We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Resort
Save
You added Wilderness Resort to your Saves list
511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Coal City
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Wildreness Resort is a top of the line, excellent family resort! The amentities were excellent, customer service impeccable, location is remarkable, plenty for small (toddlers) children through teens to see & do. The water parks, were spacious well planned areas with plenty of room for all. They had indoor activities, play areas, arcades, and water parks if the weather is not cooperating. It is extremely huge, in saying that there is plenty of walk ways, sky walks and shuttles to get you from one part of the resort to the next. There were plenty of restuarants, eateries & even a candy shoppe if you have a sweet tooth. Pricing on the food was a little on the high side, ( alcoholic beverages as well), but it is a trade off for not having to leave the resort; which you really did not need to do unless you wanted to. Our family enjoyed our stay so much we have decided to try some of the other locations and amenities that we did not use in our first stay. This will be our site to stay when we return year after year, we loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    536
    262
    171
    169
See reviews for
1,318
88
2
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Parts Unknown
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This was our second stay at the Wilderness Resort. The resort is so large and so spread out you will generally have a long walk no matter where you want to go. Just know that before you go. We went in what is still their off season...and it showed. Attendance was way down (as it is so far throughout the Dells). Not all of the water parks were running even though they will say they are "open". The outdoor parks that were running were on limited hours. Some of that I'm sure is due to attendance but I think more likely lack of lifeguard (school is still in session there). The indoor parks seemed to run on a regular schedule. My boys - 10 and 7 - spent hours in the wave pool (very nice).
Our room was just average but what I expected. The beds were HORRIBLE. They were as hard as a rock. I spent most of our two night sleeping on the coach. The room was clean and well stocked. I paid for a ground floor, pool view room - which I did get, however it was overlooking a closed waterpark with obvious mechanical issues.
The staff was pleasant and professional - no problems but nothing outstanding to mention either. The only meal we ate on site was at the Wild Canyon cafe buffet. The best customer service the the Wilderness can be found here. The food is just average however and in my opinion overpriced.
I'm sure we will be back again because the kids love the place. I just feel they could do better.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Beloit, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We just came back. It was overall pretty nice. There was lots for the girls to do. The room was big and the beds were comfy. The water was still pretty cold outside, but it was pretty cold outside and just opened that weekend. There were tiles coming off of the hot tub outside and lots of grime at the bottom.

Parents dont watch there children either. From under 1 and up kids were just running around and acting bad (not the resorts fault.) It was confusing trying to get around at first. But the maps are a big help. We dont live to far away and we will definitely be back, soon!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed here on the Friday before Memorial Day. It wasn't too crowded but still a good amount of people. My biggest issue was spending so much time trying to navigate accross the resort to find where we were going. For dinner, we wanted to go to the steakhouse and had to ask several employees how to get there throughout the journey. Both my wife and I became very frustrated with how long it took to get there.

We have a baby and wanted to go to their Cubby's Indoor Park. What they don't tell you on the website is that this area is actually about 2 miles down the road. This was pretty frustrating for us.

The water parks overall seem very good. They have a large arcade and a couple indoor playgrounds. Our 6 year old had a lot of fun there.

As far as noise, it wasn't too bad. There was the occasional herd of young animals, I mean teenagers, running up and down the hallways. But, that has to be expected at a place like this.

All in all, if you don't mind walking around forever to find where you are going, I guess you might love this place. I plan to go to Great Wolf next time.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonder Lake, IL
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Went here with some friends when we graduated nursing school (just wanted a quick getaway to swim and relax)... great pools, great waterslides, the water and air temperature were very good. The rooms were roomy with in-room fridges and there are lots of good restaurants in or near the premises. The negatives were two - our bed comforter had a few stains on it and secondly - many loud kids running up and down the halls. (I have 2 small children myself, who were not with me, and I never understand why parents don't at least try to control their children.). In any case - great place to take kids, especially in the winter if you have cabin fever.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in a condo on the property. The condo was not well kept. The beds were sunk in, their was no internet access, TV remotes didn't work, lighting in main room was terrible, dishwasher didn't work properly, fridge was warm when we got there, and they didn't provide any laundry detergent. We also had small children with us and there are no sidewalks on the property so we had to walk on the road at all times to get to the waterparks and restaurants. Shuttle drivers were routinely flying around corners with people on the road. We also thought the waterparks opened too late around 10am. We did enjoy the waterparks especially the variety of parks available. Their was a nice trail but it wasn't connected to the road so our relative in a wheelchair had to drive on the grass to get on the trail. We enjoyed the peacefullness of the condo.

We thought the staff was terrible. The concierge tried selling us a condo instead of answering our question. Other staff members were more interested quantity rather than quality of interactions.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

We stayed at the wilderness many times. This trip was the first time we stayed in one of their 4 bedroom condos. There were a total of ten of us in our adult group. The Condo had a very large living room that accommodated the whole group. There was also a fireplace in the living room. The kitchen and dining area was also very nice. There was a master bedroom with a fireplace and two other bedrooms down stairs that had queen beds. There were also two bathrooms on the first floor. On the second floor there was a loft area with a queen bed and then a bedroom with 2 queen beds. There was also a full bath on the second floor. There was also two other pull out couches, and two rollaway beds. There was also a large patio with a sitting area. There are many different things to do including the water parks, which are fun for all ages. They even have a shuttle service that takes you around, and if you ask nicely they will pick you up from the bars J . Check in is very fast. There are plenty of places to eat and drink on site. The condos are very reasonable when you have a big group.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Resort

Address: 511 East Adams Street, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come play the day away in America's largest waterpark resort! The Wilderness has 4 indoor and 4 outdoor water parks totaling nearly 500,000 square feet (that is over 12 football fields of water fun!) We also have two indoor, 3-D, black light mini golf courses; outdoor mini golf; zip lining; go-karts; laser tag; Wild Rock Championship Golf Club; and award-winning spa services at Sundara Spa. Amazing lodging options include Wilderness themed guest rooms, condos, villas and cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wilderness Resort Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wisconsin Dells
Wilderness Wi Dells
Wilderness Resort Wi Dells
Resort Wilderness Wisconsin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.