We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
N Saint Paul
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This place was huge. 1st... room was clean and bigger that a normal hotel room. We stayed in the hotel part of the complex. It was in our price range.
2nd...the water parks were great, I wish they had more water slides that were not dark. More slides in and out would have been good.
3rd...we were tired, the place is huge and keeps you busy.
4th..would good again the only bad part is they nickle and dime you for everything. Pretty expensive but would go again. My friend stayed at another place down the street the same 2 days as we did and did not have the positive experience we did.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    677
    485
    238
    167
    163
See reviews for
1189
83
1
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Just returned from a 3 night / 4 day stay at the Wilderness Frontier Condos, this was our 1st visit at this resort. We had a 3 bedroom condo for 2 adults and 4 kids (8 & 12). It worked out great for our group. We were able to cook the majority of our meals in the condo. If you have a special pot/pan, make sure to bring it with. As the condo does have cooking supplies but the quality is subpar. Also make sure to bring extra potholders, 2 mini ones are provided. Other than that, everything was great. As many others have commented, there is a lot of walking at this resort. However, we made the walk, took our car or used the shuttles. The resort had a lot of options for the kids, if you are staying a few nights, I would suggest investing in one of their fun passes. We have stayed at the other main resorts in the dells, and I found this one to be the best for age of the kids we had with us. No one was bored.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This was the best hotel I've been to in the Dells. Had a 1yr old, 11, 12 AND 16 year old, each and everyone had a blast, even the adults. I would deffinately recommend this hotel and ONLY this hotel. 8 waterparks in one location, what more could we ask for.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a family to get away without spending a fortune. Friendly staff and a nice environment for a family with a wide range of things for all age groups. The only complaint I have is there outdoor water parks are for the most part outdated.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We had a great time, but were very glad we stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake - much smaller an quieter than the main part of the resort and just across the lake. There is a water taxi and shuttle to take guests to the larger part of the resort. We had our 3 1/2 year old grand-daughter with us and the size was perfect for her. If we had older teens, the larger part of the resort probably would have been our choice. We had a nice three bedroom condo - one king bed and ensuite with Jacuzzi (master), one queen, and one room with two queens - so plenty of sleeping space for up to 8 people. The lakeside view from the porch was lovely. There was some evidence of good use - a few knobs missing on the furniture in the lobby and normal wear in the condo - but that was to be expected at the end of the summer. Not elegant, but comfortable and the kitchen was outfitted with all that we needed. There was a small stackable washer-dryer and other amenities like an iron and ironing board, vacuum cleaner, etc. The Walmart is only 10 minutes away, so we were able to cook many meals and SO MANY GOOD DEALS AND COUPONS came with the flyers and coupon books. Golfers who stay at the Wilderness also get a good discount on the excellent golf course there. We enjoyed the Tommy Barlett water show (coupon gave us $10 off per ticket!), the Duck ride on the lower Dells, and the long boat ride on the upper Dells as well as the horse and buggy ride through the lost canyon. Our daughter and son-in-law said the House on the Rock (a 45 minute drive away) was a NOT TO BE MISSED experience. The Wisconsin Dells are right on the main Amtrack line - which we did not know, or we may have come in by train from Chicago for airline tickets that were much cheaper than our flying into Madison (45 minutes away.) The location is SO EASY to find. Beautiful scenery and lots of entertainment and restaurants to fit all budgets. (The Field is a little pricey for an average income.) The resort also has numerous gas grills outside on a large patio for use by the guests. There is also an outlet mall very close by with excellent prices on Coach bags and purses and clothing stores.

Room Tip: Ask NOT to be near the vending machines or stairs - even with carpet there are lots of kids going up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My family spent a Friday and Saturday night. We had a wonderful time. Everything you could possible want to do is right on site. While we did venture to the "usual" spots in the Dells, we spent most of our time at the site. People fare all knowledgeable and extremely polite. I actually felt that they were happy that I stayed with them which always makes a more pleasant stay. Thanks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We stayed with our adult children and our room was away (but a very short walk) from the water park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the resort and we plan on re-visiting again soon! We enjoyed being around the resort and having fun at the water parks! Our room was bigger than we thought and we enjoyed every second of our time spent at the resort. You will never get bored at the resort, for kids there is always something to do and for the adults there is always some relaxing time as well. I would recommend this resort to anyone. Come and stay here and you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Resort to your Saves list