We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay at the Wilderness Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Save
You added Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Birthday stay at the Wilderness Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have been going to the Wilderness Resort in Wisconsin Dells for 10 years. It's great service and ammenities will have us returning for another 10. The condos are great for big families or groups. It is nice to be able to cook meals, especially on longer stays. For a treat we stayed at the Lake, it was fun in the summer because there was a beach and taking the pontoon boat to the main waterpark was a treat. Indoor park at the Lake could use a little updating and the water was cold, but was o.k. for little kids.

Room Tip: We have stayed at the condos, hotel and on the lake. All have been good. We like the higher up roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    536
    262
    171
    169
See reviews for
1,318
88
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minooka, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Everyone was very friendly. There was a choice of three indoor waterparks open over the weekend each a little different and some better than others for little kids. Our grandkids 9 & 11
loved the Hurricane and Black Hole. We also purchased the wild fun pass for things to do in non-pool time.
The quality of the food at the Wild Kanyon Cafe buffet was better than 99% of buffets out there. Everything was fresh and kept at appropriate temperatures with a good variety. We even went back our second night we were so impressed--especially since kids under 12 eat free!

Room Tip: This place is huge, so plan on doing a lot of walking (or shuttle). I don't know that there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have 3 kids ages 4-9, and they loved being able to explore this resort. They loved going back and forth from the wave pool to the other waterparks. It is very crowded on the weekends. We went from Thursday night to Saturday morning. It seemed like we had the park to ourselves until Friday evening, and then it got crowded quickly and the lines tripled in size. Some of the rooms are a bit dated, but still a good value and we ended up spending very little time in the room, so it didn't matter to us.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My family and I have been visiting the Wilderness every year for the last four. We always stay on the Wyndham side in the condos. The condos are beautiful and very comfortable. We love cooking our own meals, so we don't have to get dressed for dinner out. After visiting four times, I would think things would get boring for us, but my husband, kids, and I all had a great time once again last weekend. We love the wave pool, which we think is one of the best (we have been to many waterparks around the country). Loved the rope climbing course, lazer tag, and bumper boats. We stayed until 3:00 on Sunday, which is later than we have ever stayed, and found the waterparks very empty after 1:00. We were able to jump on slides without any waits. I always purchase the condo rental through Ebay and I have never had any issues. We have visited in the fall, winter, and spring break, crowds are always the worse on Saturday afternoon. My kids keep asking to go in the Summer to check out all the outdoor fun, but we have never made it. We will be visiting again next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visited here with my SIL and her family of five. Ages of kids were 2, 4, 9 and 11. There are so many things to choose from, with three separate indoor water park areas and an indoor play area with arcade. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. I especially like the suites with the privacy wall and pullout couch - this works great for larger families. We loved that the rooms come with a fridge and microwave so you can bring some of your own food and save some money. We ate breakfast and snacks in the room, ate out one night and ordered pizza in another. As for the water park areas - they each offer something a little different, from the wave pool, several different slides, lazy river, and splash pads for little ones. The kids won't get bored! And when everyone is done with being wet, their indoor play area is great too - not only sporting a large arcade, but also a free climbing area with balls you can shoot from different levels. I can't really compare to other indoor water parks in the Dells area as this is the only one we've visited, but from what I've read and what we've experienced, this is the one we would return to.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Our 2nd trip to Wilderness. Stayed at Glacier in the time share. Of course, love the water parks, rooms are awesome. Had been reading that the customer service was not great when I lost my camera. Called & left an e-mail. Lost & found responded right away to both. Turned out that we found it ourselves but was impressed at their response. Also found many of the life guards & even towel "people (?)" were downright cheerful, friendly & helpful. Even just walking through the hallway got many smiles & greetings from employees. We will be back & rec. to anyone who asks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Took a few years off from the Wilderness after a not so pleasant trip a few years ago. But you can't beat the Wilderness room options. The condo's are great for large groups and kids. Even extra space to bring a few neighborhood kids. The water parks are a little crowded on the weekends and Cabana's are almost a must unless you want to 'claim' a chair when the pool opens. Our kids are all over 12 years old so the ability to walk from pool to pool or take the shuttle back to the condo is awesome. Parents can sit in the Cabana and relax (and enjoy the drink service) Great place for big groups or multi generations.

Room Tip: Condo's are my favorite option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.