We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Moon Cafe

River Moon Cafe
Hwy 12/16/13, Lower Dells Boat Docks, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
(608) 254-4141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

After we thought all hope was lost to find a great dinner in the dells (house of embers was terrible), we found this place. Great food, great view, loved our romanian waitress. Fun atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    9
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a good experience here. It's not really what I would want for an evening meal but for lunch they have a nice selection and the food tasted very good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“It was just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

3 of us ate here after seeing it a few days before when we rode the jetboats. It's OK but it was obvious that day that that particular cashier had a problem with the English language. He had to go over the order 2 times after we ordered, and each time he had one of the orders as something we didn't order. As we were ordering, a waitress came up to him and pointed out where he got the wrong order on a ticket so obviously he should not have been in that position. Even ordering the simple drinks he had to ask twice. We did however get the correct order.

So by the time the food came, which was a little long, our drinks were empty and we ask the lady that brought our food if refills were free and she said she wasn't sure but would check. We couldn't start eating without drink so we waited. I Can't say how long it was but it was too long so my son took our drinks up to the counter but came back and said there was a long line. I told him go right to where the cashier is. He was told that he did the right thing by not waiting in the line and refills were free.

There is a fairly big screen TV in there so we were able to watch the olympics while eating. The cafe as clean and nice but really small. Wouldn't want to come when busy, which it wasn't this time.The food was good, but nothing to write home about. They also have ice cream that is average but pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, wi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good and Fresh with a Nice View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I work in the Dells and this is where I go to eat to get freshly made food. There are a variety of sandwiches but I go there for the three salad sampler. They also have an ice cream stand with other delicious homemade deserts. The prices are good and the outdoor seating is lovely. This is the place to go for real food made by real people!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkville, IL
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice deli.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Had lunch here with the family while waiting for shuttle to boat tour. Not huge variety but everything was good. Pricey. $4.25 for good size hot dog and fruit salad. Did give water for Pumpkin bread was tasty as were salads. $4.75 for half sandwich.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River Moon Cafe also viewed

 

Been to River Moon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Moon Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.