We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“KOA Wisconsin Dells” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wisconsin Dells KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wisconsin Dells KOA
Save
You added Wisconsin Dells KOA to your Saves list
S235A Stand Rock Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Milford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“KOA Wisconsin Dells”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This campground was exceptionally clean. Staff was very helpful. Pool and splashpad were in great shape and clean. Had movies at night and "bike" rentals. Before staying here, keep in mind that there is a very long train that runs regularly throughout the day and night that is close enough that it feels/sounds like it's running through the middle of the campground. Other than that, I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for location as far from railroad tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
37
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Brighton, Minnesota, United States
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I have stayed at this property multiple times before. I really like how close it is to everything - the location is very convienient. We just got back from a 5 night stay, we had a fairly large group renting two camping cabins and the large loft cabin. On our 2nd night, three of our children were on a night hike (about 1030pm), one threw a rock up in the air and it accidently came down hitting a vehicle. Well - inside of this vehicle was an employee and his girlfriend. This employee lives/sleeps in his vehicle on site everynight. He was raging mad! Chased down the kids - threatened to kill them, telling them all they were dead, and pushed my 12 year old in the back - back to our cabin. He then went on to demand that we write him out a check for $1000 or we would be kicked out of the campground immediately. He called us names - bad parents, intoxicated (I was drinking a wine cooler by the fire) and was acting completely irrational. We tried to calmly talk to him and stated maybe it would be best to check out the car in the morning to see if there was any damage and we could go from there.... Well he wanted that $1000!! He marched off and went to wake up the owner stating we were all being kicked out. It was pretty obvious that this employee was either intoxicated or under the influence of some type of drug - that in itself and the fact that the campground allows its employees to sleep in their vehicles anywhere in the campground is very scarey to me as a mother. The owner told the employee to call the police if there was a problem, he pretended to - but actually did not (I called to check - to see if we needed to stay up to wait for the police). In the morning I spoke with owner - who was nice, but told me she would talk to the employee to see where he wanted to take it... Really??? I was more than willing to take care of any damage - but what about how your employee acted and actually put his hands on my child?? Well - I never heard from the owner again - - we spent the next 3 nights afraid to let the kids go anywhere by themselves and fearing that the employee would somehow take revenge on us. Before this trip I recommended the property numerous times - I will no longer do this and will definitly **not** be going back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Mississippi
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I found it quite hilarious when i read about the 10pm quiet time..this park is located right on a railroad track...we cant be 100 yds from it..its not an occasional train that passes..I woke up at 5:15 with the sounds and rattling of a passing train..It is 7:22 and so far 5 trains have passed this park. I didnt count all the ones that passed yesterday evening, but im guessing +- 15..This is a beautiful place and I would rate everything else above normal..but there is no such thing as quiet time here. That being said, I think anyone that stays in KOA's are used to the fact they buy property nears tracks for the most part. Minus the trains, this park rates high marks. If trains dont bother ya, I sure would stop here!

Room Tip: Ask for a place as far away from the tracks as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Campground is clean, staff is friendly! They take you to your campsite and will even deliver firewood to your site! Bathrooms are private And very clean! Very inexpensive and close to downtown! My first choice for camping in the dells!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This campground was perfect. The pool and splash pad were perfect for the kids and the water was heated. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Restroom and shower facilities were clean and in very nice condition. The movie pavilion was a nice touch too. My buddy and I each took our kids and camped in one of the RV pull through sites. Close to everything and our kids had a blast. The train tracks are close but didn't bother us at all. This campground is the reason we choose KOA.

Room Tip: The RV pull through sites are a little extra but well worth it. Directly across from the pool, play...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon Hills, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was the best campground I have been so far. We were here for the Memorial Weekend 2013. First, the staff is very friendly and they bring you to your campsite. We had 2 sites next to each other, one with electric and one without (5 adults and 3 kids). It was spacious and close to be bathrooms. The bathrooms was very clean. I like the fact that they are individual and private rooms. There are plenty of hooks and a bench for your personal items. Each site has a fire pit, but they also have propane grill that you can use and outdoor sinks to wash your stuff. It was a cool weekend, so it was nice that the pool is heated so the kids was still able to swim. There is also a splash pad next to it. We checked out the cabins if tent camping is not your thing. Those were pretty spacious and clean too. The only downside is that it gets pretty loud when the freight trains passes by, but I can easily ignore that. I would definitely come back to this campground.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here mid-July 2012 and it was VERY hot! We were at the top of the hill and were right by where the train went by but with 4 boys, the extra noise didn't bother us!

Friends from Illinois came and camped with us for a night and the campground was able to get them a site right across from us. We found them to be most helpful in the office and we got a kick out of the comraderie and jovial natures of the two guys riding around on the golf carts. Everyone was most helpful.

The campground was nice and everyone loved the pool area. Only complaint would be the ankle deep black sand at our site - was terrible to walk through and kept everyones feet super dirty... but we're camping, not a biggie! Not sure if this is normal or just because it was so dry at the time?!

This campground is situated so close to the down town area - it was a perfect location and really easy to get to all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wisconsin Dells KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wisconsin Dells KOA

Address: S235A Stand Rock Rd, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family friendly campground, located just one mile from downtown Dells. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wisconsin Dells KOA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.