We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“couples weekend” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Save
You added Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“couples weekend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were very happy with the room. Good size bedroom but not thrilled about the small bathroom. Being a couple with no kids; we didn't use any of the facilities... I do feel like they should warn you about the $9.95 charge (per day) for a resort fee which u pay for whether you use any of the facilities or not. " (A resort fee is a mandatory daily fee of $9.95 to cover the costs associated with providing the highest level of service for our guests. Included in this fee: daily guest newspapers, pool towel service, resort wide "green" initiatives (recycling, earth-friendly chemicals), use of fitness centers, in-room coffee, daily kids' activities, Wilderland park and movie area (seasonal), a discount coupon book for local attractions and more. Housekeeping gratuities are not included in this fee and are at the discretion of our guests.)" We didn't even pay such a fee at WDW with all the things they have at each of their resorts. p.s. Room service???

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,918 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    537
    262
    171
    169
See reviews for
1,319
88
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed with another family at Glacier Canyon on our most recent visit to the Wilderness. Had a 3 bedroom suite that was perfect for our group (two families - 4 adults/4 kids). Kids had a blast at the waterparks, and when it was time to dry out, got to experience some "dry" fun-filled activities courtesy of the Wild Fun pass. Ropes course was a big hit for the kids (ages 7-11). We were by entrance 3 at Glacier Canyon - which was perfect for access to Wild Rock Golf Club. We could walk from the parking lot to the golf course. (Great location for those looking to escape for a round on an awesome course!) Can't wait for our next visit to the Wilderness!

Room Tip: For golfers that want easy access/walking distance to Wild Rock Golf Club, ask for rooms by Glacier...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Wilderness during the off-season and had a great time. The resort had a lot to do for our family with young children, age 7 down to 2. When we booked the stay we were mostly planning on the waterparks but we found a lot of additional things to do. During the off season and during the week (when we stayed) they have two of the three indoor waterparks open. We found them perfect for our kids, very clean and they were not crowded at all. In addition to that we played on a huge, free, indoor playground, indoor mini golf and arcade.

While in the arcade I spoke with a custodian who gave his advice on their resort. He said that the worst time to come is Spring Break. During that time there are lots of people and they are confined to only the indoor attractions. There are a lot of people in the summer but they are much more spread out between all of the indoor and outdoor attractions. He suggested looking on their website for deals because they periodically have some really good specials available online. The other thing he suggested was the $19.00 adventure pass. it covers many of the things that are not free but for a much cheaper price than paying as you go.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Well, we keep going back to the Wilderness and it just keeps getting better every year. The rooms are immaculate and well kept. The kids loved the ropes course, which is a recently new attraction. They even liked it better than laser tag, which I didn't think was possible. My friends and I were able to get in a round of golf at the Wild Rock. If you want to play one of the top courses in the state, all you have to do is walk across the parking lot and it's there, waiting for the challenge. Amazing course and crew that manages the facility.

As we were driving home, the kids were already asking when we can come back again. Thanks Wilderness!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tinley Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We just returned from our second stay at the wilderness in the past three months. We had such a good time. The hotel is absolutely beautiful-very clean waterpark too. My son had such a good time-this was his birthday gift. The hotel gave us a free fun pass for our son because it was his birthday. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They usually will give you a free room upgrade. They upgraded us to a double suite with a wetbar and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We went with our 4 kids for 2 night stay over our spring break in April. We had a room with 2 queens and roll-out bed from couch. The room slept 6 comfortably but if you planning on spending a lot of time in your room I would opt for one step up, possibly a suite or cabin. We did not spend a lot of time in our room so it was perfect for us. We arrived late wed afternoon and checked out friday morning, which gave us wed night and all day thurs at the water park ( which was plenty). Did not do arcade or anything else. There was a walk to the pools but kids didn't mind and always buses available if you didn't want to walk. The kids enjoyed the water park and would like to return in the summer for outdoor water park and attractions. The grounds look very nice, The pools were nice temperature and everything appeared clean. So overall enjoyed our stay and will try to return in summer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed a Sunday - Wednesday in April (off-season) with our 2 year old son. We were aware ahead of time that one of the four indoor water parks would be closed, which was not a big deal. The other 3 water parks were great. The temperature in the water parks was nice and warm and the water was the same. My son was able to enjoy playing in the water for hours without getting cold. That was a nice detail that may go over looked by others. The arcade was fun at night but the play area for kids, which was like a massive tree house, was awesome. My son loved it and I loved that it was big enough to go in with him since it was 4 stories tall and other older children were playing in there as well.

The rooms were clean and well laid out. We stayed on the 3rd floor which was probably a good move on our end cause when we first arrived you could very easily hear the kids running on the floor above you. A small complaint is that we fed our son in our room and the floor had a good amount of crumbs on it. The maids didn't do a good job at vacuuming as there were areas that weren't vacuumed at all. Small detail but it was noticed.

Since we did go to the Dells off season much of the things to do off the resort were closed but we didn't find this a problem since there is so much to do at the Wilderness. We were never looking for something to do.

We did go to the Wilderness on the Lake - Cubby Cove water park which was smaller than the other water parks but we were the only ones there so it was great to have the run of the place.

I think this is a great place for families, especially those with kids that love the water. We plan on going back and suggest others to stay as well.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.