We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth Staying Here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River Road Motel

Save Saved
You added River Road Motel to your Saves list
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
River Road Motel
828 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Oak Creek, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Worth Staying Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We (2 adults, 2 kids ages 6 and 9) stayed here one night for a weekend getaway in March. For $65 we got a decent sized room with 2 queen beds, a fantastic downtown location, and 4 waterpark passes to Chula Vista Resort (a pretty 10 minute drive down the road.) It was a great deal and we will absolutely take advantage of it again. The room was very basic but we just used it for sleep. If you need a "chain hotel atmosphere" or a luxury room, this is not the place for you. If you need a clean place to sleep the night while getting to play in the Dells, this is a great deal.
Easy walk to downtown attractions, riverwalk, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: It's a 2 story motel. Ask for ground floor if you can't do the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Polo
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is definitely a motel not a hotel or resort. That said...why stay at a hotel or resort for three times the cost when you can get everything for less? Yes, the tv is small however, I did not drive 200 miles for my children to sit in a hotel room and watch television. And, my children 13, 11, 9 watched the small tv before bedtime with not one complaint. Plenty of cable channels to choose from. The owners are friendly and helpful, the room and bathroom VERY clean, the microwave and fridge were a nice bonus. Although my children were dissappointed there wasn't a pool they were very excited for the free water park passes valid for EACH day of stay. (Chula Vista water park less than 5 minutes drive away). I enjoyed the fact that absolutely everything downtown is within walking distance so no need for mom to find/pay for parking. We stayed a Monday & Tuesday night in a double and it was $55 per night (including the waterpark tickets and a 25% savings coupon for many attractions). The money we saved by not staying at a resort allowed us to enjoy more attractions...definitely reccommend the Jet Boat Adventures. If we return to the Dells, we will return to the RIver Road Motel. I wouldn't waste money on a room we litterally just used to sleep in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011 via mobile

This is a great place to stay. Not a brand new motel or anything, but rooms have a microwave & fridge, and are clean with cheap rates. A smart choice if you'd rather spend more money on having fun in the Dells rather than just on your room. Easy walking distance from everything downtown, so no driving back from the bars at 2am.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2011

I was in the Dells with a group. I had to book more or less at the last minute and the motel where my group was staying was full. The rooms were in decent shape. The bathroom was clean but the shower had no water pressure and left something to be desired. The owner didnt seem to like noise when my wife hit the panic alarm button on her car remote instead of lock. He seemed drunk and yelled "SHUT UP" when the alarm was going off. Place is clean and near old downtown.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franksville, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

To be honest, no frills but a nice quiet and reasonably clean motel. Just a Saturday over nighter with one double bed and a cool air conditioned room on a HOT and HUMID August evening. Check in was effortless and though the stairs to the upper room could be non-negotiable after a few cocktails (steep), room was well kept and inviting after a day in the sun.

Located behind Nigs, I'd pick it over the Top Hat but both are showing their age and revamping is a distant thought. Short walk (under a block) to the OLD Dells downtown and shops and a great Sunday morning breakfast at the Keg just one more block from the main drag. The room could be a little cleaner with years of wear and imbedded grime on the arm of the chairs in front of the window but over all, it was $72.00 total with the tax and I'm sure it doesn't include maid service!

We've been to all the resorts and upper end hotels with the waterparks but if you're looking for "a bed for the night", highly recommended and when all those parks close in the winter, rates are even cheaper at the River Road. Only saying, economical room, quiet area and serves the purpose for a night!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

my wife and I spent 1 night here because everything else was sold out . we got the room for 65.00 for a saturday night, room was ok, nothing fancy just a basic older room wish tv was bigger, no swimming pool switched hotels for sunday night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Road Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Road Motel

Address: 828 River Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your River Road Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Road Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Road Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.