We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is AWESOME!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchcliff Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchcliff Resort
Save
You added Birchcliff Resort to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   4149 River Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This place is AWESOME!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We looked at SO many places and it was hard to find one that would accommodate our annual 4 day, 3 night LARGE family reunion. Birchcliff offered enough cabins which varied in size and price, including being dog friendly for our family members who feel strongly about bringing their beloved pups along. We could not have been happier, all 70 of us! The campfire area is wonderful, encircled with wooden adirondack chairs in all sizes that were hand made by one of the family members who run and own Birchcliff. What an amazing caring thing to do for their guests. One of my 80 year old uncles was recovering from back surgery and when the owner saw how much trouble he had walking, he and his son offered to give him and my Aunt a ride to our family dinners in the dining hall in the golf carts they use to take care of the grounds. These people don't just "run" Birchcliff.... they LOVE what they do and it comes through by the way they treat their guest. Oh, and it is beautiful & well cared for. You would never know how close it is to all the hub bub of the Dells and it's attractions. As for me, I was happy staying right there for the four days while younger family members were off at a water park. We had a moonlight swim instead. :-)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in one of the duplex cabins with the loft. Our two young sons loved the spiral staircase to the loft area. The room was nice and comfortable. It was great having a full size fridge and the 2 burner cook top - we saved a lot on meals. The grounds are nice and the resort was very quiet which was great. The pool was perfect.

If I could suggest one thing, it is that the owners set aside some funds every few years to update the rec room and sporting equipment. The rec room games were falling apart. My boys love air hockey, but the puck was so worn that there was no raised edge under it to allow the air to lift it. The only ping pong ball for the table was dented. Outside the basketball was completely bald and worn and the tennis equipment was in pretty bad shape. I realize that not many people play those games anymore, but it was fun to have them available for young kids who still do enjoy them - just wish the equipment was in better shape.

Overall I would recommend this place as a great place for families that is close to the attractions, and very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We came here right at the end of June. We had a group of 9 people and we LOVED it.

The cabin we got was right as you drove up and had a communal fire pit right behind it. That was nice because it meant we didn't have to go far to be by the fire. We were also right close to the pool. The weekend we went during was colder and rainy but we were still able to enjoy a dip in the pool.

The cabin itself was awesome! It had central air which was awesome. There were 2 room on the first floor and then a attic room with an additional 2 beds. The living room was nice and the BEST part was that there was a 10 person dining table. This was great becuase it meant we all got to sit together and enjoy our emails. The kitchen utensils were plenty and we were able to cook everything with them - steaks, shrimp, chicken, vegetables, salad, etc. The place really had everything we needed.

The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were nice. Everyone in our party really enjoyed themselves. One of the best parts about this place was that it was only about 1.5 miles away from downtown wisconsin dells yet it was situated in the woods so you felt like you were really getting "away". There is also a little trail that was about 3/4ths of a mile which would lead you to the beach where you could fish or even swim.

I would definitely stay here again. We never heard anyone else, the grounds were clean, the cabins were great and the staff was awesome. Loved this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beresford, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Thank you Joe and Janice and family for a wonderful stay at Brichcliff! My husband and 3 kids ages 8,11 and 15 had a great time. This resort has everything we need - a WARM pool, game room with ping pong, foosball, carpetball, outdoor games. Elwood the goat (called Mr Chubbs by us) was a major hit with the kids and Gordy (Jingles to us) was the friendliest cat we have ever met. We also liked the trail and access to the lake and fishing. Be careful though, getting down to the water is rather steep and you can pick up a tick or two on the way. The cabins were nice, clean and spacious for the 5 of us - we stayed in the duplex with the loft. We were the only ones using the pool - they do give free tickets to Chula Vista which is really close to the resort. My kids were anxious to get back from the water parks so we could hang out at "our place" and play games and swim.
A really nice place with really nice people.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanoBanano, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
I remember your wonderful family very well, we enjoyed having you stay with us. Your comments have filled my heart and sole with joy. I am thrilled to know you had such good experiences while you stayed with us. And yes.......Elwood the goat and Gordy the cat enjoyed you as well !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our large geographically displaced family made plans to meet in the Dells for a vacation. Only two family members knew the area. The rest of us were coming from other states. I dont understand where the one lady is saying about the staff AT ALL! They were great! They helped make the stay relaxing and fun for us for the week.
The large pool was clean and inviting. Lots of stuff for the kids to do. We had two special needs kids, and they had a great time. Every night theres a supervised campfire.
About cleanliness: There are many cabin sizes and styles to choose from. One cabin style had two levels. The lower level was partially underground, and did have a mildew issue. When I inquired with the staff, they came right away to clean. The problem is they use green cleaning products that might not do the whole job, and our large group with multiple showers and towels from the pool, it was a lot of humidity, too much for the fan to dry up. We understood it's a cabin, not the taj mahal! And the staff cleaned frequently enough to keep dirt at bay.
So i would recommend birchcliff to anybody looking for a relaxing informal resort. We will definitely be back when we return to the Dells.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

OK now that our life has settled i would like to say this place was awesome we stayed in one of the cabins for a week and got very familiar with our surrounding cabin was awesome scenery was ammaxing and the hicking trail that leads to the beach perfect for a honeymoon!!! and not to mention the owners of the place were so loveable!!! we had a blast!! definetly going to be coming back!!! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanoBanano, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
A perfect honeymoon could be anyplace, as long as you are together as one, as in life.
You chose Birchcliff - WOW !!! How awesome is that !!!
I am thrilled and humbled that you chose us for such an occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I was really hesitant to stay at a cabin. I stayed in a horrible cabin in Indiana when I was little and never wanted to try it again. However, we needed a place near Wisconsin Dells that accepts dogs and decided to try Birchcliff (based on the positive reviews). Everything about it was WONDERFUL! The owner checked us in, and she was really friendly and helpful. Our little cabin was perfectly clean and comfortable. The water was super hot and the fireplace was pretty. There is a great trail through the woods to the beach. Our dog especially enjoyed that! I loved floating in the sparkling clean pool underneath the tall trees. There is a swing set, ping-pong table, pool table and some other things in the Rec Room. We never made it to the campfire at night, but I love that it's there! The best part about it was that there was no ice machine going off at 2 a.m. or children running up and down the hallway at all hours of the night, like at the bigger hotels. The property is so peaceful and the scenery is so beautiful that you can't help but relax! Thanks, Birchcliff! We will definitely be back!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JanoBanano, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Pets are family members, and they too need a vacation !!
I am happy that your pets needs led you to us and you had a good cabin experience.
Missed out on the nightly campfires ? Not to worry, the forest and God are good to us....we have plenty of wood for your next visit.
Great people meet one another at the campfire !!
Thank - You for taking the time to write. We appreciate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchcliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchcliff Resort

Address: 4149 River Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchcliff Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wooded, cabin resort surrounded by State Forest. Peaceful, outdoor setting. Activities on-site include outdoor pool (open seasonally), basketball/tennis, ping pong, shuffleboard, horseshoes, hiking trail to beach along river, community campfire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchcliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.