miles out of town but is a nice quiet location.
Overall we have never had a problem here and will return next year.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I waited to write this review until I had calmed down a bit from today's events. In April, we booked 3 sites for 4 nights in August. In no exaggeration they were my dream sites (we booked in person so we knew exactly what we were getting)! Fast forward to today, about 22 hours before our check in time. A staff member from the campground called to inform us that unfortunately they had made a mistake and double booked our sites; we would not be able to have the sites that we had reserved several months ago. They admitted that our reservations were first but since our group only had 3 sites and their second set of reservations had 6 sites, they were honoring the bigger group's reservation. Our family from out of state were already on the road to WI. Camping for us is about family, how do you explain this business practice to 3 young children? Kudos to Jellystone in Warrens, WI for accommodating us at the last moment AND offering a discount after hearing of our disaster here. Terrible business ethic at Holiday Shores.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed two nights in one of the guest houses with our two young children, while my sisters family of 6 stayed in one of the park models. Both units were perfect in size for our families and there was plenty to do for the kids from the beach, pool, playgrounds and boat rentals. We even were able to rent a golf cart to get around the campground which was a lot of fun! Our stay also included water park passes to chula vista which was only a five minute drive away from the campground! We were also located about ten minutes away from the Dells downtown and main attractions where we took advantage of zip lining (not included). Showers and bathrooms were clean and well kept as well as pool and play areas. Only thing I was not too impressed with was the staff at the main office who seemed to be very unorganized. They even almost lost our reservation entirely because they had misspelled the name (both first and last) so badly! So I highly recommend spelling it out over the phone for them.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREENWOOD
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I took my daughter and my 4 grandchildren, ages 5 - 12, for a week. We stayed in a Park Model, which is basically a mobile home. At the end of the week, the 10 year old said "this place is pretty comfortable for 6 people!" And it was. Location - out of the city but close to everything. Rental unit had everything we needed and wanted, including a deck, charcoal grill, fire pit, and air conditioning(!). Activities - playgrounds, swimming pool, bounce houses, inflatables in the water at the beach, fire engine rides, outdoor movies, wifi room, marina and much, much more. The rental unit came with 4 passes to Chula Vista water park. The on-site coin operated laundry was clean, bright and spacious. Quiet hours were really quiet. It does seem that the owners may be having some difficulty keeping up with repairs as there were minor problems and I'm not sure how thoroughly the units are cleaned between guests as we found many "lost" items from previous guests. However, overall, it was a good value for the price. If we ever go back to the Dells, we will probably stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd annual July 4th weekend visit in a row. In the past, we enjoyed our time there, particularly activities on the Wisconsin River. This year we noticed and felt a let down of service and hospitality that was so in evidence the previous years. Even entering and exiting the campground via a rear gate was a problem due to lack of key cards for the gate, and a shrugging 'oh well' type attitude with the fact that guests at the back of the campground now had to drive all the way around to come and go. The Club 21 was missing the family member that previously ran the club and provided the spirit that made it fun. There were fireworks permitted every day and night we were there even though it clearly states No Fireworks Permitted on the registration paperwork. The Marina was still as great as ever, though anyone can come and rent, so there's no benefit of staying at the campground. We felt Holiday Shores lacked the spirit and fun that that attracted us in the past, and left 2 days early after having fully paid for those days. I felt like I fell out of love with the campground. I'll return for the great times on the river via the Marina, but will find another place to stay next time around. Sad, but it feels like the owners have lost the spark that made Holiday Shores unique.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Very large campground with many activities. The pool was clean and well kept. The water inflatables at the river swimming spot were nice as well. All areas get very crowded and when this happens the atmosphere deteriorates. Some campers were loud all day and late into the night, but I like it more quiet. I do not like to hear music from other spots but there really are no barriers between the campsites. They sell freshly made donuts and cinnamon rolls in the morning which are good. When it is crowded the showers and bathrooms are not as clean, but they are OK. No bathrooms by the sites with sewers, I understand the logic, but since we don't use our bathroom in out camper for that- it would be nice to have bathrooms by the game room/bar & large rig sites.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
1.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Rose Inns
White Rose Inns
#7 of 17 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Black Hawk Motel
Black Hawk Motel
#1 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 1,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#7 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.8 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Shores Camp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Address: River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 188

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Shores Camp Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.