We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Value-for Winter stay in the Dells-close to shops, skiing, water parks by far the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Indianapolis, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best Value-for Winter stay in the Dells-close to shops, skiing, water parks by far the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

Did a lot of research to determine what would be the best place to stay in December in the Dells. Kids are 11, 9 & 7 - wanted to stay three days- waterparks and local skiing. Could not decide based on several widely varying reviews of all Dells locations - decided to drive up, check out the hotels and make a decision on site.
Because we wanted to take the kids skiing for the first time, and we were on a budget - we decided to check out Christmas mountain skiing - because Mount Olympus offered "free skiing and tubing" with stay - but reviews were mainly poor for that location. Christmas mountain looked online like a small ski area, and Cascade nearby had better reviews. When we arrived at Christmas mountain, we thought it would be sufficient for new skiiers - just two lifts, and a bunny hill plus the tubing area. The ski rental shop worker informed us that the Atlantis stay would give you either the lift ticket or a two hour tubing pass - you would still have to rent equipment. Next we drove to Mount Olympus - which seems like a great place in the summer, did not have much of a waterpark to offer indoors. We also discovered we would only be given the Christmas Mountain passes for one day of our three night stay. The water park was very small - no real pool - just a lazy river, bucket splash area, and a couple of small slides.
Next stope was Chula Vista - which is very nice and affordable - nice indoor halls to get to the water park, but the water park was on the small side, and no real pool to speak of.

Next we toured Wilderness and it was a no brainer - we chose to stay there for our three day stay. The room was a little "worn" - but nice - room for everyone to have a place to sleep with our family of five - the sofa bed was surprisingly comfortable, and the kids actually fought over who would get to sleep in it.

The three water park areas were awesome. The wave pool is the biggest I've seen in any indoor waterpark. The deep end is six feet - and waves are large! Pretty cool to hang out by the pool and see the snow deep outside. Two family raft rides in this area.

The "hot tub" waterpark area had an indoor/outdoor hot tub which the kids LOVED. Lazy river was nice, had a bucket dump kids area, and three large slides. The hurricane is a little much - too high, kind of scary - my 11 yo bruised his face and cut his lip on his knee on it - the drop is almost a direct 90 degree drop into the huge tunnel going VERY fast. I do not recommend it - but for daredevils - it is right up there with the thrill rides.

The last waterpark is mainly a kiddie pool which would be so awesome for the under five crew - we didn't use it, but would have loved to at younger kids ages.

The resort has a few shops, and restaurants - we didn't eat there . The Dells in winter is limited to what you can do - over half of the restaurants, shops and attractions are closed. The outlet mall is very close to Wilderness and is fairly decent - but not huge.

Cascade was awesome! It is expensive, but they make it affordable with the kids ski free. Still havet o rent the skiis, but we bought just one lift ticket and got all three kids lift tickets at no charge. The equipment rental process was very organized and moved quickly and we were on the slopes in no time. I think we made the better choice to ski there over Christmas mountain.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    711
    502
    243
    169
    165
See reviews for
1236
83
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring Grove, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

Each year our family and all my brothers and sister and their spouse's and children go to the Wilderness, with this size of group we always stayed in the Condos, but over the years we had to scale it up to the 5 bedroom cabin. When staying in the Condos I did notice the furnishings were worn out and needed to be replaced. So, this year we stayed in the 5 bedroom Cabin, it was such a nice place and everything seemed brand new and clean. With the amount of children we had it was plenty of room for the kids to still be kids. I think the best part of the Cabins are the huge deck which also acts as a second gathering area and eating area. In the evenings the adults really enjoyed relaxing on the deck after bedtime without kids! Also, the waterpark are great! You can hit a different one each day!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medinah, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2010

Kids had fun but were happy to go back home after one night.
During the night, it was too hot and the air was dry.
I get unpleasant "jokes" from guesses that made my stay non enjoyable.
I only stayed for the kids and I will not go back. It was a waste of money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

We had not stayed at the Wilderness for a few years and decided on a spur of the moment to stop and stay on our way home from Minnesota. The last few years we have stayed at the Kalahari. I was so disappointed with the cleanliness. Mostly the hallways... they were disgusting .. very, very dirty.. and people's towels laying everywhere and just filthy. We upgraded to a villa so we would have more than one bedroom and the room was fairly clean but it looked like it had been used hard ... things looked battered and not what you would think a room like this would look like. The waterparks are too far apart and compared to the Kalahari it was VERY chilly in the indoor waterpark areas, almost too cold. I was disappointed in all the teenagers running around, yelling, running through the halls.. obscene language.. will not be going back to the Wilderness, but will stick to the Kalahari.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2010

We chose the Wilderness on the Lake because we had 3 couples and wanted to all be together at an affordable price. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo that was 1500 square feet with laundry, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen, 4 TV's, 2 fireplaces, and a 4 person whirlpool. It was very big, decorated well, and very clean. The location was a bit inconvenient having to take a shuttle to get back and forth from the 3 main water parks as the one at the Lake is mostly for young children. The wait each way could be 15 minutes plus the 10 minute ride time. The temp at the parks was a bit cool even when you were dry and the towels were not much larger than a hand towel. Lot's of restaurants and a few shops. We had an awesome time but would not stay at the Lake again just because of the shutting back and forth.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at Wilderness. We had a nice comfy room with 2 queen beds. Room had a large HD flat screen TV, refrigerator & microwave. Beds & pillows were nice and comfy. Only one complaint I had was the heating unit got noisy at times. It even woke me up earlier then I wanted to be up.

Waterparks are nice. Big waterparks with a lot to do. Lots of cool waterslides. Nice big wave pool.

Breakfast buffet says "kids 12 and under eat free". It was just me and my 13 yr old daughter. Final bill with 2 drinks was $20. Did my kid really "eat free"?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2010

This was our second year at the Wilderness, we love this resort for the kids! I would not stay anywhere else in the Wisconsin Dells. I love that everything you need is right at the resort. The water parks are wonderful, the staff is very nice, and the hotels are very clean. I will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#12 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.