We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, over priced” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Road Motel

River Road Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added River Road Motel to your Saves list
River Road Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   828 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service, over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The person at the front desk was very rude. Booked the room online and reserved a smoking room. When we showed up, we were informed they don't have smoking rooms. We questioned why their website offered smoking rooms with no good response except "everyone knows there's no smoking." Obviously EVERYONE does not! Go right next store to the Top Hat Motel. They have the same amenities for half the price. And they're friendly!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I liked this motel. The staff was very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean. I also liked that it is so close to down town. I was able to walk down the strip from the motel. Oh another good thing was that passes to Chula Vista were included with your stay. The rooms also have a microwave and small refrigerator. If I go back to the Dells I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The customer service here was AWFUL! When we first pulled into the parking lot, the owner was sitting upstairs on the balcony above the office and didn't even come down to check us in. We didn't know it was the owner at the time, but after waiting almost 15 minutes we got back in our car to try again later. As soon as we did, we saw him come down and go inside. He never smiled, greeted us, or made eye contact. He barely even spoke to us, and when he did it was an almost unintelligible mumble. He silently slid the key across the counter without saying anything to the effect of "Have a nice stay." Our room had no alarm clock (first motel I've ever seen that did not), and I called to request a wake-up call for 4:45 am only to be rudely informed, "Yeah, that's not gonna happen." If they are not going to provide alarm clocks, they need to at least invest in an automated wake-up call system. At the very least, be polite and explain why an early wake-up call is not possible. There were flies in the room, and the water pressure in the shower was pitiful. We stayed here because it was the lowest-priced motel we found in the area, and I would have gladly paid more for friendlier service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This motel is in a great location (2 parking lots behind Nig's bar) off the strip. We (Me, my husband, 2 kids ages 7 and 11) saved money by staying here 4 nights and were able to enjoy all our favorite activities. Upon arrival we were given wristbands to Chula Vista water park for the entire length of our stay, and 2 coupon books that gave many discounts to local restaurants and attractions that we used throughout our visit. The rooms have a microwave and refrigerator and were very spacious, could even set up an air mattress if you need to. The staff is friendly and our family will be returning to River Road Motel next year. Why stay anywhere else for $65/night weekdays and $85/night weekends during peek season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

When the wife and I come to the dells by ourselves without the grandkids we always stay here..the rooms are clean and comfy,,,the owners are nice and the rates are great....we dont need a pool and like to walk around downtown so this place is perfect..when we bring the grandkids we have to have a pool and go to the grand marquis then....We have never been offered Chula Vista passes here...must be something new or the other reviewers we mistaken....but anyway would highly recommend this motel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 6 and 9) stayed here one night for a weekend getaway in March. For $65 we got a decent sized room with 2 queen beds, a fantastic downtown location, and 4 waterpark passes to Chula Vista Resort (a pretty 10 minute drive down the road.) It was a great deal and we will absolutely take advantage of it again. The room was very basic but we just used it for sleep. If you need a "chain hotel atmosphere" or a luxury room, this is not the place for you. If you need a clean place to sleep the night while getting to play in the Dells, this is a great deal.
Easy walk to downtown attractions, riverwalk, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: It's a 2 story motel. Ask for ground floor if you can't do the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is definitely a motel not a hotel or resort. That said...why stay at a hotel or resort for three times the cost when you can get everything for less? Yes, the tv is small however, I did not drive 200 miles for my children to sit in a hotel room and watch television. And, my children 13, 11, 9 watched the small tv before bedtime with not one complaint. Plenty of cable channels to choose from. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom VERY clean, the microwave and fridge were a nice bonus. Although my children were dissappointed there wasn't a pool they were very excited for the free water park passes valid for EACH day of stay. (Chula Vista water park less than 5 minutes drive away). I enjoyed the fact that absolutely everything downtown is within walking distance so no need for mom to find/pay for parking. We stayed a Monday & Tuesday night in a double and it was $55 per night (including the waterpark tickets and a 25% savings coupon for many attractions). The money we saved by not staying at a resort allowed us to enjoy more attractions...definitely reccommend the Jet Boat Adventures. If we return to the Dells, we will return to the RIver Road Motel. I wouldn't waste money on a room we litterally just used to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Address: 828 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River Road Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Road Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.