We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awesome!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2010

GREAT family place. Also would be nice for couples or even a girls getaway weekend. Ok, so it's a great place for everyone!! Very clean, rooms are wonderful, food & service also very nice.

Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    406
    164
    79
    41
See reviews for
789
21
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

The waterpark was great! Lots of fun for young and old alike! Warm water, nice staff, and lots to explore...

That being said, the hotel room (which we paid $300/night for a royal bear suite) which was supposed to be non-smoking, had strong and fresh odors of cigarette smoke. We went downstairs to request a room change, but saw the line of 25 people with only 2 staff at the front desk and decided to grin and bear our two nights of our "smoking" room. We kindly mentioned this at check-out, but just received a smile and a "have a great day" (our concern was completely ignored).

Other minor complaints: we were told at check-in to come down to the front desk to receive armbands for the waterpark each morning; on day two, we went down to the front desk to pick up armbands and were rudely told that we needed to present the armbands from the day before to get the new armbands (this was never mentioned at check-in).

I also don't think the restaurants at the hotel are very family or kid friendly. We have twin infants; when we were seated at the restaurant by the front desk, the hostess dropped off two stacked high chairs and ran away (my husband and I were each carrying a baby, making it next to impossible to unstack them ourselves). The hostess also didn't bother to move away any extra chairs, leaving us to move away two chairs and arrange the table. We also found it frustrating that the breakfast buffet was so disorganized; when we heard that there was over a page and a half of parties waiting to be seated, we decided to ditch the hotel and to find breakfast in town instead (several places were cheaper and much better service than either of the hotel's restaurants)...

We will still go on our winter and summer vacations to the Wisconsin Dells, but I don't think that the Great Wolf Lodge will become a regular place to stay, since it was too pricey for such poor service. Might have been worth it if was discounted, but not for full price again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We have been going to Great Wolf Lodge twice a year for more than 5 years. We really enjoy the atmosphere and prefer the waterpark over neighboring hotels that we have tried. Since they do not allow outside guests, it keeps the lines shorter and the chaos a little more under control. I also prefer the waterpark layout to the Wilderness (I hate that the there are several waterpark sections that are separated by hotel corridors...we'd mever be able to keep track of each other there!).
Our kids (ages 4 and 7) still try to stay awake each night for the Clock Show and storytime. The staff is always very friendly. The rooms are clean and fairly roomy. We always bring food and have a few meals in the room to defer costs.
It does seem like the costs have been rising in recent years. There is now a $7.99 resort fee per night and things that used to be complimentary now have fees attached (Cub Club activities, Wiley's Woods is now MagiQuest, etc).
We did have some trouble in the waterpark with inconsistent enforcement of the height requirements. Our 4 year old is exactly 40 inches (doctor's office measurement) and depending on which lifeguard was stationed at the slides effected whether or not she could ride. (Some said you needed to be OVER 40", others said she was just the right height). It was annoying because one time we even climbed all the stairs to the top only to be turned away. It would be very simple for the person at the waterpark desk to do an "official measurement" for the kids that are close to the height and provide another wristband. It would eliminate a lot of disappointmented 3/4/5 year olds who don't understand why the rules keep changing. Thankfully, this is a temporary problems for since she should have no problems on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

This is the first time visting the Wisconsin Dells. The Great Wolf Lodge was about what we expected. . . a family friendly place with a great water park. We had a standard queen suite and the room was nothing spectacular. It was clean and had all the normal ammenities that most hotel rooms have. The heater was the only complaint we had because it would either be too hot or too cold due to a malfunctioning thermostat.

The waterpark itself was great. We were there in February, during the middle of the week. So the crowd was minimal with no lines to any of the slides or rides. (We spent some time a the wilderness as well and that was jam-packed with people)

Suprisingly, my kids (6 & 10) really enjoyed MagicQuest which is attached to the hotel. They spent several hours there running around solving quests and would've stayed longer if we didn't have to be elsewhere.

I only have two gripes with GWL. One is that everything shuts down at 9:00pm -- the waterpark, restaurants, shops, everything. No late night snacks or entertainment. The other minor gripe is storytime. It is performed by a annimatronic clock which was obviously broken. Many of the robotic animals sat idle as they talked. Not a big deal, but my kids thought it was lame.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

This was our third trip to Great Wolf Lodge in the Dells and we were not disappointed. This time we brought 5 other families and we all had rooms next to each other which was a plus. Having the microwave and fridge really helps out with meals. We enjoyed New Years Eve so much we are booked for next year. The duck decorating, magic show, crafts and DJ was so nice. The breakfast buffet is very good and affordable. Since had such a large group and I wake early I did go to the waterpark when it opened and put a few tables together so we could all sit together. There are tables available but we all wanted to sit together. The cabanas were full so if you need one, book early. Even though there was a full house, we never waited more than 10 minutes for a slide which is quite different than other waterparks in the area that allow outside guests. I really wish they would have constructed the Tornado differently where the rafts did NOT need to be carried up - this is very difficult. If you plan on going on all the water slides and are over the age 30, start getting your legs in shape prior since there are many stairs for the slides. The adult only hot tub is a wonderful idea.

Tips - robes help as the hallways can get cold after leaving the water park. We bring plastic water bottles and bring our own drinks around the resort (save money!). The bucket of beer from the bar is a great deal and they make a great Bloody Mary. Water shoes really help as you are barefoot all day and who want to use the bathroom barefoot? We bring 2 bathing suits so one can dry before you have to use it again. The Tornado at night (when it is dark) is awesome. If you want your younger children to try the Tornado, do not tell them what it is since some scare easy and it is really a great ride. When you board the ride, you can not really see what you are in for. In the winter, we put a cooler full of water, soda, etc on the balcony and it stays very cold. The ability to use the water park the day of check in and the day of check out is great, pack wisely - bring a bag that contains all the water park supplies so you do not have to dig the day you check in and you can bring the day of check out. Before returning to our room at night, we wash the children's hair in the showers and dry off. The showers outside the waterpark are far less crowded than the actual water park showers. The amusement park at Buffalo Phil's has half off wrist bands that start at 5pm, we eat at Buffalo Phil's and then enjoy the amusement park at night (chicken and fish are great, ribs and fajitas not good). And don't forget the outlet mall across the street (there is a coupon book for $5 in the restroom hallway at the mall)... Look at the lobby for coupons for local establishments.

Have fun!

Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

We had booked a children's birthday party through the Magi-Quest and it was supposed to include pizza and drinks for all children. The food was two hours late and the short-handed staff new nothing of it. I was completely embarassed not to mention the children were hungry and crabby. And if this was not enough, i was charged $1,146..00 the next morning for the party! After talking to a manager who said it would be cleared up, the following morning I was charged $880.00! I would never recommended this resort to anyone. You would have better service at your local McDonald's!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cfranklingw2005, General Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, February 12, 2010
I am disappointed to hear about this experience. Although this is not the typical review we see, we do appreciate you sharing this information with us. Your comments will be shared with the team and we will work hard to ensure that these issues are addressed. I would encourage you to speak with a member of our management team if there is anything we can do to rectify this situation. We hope that you choose to give us another opportunity to show you what Great Wolf Service is.

Regards,

Angie Brown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We've been to the Dells 4 times now and are trying out a different waterpark each time we come. The time is was the Great Wolf. Lots of slides to keep the kids and us grown-ups happy. Water temp was fine, little cool by the little "lazy river". The park seemed a little under staffed and we found one worker that was not very friendly, but she was running 6 slides by herself. One BIG negative is, there isn't many places to eat in the hotel. One choice for breakfast and one choice for lunch. Even tho the sign in the lobby says Pizza Hut is open for lunch when in fact it doesn't open til 4:00 so you're stuck with the Loose Moose (kinda pricey).
Overall, the stay was pleasant, not crowded, rooms and halls were not noisy but you will here the trucks on the interstate while trying to sleep.
So far we've hit the Copa Cabana, Chula Vista, Wilderness and now the Wolf. Next time will be the Kalahari.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.