We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Time away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Birchcliff Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Birchcliff Resort
Save
You added Birchcliff Resort to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   4149 River Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Grand Haven, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Time away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

My wife and kids spent 3 days here. The service was outstanding. It was quiet. The walk to the river was wonderful. The staff was great and helpful. My girls loved their two new kittens. This was the perfect place to see the Dells area.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank - You so much for the compliments !! Oh yes, the walk to the river, getting back to nature is a wonderful thing. Baby deer were spotted along the path yesterday. The kittens have sure enjoyed the attention, but growing way too fast. Good to hear of your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Elgin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We found them looking for dog friendly sites in Wisconsin Dells. We rented for a week in August with my dogs and kids. We had a great time. Very clean and felt like a community. Everyone was so freindly. The people we did meet were regulars that keep coming back.
Our biggest thing is dog friendly resorts because we do take them with us.

The cabin was dated but it's exactly what we expected, the pool was clean and great in hot weather! The community bonfire at night is great way to meet people. We went one night after 10pm, were real quiet but then people just started coming out, it went from our party of 4 to like 10 people total just talking and cooking smores. There is a really nice walk thru the woods to the nice beach on the river with cliff that people were jumping off. There is so much to do here, trail hikes thru the woods, and just down the street is Witch's Gully. Can't wait to try it this June!

It's really nice to have Chula Vista water park passes. Everything is so expensive elsewhere. I love the dells but this resort gives you the feel of being in the North Woods and just a couple miles north of downtown hussle and bussle. We brought our bikes to ride thru the woods, which we will do more of that next time.

We already did everything downtown, next time is more for being with our dogs and outdoors. Great way to keep cost down to bbq outside. Air conditioners work great also.

The owners, Dailene and her husband really do make you feel like your family or really close friends. We will be returning every year. This will be our second time coming in June 2012.

I would highly recommend this resort for dog owners and family reunions. The newer cabins look great and more updated. But we are dog owners and they go with us everywhere on vacations.

You have to try this resort and you'll never want to stay in the loud, cramped and expensive hotels again.

Room Tip: look at all the cabins on their website. really nice resort just north of downtown right on the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

Found this cabin resort via trip advisor and i'd honestly recommend them to anyone with a few words of advice.

Pros:
*Staff was the most friendly I've ever dealt with. The lady that runs the place, can't remember her name Janine I think, was extremely friendly and when we needed firewood and they were out she actually brought it up to our cabin.
*Location was great. Far enought out of town for peace and queit yet close enough for a less than 5 minute drive.
*Wood burning fireplace. You have to like these to consider it a pro but I certainly do.
*Cabin was actually much nicer than it looked on the internet. True log cabin feel.
*Comes with waterpark passes to Chula Vista. We didn't use these because our friends wanted to go to Kalahari, but after paying for Kalahari we realized the value of them.

Cons:
*The cabins aren't the highest in style and amenities and some aspects of them are a bit dated. I don't need towels folded into animals, but they could update their tv's (signal was poor) and the refridgerator was leftover from the 70's. Also could see some areas where they cut corners in building such as the plywood under the bed and pictures screwed onto the walls. Again it was fine for what we were looking for
*The first day we were there it was warm, which brought some ugly looking bugs. Don't know what they were but I picked them up and threw them outside. This is part of being out in a wooded area if you've ever camped before, but they should probably get some Ortho Home Defense to spray around the cabins.
*The beds are uncomfortable as mentioned by others, but they are replacing them this year and in fact replaced ours during our stay. It was much better with the new bed.
*Come at the right time. There are a lot of things someone can do on the grounds (have to like outdoor activities like horshoe, shuffleboard, tennis) but we came so early in the year they were wasted on us

Overall:
If you are tired of hotels where you're next to/on top of/below your neighbors this place is perfect for you. They build a campfire in the middle of the grounds everynight which is nice to relax after a day out. You must be willing to accept that you won't get your cabin cleaned everyday and the furnishings are on the low end, but ignore that and spend your time enjoying the relaxation of the grounds which is really nice to just walk around. Also, and this is the most important part, their staff (the one we met) is #1 for service and friendliness.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sundogtn, Manager at Birchcliff Resort, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank - You for your honest review. This will help us to service our customers better in the future.
Yes, some of our cabins are dated in style.
We have begun this season with refurnishing and comfort in mind.
Many of our cabins have new window dressings. NEW PILLOWS !!!!!!
Many have NEW BEDS !!!!, and headboards.
And YES, we are upgrading many of our television sets.
The bugs........well, We are in the woods. This is a constant battle, one of which we would prefer to win. We will keep on them.
Thank - You again for your concerns, they are a value to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

I'm so glad we decided to stay st Birchcliff! The staff was incredibly helpful and the added water park passes were a plus. The cabin was rustic but had all the modern day amenities. It was cozy and in such a beautiful area. Just a quick drive to the downtown Dells. I would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011 via mobile

We (1, 3, mom, dad, grandma) stayed 3 nights which was a nice length of time to see the Dells. Cabins were comfortable and family-friendly, activities fun and readily accessible. Passes to Chula Vista were included. My girls liked the little playground and the 3 y.o. called it "my cabin! My cabin!" Beds were not quite so comfortable and cell service is bad in the area.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We had a wonderful time at Birchcliff. If you're looking to get away from the big resorts, but still only be a 5 minute drive from the attractions, Birchcliff is for you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just got back from a weekend in the Dells. Two of those nights were spent at the Birchcliff. The property itself is very well-maintained. There is a definite peace and tranquility vibe as soon as you go up the drive through the trees to get to the main office. The resort is made of up cabins, the log cabins are the newer additions to the property and the red cabins in the pictures are what are called "Old Time cabins". The Birchcliff website has pictures of all.
We stayed in Old Time #12. And let me tell you it is OLD Time! At first impression I was disappointed BUT it was VERY clean, and to be fair it is an older cabin and I knew that before I booked. The older cabins are very dated and it shows through the carpet and the furnishings. The lights are dim in the living area but when we come to the Dells all we need is a place to sleep. That particular cabin backs up to the road but it's far enough off the road that you can't hear any traffic.
The TV worked. The bathroom was fine - no problems with plumbing. Even nice enough to provide soaps and facial towelettes. The kitchen was updated. Decent-sized refrigerator (not full size but not dorm-room size either), microwave, and two burners. Big kitchen sink and super hot water. You get pots and pans and wash cloths and dishwashing liquid.
We didn't have any problems with over-population of insects like another reviewer. We had one cricket that made more entertainment for the kids.
The pool is clean. Our neighbors that weekend were very quiet and it was very nice - one of them was a guitar player and he played one evening!
I noticed nightly bonfires. Plenty of room for kids to run around.
The office has a little store with some essentials which is a nice touch. They have beer, wine, water. They also have toiletries, shirts and sweatshirts. And S'mores kits, which I thought was cute. There is a dining hall next to the office but I didn't go in so don't know the story on that. Also very neat that you can get to the hiking trails right from the Birchcliff grounds.
Bottom line: If you are looking for a luxurious getaway stay in one of the newer cabins. The owners are super nice. The proximity to downtown and the rest of the parks is close. The water park passes are definitely a plus!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Birchcliff Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birchcliff Resort

Address: 4149 River Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Birchcliff Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A wooded, cabin resort surrounded by State Forest. Peaceful, outdoor setting. Activities on-site include outdoor pool (open seasonally), basketball/tennis, ping pong, shuffleboard, horseshoes, hiking trail to beach along river, community campfire. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Birchcliff Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.