We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's like a labyrinth in there and can get crowded, but we had a good time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Holiday Shores Camp Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Shores Camp Resort
Save Saved
You added Holiday Shores Camp Resort to your Saves list
River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Minnetonka, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's like a labyrinth in there and can get crowded, but we had a good time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Not too bad, but we would have enjoyed a little more parking space and a map to get around the grounds. Lots of others seemed a bit lost as well. Swimming was nice save for the giant jumpy thing in the middle of the swim area. Whole place was swarming with children...and I happen to like kids. I just need a little room to breathe.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    6
    0
    3
See reviews for
18
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at Holiday Shores campground/resort for five days and didn't want to leave. We have a 28' travel trailer and the sites are spacious. We camped at the sites near the water and the view was great. I have two young children (6 & 3) and they loved all the activities that the resort had to offer. The pool is nice and warm and was not crowded. The general store is centrally located and well stocked for all the things you might forget. The homemade donuts are delicious as they make them right in front of you. The bathroom and showers were nice and clean as well.

Our favorite part is the waterpark pass (included w/ camp site fee) you get for Chula Vista which is indoor/outdoor and only about 1 mile away. I knew they offered this ahead of time and figured it would be a rinky dink waterpark and I was wrong. The waterpark is organized and ran well. We would go to the park for a few hours and then head back to the camper for lunch and then return in the afternoon. The waterpark is super busy on the weekend so try and go during the week if possible. Again, there was a lot of things for my young kids to do. We also visited Mt. Olympus which was nice, but for the money Chula Vista is just as good. The Wisconsin Dells is a lot of family fun, but we found ourselves wanting to hang around the resort and take advantage of the many activities. If you are planning on camping in the Dells I strongly recommend Holiday Shores campground.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I should have known customer service at this place would be nonexistent...when I called to make the reservation I told the woman how much I was looking forward to our stay and her response was, "We will fill up no matter what so you're lucky." Wow. When I made the reservation I explained that we had a 36-ft travel trailer and had never been there before. I saw that there was a "back gate" advertised online but I didn't think to ask about it. When we arrived, we went in through the main gate and we were given directions to get to our site. Getting to the site with our rig was a nightmare to say the least. The turns were sharp, we had to go up and down hills while turning...awful. When we finally arrived at the site we saw that it was right near the back gate! Now why wouldn't the "knowledgable" person taking my reservation that day tell me to come in the back gate because it would be tough to maneuver our size trailer through their crazy park? This was the first negative in my book.

The man camping next to us told us he busted his rear break light while trying to get his 5th wheel through the campground. Again- this could have been avoided with a bit of customer service from the start! Same thing happened to another neighbor. They came in with a Class A and were told at the office to take their car in tow off the trailer because they wouldn't make it. They took the car off at the main office and drove their rig all the way back. An office worker followed them in a golf cart and gave them attitude when they requested a different spot due to the size of the rig. She then didn't even offer to give them a ride back to the main office to pick up their car they were forced to unhitch! I gave them a ride back to their car. They were not happy and had only been there for 15 minutes!

Then we asked how we could get a card so we could get in and out the back gate but we were told they didn't have enough of them. They said to call when we wanted them to send someone via golf cart to open it. There is only one problem with this--there is ZERO cell phone service! I don't mind that fact because I go camping to "unplug" a bit but this was not a solution to the problem, (nor was this the fault of Holiday Shores). Now every time we want to go to town during our week-long stay we first have to spend 10 minutes exiting the large and poorly laid-out park.

You pretty much need a golf cart to go anywhere in this campground because it is so large. When we went to rent a cart we were told that we had to return it every night by 8pm and pick it up every day by 10am or we would lose the reservation. This was less than convenient, to say the least!

This place also advertises free Wi-Fi. Well, they have WiFi, but you have to be at the main office to use it! As someone with small children and someone who has to work via mobile, this was extremely frustrating. Don't advertise it if you don't truly have it! On the same note, the "beach" really doesn't exist, either as other reviews have mentioned.

After a few days of our stay we were even calling around to other campgrounds because we were so tired of driving through the campground every time we wanted to go somewhere, and our site was so far from anything in the park for the kids to do. Remember their golf cart rentals are so strict we couldn't even do that!

Overall, customer service is really lacking at this place. They were not accommodating at all. If you want to stay at a campground and not leave and do the other things at the Dells, I imagine this place would be good, but it really didn't meet our needs. Staff was rude and each person you spoke to seemed to give you a different story on anything you asked about. We will be back to the Dells, but probably not back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from a very enjoyable 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We had been there several years ago when our son was younger, and decided to take our grand-daughter this time. She thoroughly enjoyed the experience and wants to go back next year. (We've already made reservations.)
Holiday Shores opened 37 years ago and we met other guests who have returned there every year.
Holiday Shores is family oriented for all age groups, with playground facilities, fun activities, swimming pool, boating, and the annual pig roast.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
We highly recommend Holiday Shores for family time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We were staying in our 5th wheel camper. This is by far the nicest campground we have been to. It is family owned and run. By the time we left, they were calling us by name and I felt like we were old friends. We made reservations to return next year.

There are boat and wave runner rentals on the premises. The kids enjoyed the beach and jump/trampoline contraption in the water. There is a clean laundry facility and game room located next to Club 21 (an adult room/bar) Joe does a fine job running Club 21. There is also a very well kept, clean pool and kiddie pool.

Fresh donut and cinnamon rolls are made daily. Be sure to reserve yours, as they go fast ! I just can't say enough good things about this campground !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We rented a housekeeping cottage for a week in July 2012. It was reasonably priced for our stay, but it needed some upgrades. The location was superb. It is close enough to downtown, but far enough away to seem secluded. It is right on the river, and it has a pool and a beach. It does boat rentals, and all kinds of watersports. You get a discount if you stay there. We got free childs tickets for the ducks, and free waterpark passes to Chula Vista! The campground has tons of playgrounds and lots of planned activities for the kids. There weren't many downsides...The beach would've been really great if there was more sand, or if they had told us to bring water shoes. The bottom of the baby pool was super rough, and my kids got their feet scratched. It was a great family vacay, and we might go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winthrop harbor, il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is by far the best campground we have ever been to. The people are fantastic. We have been going here for over 8 years and won't go anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids and adults. Boat and jet ski rentals right there! Best donuts EVER!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Shores Camp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Address: River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Shores Camp Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.