We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Awesome! A few suggestions to make it perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ambers Hideaway

Save Saved
You added Ambers Hideaway to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ambers Hideaway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Pretty Awesome! A few suggestions to make it perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed at Ambers for five nights. Our group included my husband and myself (grandparents), and our 3 grandsons ages 16/10/10. I called ahead of time to see if we could bring a blow-up mattress for one of the kids and they graciously allowed us to do this. Our room, as others have mentioned, was very spacious. Even with the 2 queen beds and blow-up mattress, we had plenty of room. Also, we very much appreciated the table and chairs, microwave, small refrigerator, and the shelf attached to the wall that allowed us to have a lot more room for putting our personal items. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless! And although we don't spend a lot of time watching tv on vacation, we did appreciate having a nice flat screen tv in the room. Our only suggestion for improvement in the room would be to add a hook on the bathroom door for those of us who travel with those plastic travel bags that hold all of your bathroom supplies.

The beds were very comfortable - among the most comfortable hotel beds we have ever slept on. And I appreciate that they still use comforters and blankets! We have been in hotel rooms recently where they do not put comforters on the beds - just sheets, and I am just not warm enough with out a comforter.

Our room was right next door to the laundry room and we made good use of that to dry our wet swimsuits every day! Very convenient.

Ambers is in walking distance of the downtown Dells area. Even with two 10 year olds in tow, it only took us about 15 minutes to walk to downtown.

The pool was sparkling clean and our grandsons enjoyed using it just about every day that we were there. The grounds are beautiful, and every morning we would see staff outside cleaning the grounds and skimming the pool. At night, the motel looks so pretty with the gazebo all lit up and the lights in front of each room lit. The staff and owners obviously take great pride in the property.

Now, my only complaint: I know that smoking is an a tough issue for property owners, and I don't mean to be overly critical as I know this is a touchy subject and you can't please the smokers and non-smokers. The hotel rooms are non-smoking (all of them as far as I know). My husband and I are non-smokers so that was great in our opinion. I knew in advance that seeing ashtrays full of cigarette butts would annoy me, and it did. It is great to have a non-smoking room, but it kind of defeats the purpose when guests walk out of their room into a cloud of smoke on the balcony. Also our stairwell led right down to the office area, and quite often right outside of the office was pretty smoky. My husband and I didn't swim in the pool but we did sit around the pool to watch the grandsons swim. I was kind of surprised to see a sign in the pool area saying no glass (of course!) or food in pool area...but there were ashtrays in the pool area. Do you really need to allow people to smoke in the pool area where kids are swimming?

Like I say, I know you can't please everyone, but maybe a suggestion would be to section off one area of the hotel and only allow smoking in that area (and not in the gazebo and pool area). Or better yet, make the entire property non-smoking, but that's probably wishful thinking on my part!!

Other than the smoking issue, I would give Ambers a perfect rating. All of the staff members we spoke to were very polite and helpful, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your grandsons stay with us! We are very happy to hear you enjoyed the over-sized room and all of the amenities included in your room. Each bathroom door does have a double hook on the back for hanging towels, etc from. The beds are memory foam which most people do love. They are very comfortable!
We are also glad you were able to utilize our on-site laundry facility. It does make life a little easier not having soaking wet suits for your whole entire stay!
We were happy to see your grandsons use our heated outdoor pool. There are some days all of us have to resist climbing in ourselves! It always looks so inviting!!!
Wisconsin state law does not allow smoking in any hotel rooms. Our entire property has smoke-free rooms. We do place ashtrays outside of each room to prevent cigarette butts from being thrown into our parking lot or sidewalks, etc. Per your request, we did place you in a room near the stairwell so you didn't have to walk past guests who were smokers. Hopefully that helped a little bit. The ashtrays are cleaned a minimum of once per day to ensure there are no overflowing cigarette butts. It smells bad and doesn't look nice either. Smoking is one issue where regardless, someone isn't going to be happy. If you are a smoker and have to walk 5 blocks to a designated area to smoke, you aren't going to be happy. If you aren't a smoker but have someone being disrespectful and blowing smoke your way, you aren't going to be happy. We just try to keep a happy medium for everybody. Thankfully, most of our guests are very considerate of others and usually try to respect those who are non smokers.
We want to thank you again for choosing to stay with us. It was a pleasure having you and we do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    73
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
202
79
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed with our family of 5 in the condo unit. It was very spacious there were 2 sofa beds that were not the most comfortable but the kids managed to deal with them. The king bed was very comfy everyone wanted to sleep in there with us. Everyone we encountered was very friendly. This was our first time trying something different. In the years past we have always stayed at the larger resort hotels. This was nice because it was cheaper and gave us more options to go to other waterparks. The hotel gives you discounted rates to other waterparks. The grounds were beautiful, everytime I went out to the car I saw someone out there cleaning the grounds and watering the flowers. The small continental breakfast was also nice. The kids really liked going down to get the donuts. They also have an indoor hot tub area. We really enjoyed that after a long day at the waterparks.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Kellie, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear you and your family enjoyed our condo. Last Sunday we replaced springs on both sofa beds so hopefully that helps with the comfort level. (We know they are never the most comfortable thing to sleep on!)
We are glad you decided to give us a chance and try something different this year. We are very fortunate to be able to provide free Chula Vista water park bands and also offer discounted tickets to other attractions as well. We try to help save you as much money as we can, as things sure do add up fast!
We are glad you were able to enjoy the water parks and our indoor hot tub. Hopefully you were also able to relax on your private deck and also use the charcoal grill!
We thank you very much for staying with us and do hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were very surprised with the size of the room and how clean it was. It is nice to feel welcomed somewhere away from home. They appreciate the night time hours with dimming lights. They are very friendly. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Julie and thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you were pleased with the size and cleanliness of your room. We are also glad to hear you felt welcome here. That is our goal! We appreciate each and every one of our guests and try hard to ensure they enjoy their stay. We are also happy to hear you appreciated "quiet time". We try to make sure each guest is respectful of others as they are winding down for the day and trying to get some rest. We thank you very much for staying with us and look forward to seeing you in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been to the Dells numerous times but this was our first time at Ambers Hideaway. Our family of 4 stayed Aug 5 -8. Check in was a breeze and we were very happy to be able to check-in a couple hours early. We stayed on the first floor and our room was very large and clean. The bathroom was also very spacious. It was nice to have a parking space right outside our room and there were also benches and a table which was nice to sit at in the morning and evening. All the staff we encountered were very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the playground area and the ping pong table. The pool was also very clean and nice. The grounds were extremely clean and very well cared for. There was a small continental breakfast with fruit, donuts, muffins,cookies and coffee which was nice. We enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back next summer!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hello Melissa! Thank you so much for your review! It was a pleasure having you stay with us! We are so glad to have you stay with us recently! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the property and your kids were able to play a few games outside. We want to thank you for giving us a try and look forward to seeing you next summer!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We did not have reservations and stopped in to see about a room. Man at the front desk was very rude to us. We asked about price and he said cheapest room he had was $94. This was on a Tuesday. We told him TripAdvisor listed prices from $58 and he said they had NEVER had rooms that cheap. I pulled up TripAdvisor to show him on the phone and he said he had never seen this rate before. He was very rude to us. Had he been nicer we would probably have stayed there despite the difference in price. The place looked very nice, but his impression made us choose to go somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you felt you had a bad experience at or property when you stopped in recently. The gentleman you spoke with works for us through an employment agency. I have a very hard time believing he was being rude as he has a very calm nature and has always been more than wonderful towards our guests. He has only been with us for approximately one month and I'm sure he was more confused by the "$58" room rate than rude. The price he quoted you would have been $99, and not $94. Our room rate was at $115 but we did a very last minute reduction to $99 for any walk ins for that evening only. So when he said we NEVER had any rooms that cheap; he was absolutely correct (in our peak season). NEVER would you find a room for $58 during this time of year! $59 is the lowest rate we offer. In fact, had you continued to read the entire listing on the mobile version where it shows our property and lists "$59 and up", after that, you see a "*". Continuing down, it explains the meaning..."pricing terms and conditions". In other words, that is where our rates start in our off season and they go up from there. It is a shame this caused frustration on your behalf because our property really has a lot to offer compared to most. We hope you were able to find other accommodations in your price range.

Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family (6 of us) stayed here from July 29th-Aug 2nd. From the very beginning when I made the reservations with Heather---to our check out----everyone was VERY friendly and welcoming. We were always greeted by someone in passing which was very nice.
We had rented the condo room to accommodate our large family. It was SUPER nice, very clean, full size kitchen, separate big bedroom and the bonus...our own private patio area with grill. We felt at home "being away from home".
We usually have always stayed at Chula Vista in one of the condos, but in my opinion Ambers Hideaway offers something the larger places cant and that was peace and quiet without sooo many people! There were times during our stay that myself and the kids had the whole pool area to ourselves for many hours. In addition I would also like to mention how very nice the pool area is. The pool was warm (kids loved that) and very clean.
I know we have found our "spot" at the Dells after many years and look forward to coming back again next year. The kids even asked "Can we stay 2 weeks there?".
Hoping that the watermelon we left behind in the fridge was able to be taken advantage of by someone :)
See you next year and "thank you" for a wonderful place you have for our family to vacation!

Michelle/Dan and the kids

Room Tip: Love the condo room for our big family!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Hi Michelle! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the condo which previously was the owner's living quarters. The private deck and grill are definitely a plus. It's nice to be able to just relax with some privacy and save money as well by eating in. We are glad you guys enjoyed the pool. It usually is between 86-88 degrees and always clean. We thank you again for staying with us and look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and my family stayed at Ambers Hideaway July 28-Aug.3 and our stay was wonderful. The hotel and grounds are well cared for, and the rooms are a very good size. We decided to stay at this particular hotel because we were in the dells last year and stayed at a different hotel offering complementary chula vista tickets (very family friendly waterpark). However the hotel we stayed at last year wasn't very nice and AH was very well rated so we decided to give it a chance. All I can really say is that I'm glad we did, The 5 days we were there we ended up going to Chula Vista twice simply because there was a nice pool at AH, they have a basketball hoop, table tennis, volley ball, Bean bag toss, and a very nice playground that my 3 young girls loved. The one thing I thought could have been a bit better was the breakfast (doughnuts, cookies, fruit all 5 days) just wished for a little more variety. However I definitely wont mark them down for that simply because not all hotels that I was considering (including ones much more expensive) even offered breakfast and it did save us some money the couple of days that we ate at the hotel. If and when we return to the dells we will definitely consider Ambers Hideaway again. Thanks again to the owners and staff that made our stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Hi Juan! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! It was a pleasure having you and your family stay with us for 5 nights. We are glad you appreciated both the grounds and the size of the rooms. We are also happy to hear you guys enjoyed the pool here. It is nice to be able to go enjoy the larger water parks and slides, but most people seem to prefer the quiet atmosphere here. We certainly understand what you mean about breakfast. The same thing day in and day out does get redundant. We try to provide coupons and suggestions for other places if you want to switch things up a bit. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and certainly hope to see you again in the future!!!!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Hideaway

Address: 1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#6 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambers Hideaway 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms at an affordable price! Ambers Hideaway is conveniently located on the quiet side of Wisconsin Dells. We are within walking distance of the historic downtown shops, restaurants, nightly entertainment and the breath taking River Walk. We are also within walking distance of the train depot. Ambers Hideaway offers an outdoor pool and a indoor whirlpool and sitting area, as well as a roof top deck to get a bird's eye view of the Broadway strip . Along with our pools we offer a picnic area already equipped with grills. We also have several outdoor activities for all ages such as basketball, volleyball, badminton, bean bag toss, ping pong, and a swing set and sandbox for the younger ones. Relax around the campfire at night and roast a marshmallow or two. Or try out our beautiful gazebo to relax in and take in all that the dells has to offer, or to book your wedding or special event at. With our hotel being 100% renovated, Ambers offers a variety of room types to suit any family. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron and board, flat screen TV, alarm clock radio and coffee makers and coffee. We also offer free WI-Fi and discounted tickets throughout the year to a number of Wisconsin Dells attractions. A free 24 hour shuttle to Ho-Chunk casino is available upon request. If you're looking for friendly service and an affordable place, come visit us year round at Ambers Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo and Odigeo so you can book your Ambers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambers Hideaway Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambers Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.