We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant motel off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambers Hideaway

Save Saved
You added Ambers Hideaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 1 more site!
Ambers Hideaway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$59 (USD)
Saint Paul, MN
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pleasant motel off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Based on Trip Advisor ratings and reasonable rates, we chose Ambers Hideaway for a three-day stay, as a base to meet up with our family who stayed at a nearby campground. We were pleased to find the motel at the far end of "the strip" that comprises downtown Wisconsin Dells, away from the crowds and noise. It was an EASY walk even for us 60+ year olds to get to shops and restaurants at the other end of Broadway.

What struck us first was the pleasant, inviting grounds with a gazebo out front and a sparkling pool adjacent to it. Our room was centered at ground level in the back of the complex. Upon entering, we found to room to be dark and dank with a musty odor. However, after we opened windows, the smell dissipated and the rest of our stay was enjoyable.

Echoing other reviews, the room was spacious, sparsely decorated, but functional. The in-room fridge came in handy to to store our lunch, drinks and some dinner items. We spent one afternoon with our grandkids at the pool, which was immaculately clean and the perfect size and depth for the little ones. It was fun to relax at night around the fire pit where we got to visit with other guests and the owners.

This is a family-oriented motel. If you're looking for a loud, party atmosphere, this isn't the place for you. We'll be back same time next year for a repeat visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review about your stay with us last weekend. I am glad that you enjoyed our grounds, pool and the camp fire pit. When we have check outs we always open the patio door and bathroom window to get a cross breeze to air the room out. We then close the blinds to keep the hot sun out and keep from damaging the fabrics with the uv rays. The ac units are left on but at a little higher setting because not everyone likes it cold. We are sorry if there was a musty odor, if brought to our attention we would of been happy to do something about it. We like to keep our rooms simply decorated, more neutral and we offer the conveniences of a fridge, micro, hair dryer, iron/board, coffee maker and alarm clock in every room.
We do work very hard in making sure every person and every family has the best stay possible. We look very forward to your return visit with us around the same time next summer. Enjoy and have a safe season.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    66
    15
    6
    4
See reviews for
190
73
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 4nights,and to begin with that is just way to long for this place. We enjoyed the room I do not have really anything negative to say other than the staff is very unfriendly! I would never return because of that! We also had fruit flies in our room which was kind of gross. It's also very noisy in the morning at around 7-8am. The only really great thing I have to say is the bed is comfortable. I do not know why this place is rated so high on here, it's not that great.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. Are you sure you stayed at Ambers Hideaway and not someplace else? We have a very small staff since we are such a small property and have never once had an issue with unfriendly staff. If, in fact, you did stay here and you felt that someone was unfriendly, we certainly do apologize. Every staff member tries to greet every person we see or pass outside on a daily basis. We are very fortunate to have such a well maintained and very clean property and very rarely does someone leave here unhappy. As far as fruit flies in your room, they would only be there if there were food to attract them to. Were they there when you checked in? I would hope if they were, you would have made us aware of them right away so we could move you to a different room. Perhaps they were attracted to something in the garbage can? Banana or orange peel from breakfast? If we were given your permission and able to provide you with stay over service during a four night stay, we make the beds, exchange towels and remove your garbage for you. This will help with unwanted pests in the room. We also provide weekly pest control as a precautionary measure to keep any unwanted pests away. Again, we have never been told of any issues with fruit flies in any rooms, so we were unaware of any problems if there were any. Had we found any upon inspecting the room prior to arrival, we certainly would never have checked anyone into that room! I am also quite confused with you having noise issues between 7 and 8 in the morning. I open the office almost every day, just before 7 and can honestly say that between those hours is when it is the most quiet and peaceful here. (Certainly my favorite time of the day!) Most people don't start moving around for the day until about 8am. Our staff hasn't even started for the day then, so maybe there were some disrespectful neighbors? Again, this is a very small property and overall, it is not noisy at all. This review has quite surprised me, as these are all things that just doesn't sound like our property. I wish had there been any issues, they would have been addressed at the time of your stay. Upon check out, we ask every person how there stay was. This is our opportunity to address any issues with a room, etc. Nothing was brought to our attention during your stay or at check out. Hopefully throughout your stay you were able to at least check out Chula Vista water park with your free passes, or enjoy the sundeck or gazebo, maybe use the charcoal grills or sit by the campfire. Maybe even take a dip in the heated outdoor pool or indoor hot tub. Or even just sit and enjoy the view of our well maintained property filled with beautiful flowers from outside of your room. We are sorry you were unhappy with your stay and wish you the best.

Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaRue, TX, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

For the 2nd year in a row we were very pleased with our stay at Amber's Hideaway! The rooms were nice and clean, the staff are very friendly and all of the beautiful flowers and well maintained grounds lets us know again that the owners take extra special care of their place and their guests! Thank y'all again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thanks Keith for your review about your stay with us. We are so happy that you came back again this year and that you appreciated the cleanliness of your rooms and the beauty of the grounds. I don't know if you noticed but this year we have about 50+ more hanging baskets around the motel and the property. We greatly enjoy hearing your words of appreciation. We look forward to seeing you the next season for your get away. Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Ambers for five nights. Our group included my husband and myself (grandparents), and our 3 grandsons ages 16/10/10. I called ahead of time to see if we could bring a blow-up mattress for one of the kids and they graciously allowed us to do this. Our room, as others have mentioned, was very spacious. Even with the 2 queen beds and blow-up mattress, we had plenty of room. Also, we very much appreciated the table and chairs, microwave, small refrigerator, and the shelf attached to the wall that allowed us to have a lot more room for putting our personal items. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless! And although we don't spend a lot of time watching tv on vacation, we did appreciate having a nice flat screen tv in the room. Our only suggestion for improvement in the room would be to add a hook on the bathroom door for those of us who travel with those plastic travel bags that hold all of your bathroom supplies.

The beds were very comfortable - among the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on. And I appreciate that they still use comforters and blankets! We have been in hotel rooms recently where they do not put comforters on the beds - just sheets, and I am just not warm enough with out a comforter.

Our room was right next door to the laundry room and we made good use of that to dry our wet swimsuits every day! Very convenient.

Ambers is in walking distance of the downtown Dells area. Even with two 10 year olds in tow, it only took us about 15 minutes to walk to downtown.

The pool was sparkling clean and our grandsons enjoyed using it just about every day that we were there. The grounds are beautiful, and every morning we would see staff outside cleaning the grounds and skimming the pool. At night, the motel looks so pretty with the gazebo all lit up and the lights in front of each room lit. The staff and owners obviously take great pride in the property.

Now, my only complaint: I know that smoking is an a tough issue for property owners, and I don't mean to be overly critical as I know this is a touchy subject and you can't please the smokers and non-smokers. The hotel rooms are non-smoking (all of them as far as I know). My husband and I are non-smokers so that was great in our opinion. I knew in advance that seeing ashtrays full of cigarette butts would annoy me, and it did. It is great to have a non-smoking room, but it kind of defeats the purpose when guests walk out of their room into a cloud of smoke on the balcony. Also our stairwell led right down to the office area, and quite often right outside of the office was pretty smoky. My husband and I didn't swim in the pool but we did sit around the pool to watch the grandsons swim. I was kind of surprised to see a sign in the pool area saying no glass (of course!) or food in pool area...but there were ashtrays in the pool area. Do you really need to allow people to smoke in the pool area where kids are swimming?

Like I say, I know you can't please everyone, but maybe a suggestion would be to section off one area of the hotel and only allow smoking in that area (and not in the gazebo and pool area). Or better yet, make the entire property non-smoking, but that's probably wishful thinking on my part!!

Other than the smoking issue, I would give Ambers a perfect rating. All of the staff members we spoke to were very polite and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your grandsons stay with us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the over-sized room and all of the amenities included in your room. Each bathroom door does have a double hook on the back for hanging towels, etc from. The beds are memory foam which most people do love. They are very comfortable!
We are also glad you were able to utilize our on-site laundry facility. It does make life a little easier not having soaking wet suits for your whole entire stay!
We were happy to see your grandsons use our heated outdoor pool. There are some days all of us have to resist climbing in ourselves! It always looks so inviting!!!
Wisconsin state law does not allow smoking in any hotel rooms. Our entire property has smoke-free rooms. We do place ashtrays outside of each room to prevent cigarette butts from being thrown into our parking lot or sidewalks, etc. Per your request, we did place you in a room near the stairwell so you didn't have to walk past guests who were smokers. Hopefully that helped a little bit. The ashtrays are cleaned a minimum of once per day to ensure there are no overflowing cigarette butts. It smells bad and doesn't look nice either. Smoking is one issue where regardless, someone isn't going to be happy. If you are a smoker and have to walk 5 blocks to a designated area to smoke, you aren't going to be happy. If you aren't a smoker but have someone being disrespectful and blowing smoke your way, you aren't going to be happy. We just try to keep a happy medium for everybody. Thankfully, most of our guests are very considerate of others and usually try to respect those who are non smokers.
We want to thank you again for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolingbrook, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our family stayed at Ambers Hideaway along with my oldest son's travel baseball team. The rooms are clean, well stocked and HUGE. The beds were queen size and comfortable. There was tons of room to stow away baseball gear along with everything else and not trip over it all weekend. The owners and staff are awesome. All you need to do is ask and they help in any way possible. Our team had a bbq one night and the owner kept the bonfire going all evening. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We want to thank you for staying with us! We are happy to hear you enjoyed our over-sized rooms! It does make things a lot easier when you aren't tripping over everything, especially baseball gear! We hope the games went well and we would like to thank you again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed with our family of 5 in the condo unit. It was very spacious there were 2 sofa beds that were not the most comfortable but the kids managed to deal with them. The king bed was very comfy everyone wanted to sleep in there with us. Everyone we encountered was very friendly. This was our first time trying something different. In the years past we have always stayed at the larger resort hotels. This was nice because it was cheaper and gave us more options to go to other waterparks. The hotel gives you discounted rates to other waterparks. The grounds were beautiful, everytime I went out to the car I saw someone out there cleaning the grounds and watering the flowers. The small continental breakfast was also nice. The kids really liked going down to get the donuts. They also have an indoor hot tub area. We really enjoyed that after a long day at the waterparks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Kellie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our condo. Last Sunday we replaced springs on both sofa beds so hopefully that helps with the comfort level. (We know they are never the most comfortable thing to sleep on!)
We are glad you decided to give us a chance and try something different this year. We are very fortunate to be able to provide free Chula Vista water park bands and also offer discounted tickets to other attractions as well. We try to help save you as much money as we can, as things sure do add up fast!
We are glad you were able to enjoy the water parks and our indoor hot tub. Hopefully you were also able to relax on your private deck and also use the charcoal grill!
We thank you very much for staying with us and do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very surprised with the size of the room and how clean it was. It is nice to feel welcomed somewhere away from home. They appreciate the night time hours with dimming lights. They are very friendly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Julie and thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the size and cleanliness of your room. We are also glad to hear you felt welcome here. That is our goal! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and try hard to ensure they enjoy their stay. We are also happy to hear you appreciated "quiet time". We try to make sure each guest is respectful of others as they are winding down for the day and trying to get some rest. We thank you very much for staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ambers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Hideaway

Also Known As:
Ambers Hideaway Hotel
Ambers Hideaway Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Address: 1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambers Hideaway 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms at an affordable price! Ambers Hideaway is conveniently located on the quiet side of Wisconsin Dells. We are within walking distance of the historic downtown shops, restaurants, nightly entertainment and the breath taking River Walk. We are also within walking distance of the train depot. Ambers Hideaway offers an outdoor pool and a indoor whirlpool and sitting area, as well as a roof top deck to get a bird's eye view of the Broadway strip . Along with our pools we offer a picnic area already equipped with grills. We also have several outdoor activities for all ages such as basketball, volleyball, badminton, bean bag toss, ping pong, and a swing set and sandbox for the younger ones. Relax around the campfire at night and roast a marshmallow or two. Or try out our beautiful gazebo to relax in and take in all that the dells has to offer, or to book your wedding or special event at. With our hotel being 100% renovated, Ambers offers a variety of room types to suit any family. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron and board, flat screen TV, alarm clock radio and coffee makers and coffee. We also offer free WI-Fi and discounted tickets throughout the year to a number of Wisconsin Dells attractions. A free 24 hour shuttle to Ho-Chunk casino is available upon request. If you're looking for friendly service and an affordable place, come visit us year round at Ambers Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Ambers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambers Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.