We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big rigs call ahead!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Shores Camp Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Shores Camp Resort
River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Big rigs call ahead!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I should have known customer service at this place would be nonexistent...when I called to make the reservation I told the woman how much I was looking forward to our stay and her response was, "We will fill up no matter what so you're lucky." Wow. When I made the reservation I explained that we had a 36-ft travel trailer and had never been there before. I saw that there was a "back gate" advertised online but I didn't think to ask about it. When we arrived, we went in through the main gate and we were given directions to get to our site. Getting to the site with our rig was a nightmare to say the least. The turns were sharp, we had to go up and down hills while turning...awful. When we finally arrived at the site we saw that it was right near the back gate! Now why wouldn't the "knowledgable" person taking my reservation that day tell me to come in the back gate because it would be tough to maneuver our size trailer through their crazy park? This was the first negative in my book.

The man camping next to us told us he busted his rear break light while trying to get his 5th wheel through the campground. Again- this could have been avoided with a bit of customer service from the start! Same thing happened to another neighbor. They came in with a Class A and were told at the office to take their car in tow off the trailer because they wouldn't make it. They took the car off at the main office and drove their rig all the way back. An office worker followed them in a golf cart and gave them attitude when they requested a different spot due to the size of the rig. She then didn't even offer to give them a ride back to the main office to pick up their car they were forced to unhitch! I gave them a ride back to their car. They were not happy and had only been there for 15 minutes!

Then we asked how we could get a card so we could get in and out the back gate but we were told they didn't have enough of them. They said to call when we wanted them to send someone via golf cart to open it. There is only one problem with this--there is ZERO cell phone service! I don't mind that fact because I go camping to "unplug" a bit but this was not a solution to the problem, (nor was this the fault of Holiday Shores). Now every time we want to go to town during our week-long stay we first have to spend 10 minutes exiting the large and poorly laid-out park.

You pretty much need a golf cart to go anywhere in this campground because it is so large. When we went to rent a cart we were told that we had to return it every night by 8pm and pick it up every day by 10am or we would lose the reservation. This was less than convenient, to say the least!

This place also advertises free Wi-Fi. Well, they have WiFi, but you have to be at the main office to use it! As someone with small children and someone who has to work via mobile, this was extremely frustrating. Don't advertise it if you don't truly have it! On the same note, the "beach" really doesn't exist, either as other reviews have mentioned.

After a few days of our stay we were even calling around to other campgrounds because we were so tired of driving through the campground every time we wanted to go somewhere, and our site was so far from anything in the park for the kids to do. Remember their golf cart rentals are so strict we couldn't even do that!

Overall, customer service is really lacking at this place. They were not accommodating at all. If you want to stay at a campground and not leave and do the other things at the Dells, I imagine this place would be good, but it really didn't meet our needs. Staff was rude and each person you spoke to seemed to give you a different story on anything you asked about. We will be back to the Dells, but probably not back to this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We just returned from a very enjoyable 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We had been there several years ago when our son was younger, and decided to take our grand-daughter this time. She thoroughly enjoyed the experience and wants to go back next year. (We've already made reservations.)
Holiday Shores opened 37 years ago and we met other guests who have returned there every year.
Holiday Shores is family oriented for all age groups, with playground facilities, fun activities, swimming pool, boating, and the annual pig roast.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating.
We highly recommend Holiday Shores for family time!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbury, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We recently returned from an 8 day stay at Holiday Shores. We were staying in our 5th wheel camper. This is by far the nicest campground we have been to. It is family owned and run. By the time we left, they were calling us by name and I felt like we were old friends. We made reservations to return next year.

There are boat and wave runner rentals on the premises. The kids enjoyed the beach and jump/trampoline contraption in the water. There is a clean laundry facility and game room located next to Club 21 (an adult room/bar) Joe does a fine job running Club 21. There is also a very well kept, clean pool and kiddie pool.

Fresh donut and cinnamon rolls are made daily. Be sure to reserve yours, as they go fast ! I just can't say enough good things about this campground !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We rented a housekeeping cottage for a week in July 2012. It was reasonably priced for our stay, but it needed some upgrades. The location was superb. It is close enough to downtown, but far enough away to seem secluded. It is right on the river, and it has a pool and a beach. It does boat rentals, and all kinds of watersports. You get a discount if you stay there. We got free childs tickets for the ducks, and free waterpark passes to Chula Vista! The campground has tons of playgrounds and lots of planned activities for the kids. There weren't many downsides...The beach would've been really great if there was more sand, or if they had told us to bring water shoes. The bottom of the baby pool was super rough, and my kids got their feet scratched. It was a great family vacay, and we might go back someday!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winthrop harbor, il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This is by far the best campground we have ever been to. The people are fantastic. We have been going here for over 8 years and won't go anywhere else. Lots of activities for kids and adults. Boat and jet ski rentals right there! Best donuts EVER!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

We stayed at Holiday Shores for a family reunion in June 2011. We chose this resort because they have lodging choices for any and all family members...from tent camping to park model campers to cabins to hotel rooms. Regardless of budget, all family members were able to stay at one property and enjoy the reunion. It was casual and offered plenty of activiities for the kids and adults alike. Some members of our group went to the adult dance club and enjoyed the music and dancing while others sat around a campfire. Holiday Shores personnel were very good about trying to get our group located in close proximity of each other....my cousins, aunt and uncle and I were all right across the road from one another. The rent pontoons, boats and jet skis as well as golf carts on premises. Be careful though, the golf carts are everywhere. The rsort was 100 % full the last weekend of June, but it didn't feel over crowded or noisy. The general store has everything you could imagine including ice cream and fresh donuts. There are snack shops and wifi. They have several activities daily if anyone wants to participate. This was a perfect location for our group of mixed ages from 14 to 70. Holiday Shores is in a quiet area of the dells off the strip and they have so much right there, unless you want a go cart, you don't even have to go to the busy Dells strip to enjoy yourself. They even give you free admission to Chula Vista waterpark while at Holiday Shores...what a great deal. The only caveats are to watch out for the golf carts and there are some rules to be followed. I wish they would update their online reservations system to allow you to pick a site online. Currently you have to try many times to get through to a person on the phone, but once you get through, they are very helpful. Make reservations very early for this resort.

Room Tip: Campground feel with creature comforts in Park Models
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Shores Camp Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Shores Camp Resort

Address: River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Shores Camp Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Holiday Shores Camp Resort to your Saves list