We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what a bar hopper needs.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Finch Motel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finch Motel
Save
You added Finch Motel to your Saves list
811 Oak Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Just what a bar hopper needs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Clean room right off the main strip in downtown Wisconsin Dells. Check in and try the local watering holes. Bar hopping and no worries on driving. The hotel is very well up kept and welcoming. No space to park if you have a trailer. Beds were firm and the only thing that may improve this motel would be an ice machine. The rooms were very quiet even being a half block off the main strip.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Super mid week rates starting at 57 a night. Motel is nothing fancy but extra clean accommodation . Beds comfoftable and free morning coffee each day. The oners are wonderful super helpful people. You also can recieve mount olympus water park tickets for 30 dollars off the regular price and good for up to 6 people so you only pay 15 dollars a ticket. Do the math still far cheeper then the places with tickets provided. Also many other discount tickets avalible with your stay at 25% off. So if you do not mind basic accommodation this place is well worth it. I would stay here again if in the area.

Room Tip: We got a second floor end room it was perfict with table and chairs set around the porch of our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here as we were passing through the dells from House on the Rock towards home. The room was only $50 which is amazing. There is no thrills, being no pool, no tickets to a park or anything, but it was cheap and close to the strip. My husband and I went out and had dinner, and than had a few drinks. It was a easy walk back, and the location of the hotel made for a fun night. There were no scary people around like most hotels, the service was great, the room was clean, the bathroom was nice, the bed was okay for a cheap hotel. The TV of course the old tube tv, and it was the actual key hotel, but what do you expect for $50? Over all I think it was a very fair room for the price. Check out is at 10:30 rather than 11:00 at most hotels, but again you get what you pay for. I would come here again if I were looking for a cheap room downtown dells.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I was in the Dells with a group and the usual motel I stay at was sold out. The finch had 1 room left, so i booked it. I was in room #5. Very nice room, hot shower, and nice cold A/C. The only drawback to this room was the Dells is very busy at night and you get some street noise. The owner was friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: Stay on the newer side of the motel....and not on the end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We went to the Dells for a fun couples' trip this past summer and wanted something inexpensive yet clean and by all of the action. The Finch totally exceeded our expectations. This is not a five star resort by any means... but for a group of couples who wanted to have a good time and be able to walk to the downtown bar scene..this is the place. The rooms are very basic as is the property, but everything was super clean. Service was great too!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I have to state that I was concerned after reading a few of reviews. No reason to worry. It is very clean. It is relatively inexpensive for the Dells. Yes, the towels are paper thin but the room was CLEAN. It is best to stay on the top floor.

Room Tip: stay on the upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

We were extremely pleased with the stay here. We had been staying outside of town, and found this location right off the downtown strip. We didn't need a pool considering we went to the waterpark, and 4 of us fit comfortably in the room. The owner was super friendly and when we needed anything, she was right on top of it (Extra toilet paper, cups, and even an ironing board and iron). I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Finch Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finch Motel

Address: 811 Oak Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 12

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Finch Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.