We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"BEST PLACE TO STAY IN WISC. DELLS"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambers Hideaway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ambers Hideaway to your Saves list
Ambers Hideaway
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Apple Valley, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“"BEST PLACE TO STAY IN WISC. DELLS"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Sorry for posting my review this late , but I guess better late than never. We stayed at Ambers over Memorial Day weekend, room # 114 for couple nights LOVED IT . Grounds were clean, staff at the front desk was awesome, room was so clean ( we stayed in some pretty high end hotels and some of them can't even compare to the cleanliness ) . Rooms are big in size, non-smoking which is really good . I just LOVED little benches that are outside the door. I could go on and on all day about how great this place is and trust me I do not leave reviews for anything ever , i just had to do it for this place , it's amazing. They earned customer for as long as they are open for business. Keep up the good work . IF YOU ARE IN WISC. DELLS AREA YOU NEED TO STAY AT THIS PLACE , YOU'LL LOVE IT.

Room Tip: Any room you pick is great ! First floor rooms are awesome because you 'r car is right in front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for your review! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!!!! It was a pleasure having you! We are glad you were pleased with the cleanliness and size of your room. We take great pride in our rooms and property and are glad that it shows. We strive to have everyone leave here happy. We do hope to see you again in the future! (And thanks for leaving us a review....we truly appreciate you taking the time to do so!)

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    77
    17
    8
    5
See reviews for
203
84
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We just returned two days ago from a 4 night stay at Amber's Hideaway. It was a last minute trip for us but we were very pleased to still be able to get the bedding of our choice (2Q). To address the traveler who complained about having to pay a rate for two beds....really? Their rate for two beds was significantly less than comparable motels with one bed. As far as I know, and I did some pretty extensive research because I have back issues, they are the only place in the Dells with memory foam mattresses. My step-daughter has RA and also has difficulty sleeping if the beds are not good. We both were more than pleased with them.

I cannot say enough about the cleanliness of the motel grounds, the room and the pool areas. We usually stay at the Wilderness because of the size of group we usually travel with (2 or 4 adults plus 4 or 5 kids depending on who is with us at the time) and the room was significantly cleaner than what we have had there. It would even have passed the mother-in-law test! The room was spacious and you could actually walk around without running into furniture or your suitcases. The only downside for us to the room was that the pillows were too fluffy and over-stuffed. Having a mini-frig and microwave with no additional fee is a nice touch too. In the future, I would simply bring my own from home. The only other wish I had was blackout drapes since I would like to sleep in a cave if I could. Towels are budget quality but I had no problem with the sheets and I like high thread count at home. They were well laundered and softened. No stains or holes, both of which we have seen in this price range. At this price point, I would not expect blackout drapes or plush towels. If I have to have them I can either pay significantly more per night or bring them from home.

We used the pool area twice and the spa area once. The whirlpool could have been warmer for our tastes. The pool deck was neat and orderly. The chairs and chaise loungers were in good repair. The garbage was emptied. There were ample towels at the pool.

The front desk staff was friendly and competent. We are not breakfast eaters but I did see some fruit on the table where the staff indicated a light continental breakfast was located. Again, if you want a continental breakfast or a quick something, it is sufficient. If you expect to eat something that will hold you over all day at a water park, go to the restaurant next door. The food there is very reasonably priced and quite good.

In the past, when our children were younger, it was convenient to stay at the Wilderness and have everything right there where we could intermittently go back to the room when needed. Now that they are older, they like the perceived freedom of being able to stroll a few blocks down the strip and look at some shops or go and make a piece of pottery or even play black light mini golf on their own. Since the motel is on the quiet end of the strip we had literally no nighttime noise. Our neighbors were considerate with the exception of one night. When asked politely if they could turn down their TV they accommodated, so no issue.

This is a budget to low cost motel. It is an extremely good value even if one does not use the included Chula Vista passes. We would stay again and, in fact, are planning to make another trip the summer.

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask well in advance for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Hello and thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed the memory foam mattresses! That's a very hard thing to pick out knowing so many people have such different sleep comfort levels; as is pillows (sorry they were to fluffy for your taste). We are also glad that we met your expectations with the cleanliness of the property and rooms. We work very hard to keep everything as immaculate as possible. We are happy to hear that you were able to use the whirlpool and the outdoor pool. So sorry the whirlpool wasn't hot enough for you:( We do keep it at 104 degrees, which, by law, is the highest that it can go. We try to keep it covered until someone is ready to use it to help keep the temperature up. It certainly was a pleasure having you stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully seeing you again this summer!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waukesha
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We only stayed one evening after an event filled day at the water park. We were on the second floor and sat on the balcony overlooking the property in the evening. It was very relaxing and inviting after a long day. The staff was friendly and the accommodations were clean and pleasant. Recommendation****

Room Tip: I recommend second floor because you are overlooking area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so glad to hear you had such a relaxing stay and found our property to be clean and pleasant. It means a lot to hear! We certainly hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

We booked a room over the phone late in the afternoon as we were approaching Wisconsin Dells (in the sixth week of a USA road trip) -- this was handled quite smoothly. With the "last minute" reservation we had to settle for a two queen bed room (and the corresponding rate) even though we only needed one bed.

The room was nice, clean, and well equipped. No complaints in this regard.

A couple things did bother us though. You decide if these would affect your satisfaction if you stayed here:

1. TripAdvisor claims "Free Breakfast". What we found was a plate of store-bought cookies, coffee, apples, and a few oranges. I would be hard-pressed to call this a "breakfast"!! (Bottles of orange juice or water were availabke for $1.50. Good grief!)

2. The rooms were advertised as non-smoking and ours was certainly odor-free inside. However, smoking IS apparently allowed on the benches just outside each room. Our neighbors were smokers and were using their bench as a smoking spot. We found this a tad unpleasant during our comings and goings, loading and unloading.

3. We were rather put off (maybe even offended) by the little signs around the room which seemed to suggest that most of their customers were untrustworthy. For example, there was an inventory of linens in the bathroom and a stern warning of the consequences if any were found to be missing or heavily soiled. There was also a note indicating how important it was to tip the maids (of course, we've seen similar "suggestions" elsewhere, but they've aways been worded very "gently" as if the practice is voluntary, rather than an expectation. During check-in we had to initial off on several liability statements regarding pets, smoking, condition of the room, missing articles, etc. Sure, many lodgings have this kind of sign-off, but never more than one or two (in our experience). Ambers Hideaway set a new record for us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Hi Tom and thank you for your review. We are happy to hear your last minute booking was handled smoothly. We are also pleased you found your room clean and well equipped.

When it comes to Trip Advisor, we are only able to answer a "Yes" or "No" as to if we offer a free breakfast or not. We unfortunately are unable to expand to explain that we offer a mini continental versus a complete, hot, sit down breakfast. All of our literature states "mini-continental" and if someone is looking for a hot breakfast, we are always more than happy to direct them to a place such as the restaurant directly next door to us. Our mini-continental consists of mini-doughnuts, mini-blueberry or banana nut muffins, mini-chocolate chip cookies (made to order from a family owned Wisconsin company, which in my opinion (amongst other's) are amazing!!!!), assorted apples, oranges, and bananas (mainly weekends or when we can find decent ones locally). As we like to tell our guests; "Just a little something to help start your day."

All of our rooms are non-smoking per Wisconsin state law. I'm glad to hear yours was odor-free as it is expected to be. We do allow smoking on our property. Ash trays are in front of each guest room, which helps deter people from throwing their cigarette butts on the ground. As you could tell while you were here, our grounds and property are set at very high expectations compared to most places. We would much rather see the garbage where it belongs rather than on the ground.

We are sorry to hear that the three signs located in each guest room were offensive to you. The first sign located next to the phone lets our guests know what the free wi-fi pass code is and also informs them that we offer toiletries and beach towels for sale at the front desk. The second sign located on the nightstand says word for word:

"We hope you are enjoying your stay with us! Our staff prides themselves in making sure you have had and enjoyable and pleasant stay. The housekeepers strive to make this place feel as comfortable as home. Gratuity is welcomed & greatly appreciated. Thank you for staying and we hope to see you again soon!"

If this sign came across to you that it is very important or an expectation to tip your maid, we certainly apologize! We have had several guests in the past ask us if they were allowed to tip, so that cleared up that confusion for those people in question. We felt that by letting those people know that we do welcome tips for our hard working housekeeping staff and that when they do receive a tip; it is greatly appreciated!

And lastly, the sign in the bathroom listing the inventory of towels that you should have has recently been put up to help us and to help our guests alike. The sign lists the towels provided in each room and says to let us know if any are missing. It also says that the towels should not leave the room and that we have pool towels by hot tub and pool area. It states that if any towels are missing, damaged or are heavily soiled, there will be a replacement charge for those items. The last line says thank you for your understanding and we hope you enjoy your stay! Owning a business comes with endless expense. These expenses will add up over time and in the long run cost our customers more money. Our goal is to be able to keep our rates low for our guests. One of our main expenses is missing and damaged linens. Most people who decide to visit the water park don't realize that pool towels are not provided for them. (It is stated on our website and recently has also been added to everyone's confirmation letter as well to bring their own beach towels.) So our bath towels end up taking a trip to the water park, but never making it back to our property. While there, pool attendants are constantly picking up guests towels. Our bath towels happen to often be included with those towels being gathered. So when our guests check out with missing towels, they get charged a replacement cost. We constantly were hearing, "We didn't know..." or "no one told us....". So to rectify the situation, we placed a sign in each bathroom by the towels so everyone could be on the same page. Guests also sometimes don't realize that by them using our white bath towels to clean off the grill or wipe down their car, will result in us having to replace that towel, as it will never be able to come clean again. That's where the "heavily soiled" or "damaged" comes into play listed on the sign. Trust me...these things happen almost on a daily basis during our peak season. What seems like common sense to most of us, may not be so for others. In no way, shape, or form are we implying that our guests are untrustworthy! Mistakes happen! Signs are the only way to ensure everyone is on the same page.

Upon arrival at a hotel or motel, regardless of where you are staying, you will be asked to sign a registration card. Some places choose to bundle all of their policies and "fine print" into one paragraph and you may only sign in one place. Others may have 8 things listed and you may sign in 8 different places. We have each guest initial in 4 places and sign their name in one place. 99% of guests ask the same thing when that paper is put in front of them...."What am I signing?" So when we hand over our guests their registration card; we choose to touch on all key points of what exactly they are putting their initials by without them having to ask what they are signing. We have nothing to hide and would rather you be aware of our policies up front, rather than during the middle of your stay when an issue may arise. The 4th place to initial is our most important. We ask that guests honor our "quiet time" starting after 10pm. By brining this to each guests attention at check in; we are then able to inform them that if they have an issues with anyone being noisy and loud outside their room after 10pm; they should dial "0" so we can take care of the noise. Without mentioning these things, we must assume guests are reading what they are signing. We really hate to have unhappy guests the next morning because their neighbor didn't let them get any sleep and we had no knowledge of any issues. By us bringing this to their attention at check in; they know what to do and who to call if any problems.

Thank you for staying with us and we wish you the best!

Regards,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oconomowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We did a lot of research before finding a place to stay up in Dells. All the positive reviews of Amber's Hideaway were all right on! We stayed 2 nights during the week. Our great experience started right at the front desk when we checked in. Heather was very friendly, answered a lot of our questions and gave us great detail information of everything that was offered at the motel, since we had kids with us. Our room was very clean and larger than most motel rooms that we have been in. The beds were very, very comfortable! There were a number of families next to our rooms and we couldn't hear anybody, the rooms were very solid for noise, it felt like we were the only one's there. My teenage kids spent a lot of time outdoors right at the motel. They had fun swimming in the pool, which was very clean. They played a long time at the ping pong table and at the volleyball net. There was so much to offer for kids at all different ages. There were a lot of tables and chairs around the whole property so you could sit anywhere with your family to eat, play a game or just visit. My van was having problems and I mentioned the problem to Eddie. He took a look at it, helped me with the oil (yes I'm female-LOL) and made suggestions for me. He was correct with his suggestions! Thank you so much for your help, we all appreciate it. We will be returning here the next time we come to the Dells and our family HIGHLY recommends Ambers Hideaway to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Front Office Manager at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review! We are so happy to hear you and your family were able to enjoy yourselves! I'm glad the kids had fun on our property using the outdoor pool and taking advantage of the outdoor activities. We try to have as much as we can to keep everyone entertained. We certainly hope to see you guys again in the future! It was a pleasure having you stay with us! Take care!

Sincerely,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itasca, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

June 16 and leaving the 19th. We stayed at Amber's for the 1st time last year within a couple days of this year's stay. We cannot say enough for the cleanliness, amenities, grounds, staff, owners and location for this motel. You can truly see that their heart and soul are in their work. We ended up with a car battery issue after we arrived and our car was parked in the lot for a couple of hours in the sun. Heather & Stacy (I do believe that is her name, the other front desk lady) heard us having an issue getting our car started. We opened the hood and Heather (prior mechanical knowledge) noticed that our car battery was bulging-original battery-9 years old. Eddie came over and offered suggestions and we went to Wally World but due to their roof collapse they did not have what we needed and suggested & called Farm & Fleet for us in Baraboo. Off to Baraboo and within 2 hours we were back and checked in. Our radio lost its code due to wrong installation @ F&F (anti theft). Eddie to the rescue again - I searched the web for the codes and on the 15th try I got it programmed. One cannot go wrong with a stay at Amber's Hideaway and we will return again (fall) to support this facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hello again Christine, it was a sure pleasure having you guys staying with us. I am happy to hear that with everything that went wrong with the car we were able to steer you in the right directions and that with Eddie's prior mechanical background he is always willing to give a helping hand. We look very forward to seeing you in the fall. Have a safe and enjoyable summer.
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Angelo, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our family's first visit to The Dells and loved staying at Ambers! It was clean, quiet and beautifully maintained. We had plenty of space for our 6-person family including a full kitchen and dining area! We loved that it was off the main "drag" but still easily accessible and close enough to go do whatever we wanted. We also experienced wonderful hospitality and felt very welcome. We had a blast at Chula Vista with our 4 boys! Would HIGHLY recommend Ambers to anyone visiting The Dells! And would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmbersHideaway, Owner at Ambers Hideaway, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Hi Kara and thank you very much for leaving us a review. It was very much a pleasure having you staying with us and we are very happy to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay. I am glad that you enjoyed our newest addition to the motel the "Condo". This has an added feature of having the full kitchen and private deck with grill. My husband and I are always happy to hear that our guest appreciate the clean and well maintained grounds. We look forward to your return visit with us in the future, Have a safe and enjoyable summer :-)
Sincerely, Tanya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ambers Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambers Hideaway

Address: 1113 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ambers Hideaway 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable rooms at an affordable price! Ambers Hideaway is conveniently located on the quiet side of Wisconsin Dells. We are within walking distance of the historic downtown shops, restaurants, nightly entertainment and the breath taking River Walk. We are also within walking distance of the train depot. Ambers Hideaway offers an outdoor pool and a indoor whirlpool and sitting area, as well as a roof top deck to get a bird's eye view of the Broadway strip . Along with our pools we offer a picnic area already equipped with grills. We also have several outdoor activities for all ages such as basketball, volleyball, badminton, bean bag toss, ping pong, and a swing set and sandbox for the younger ones. Relax around the campfire at night and roast a marshmallow or two. Or try out our beautiful gazebo to relax in and take in all that the dells has to offer, or to book your wedding or special event at. With our hotel being 100% renovated, Ambers offers a variety of room types to suit any family. All rooms have a mini fridge, microwave, blow dryer, iron and board, flat screen TV, alarm clock radio and coffee makers and coffee. We also offer free WI-Fi and discounted tickets throughout the year to a number of Wisconsin Dells attractions. A free 24 hour shuttle to Ho-Chunk casino is available upon request. If you're looking for friendly service and an affordable place, come visit us year round at Ambers Hideaway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ambers Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambers Hideaway Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambers Hideaway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.