We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Wheaton, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stay with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stayed in the Bear condos which worked out great for our family of 6. We have small kids (10, 6, 2, 8 months) who all had a blast. The Walmart is pretty close so we got groceries and the condo was plenty big and well equipped to have meals there which works out better than a restaurant given the young kids. There was a snafu with our pizza order and the staff made sure they made it right. Also the housekeeping crew was good at helping us accommodate nappers and just leaving what we needed at the door. Overall it was a great first family visit to the Dells.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    368
    154
    73
    38
See reviews for
728
21
Solo
0
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We have two girls and have stayed here at least once a year for the past four years. The rooms are nice enough (we typically stay in the two bed family suite). The water park itself is smaller and does not have as many water slides as some of the other parks in the Dell's but it makes up for that with other things for the kids to do. Right in the lobby is a giant cabin/clock that does a story at night and all the kids come down in their pj's to listen. Characters are then brought out for the kids to meet, which is by far my kids favorite part. The food is good, not great but it isn't overpriced either which is nice. This was likely our last year here as my kids are getting out of the character phase and wanting to spend more time at the water park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our 3rd year back to Great Wolf Lodge. We have 4 kids ages ranging 3-16. We stayed in one of their condos.

The weather was a little on the cold side so majority of our time was spent indoors. All the kids had a lot of fun since there's was something for all of them to do. The place is clean and there's always lifeguards around. The prices at their food areas are reasonably priced.

My only true complain for the second year in a row is housekeeping. We would leave our condo early in the morning (9:30-10am) to return around 2pm to find that it was not cleaned yet. And the one time that they did go into our condo they didn't leave us dishwashing detergent for the dishwasher. It also seemed to have not been swept or vacuum. That was disappointing.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a family of 20 ages from 7-64. Everyone had a wonderful time. We had 3 condos and had enough room for everyone. The waterpark, rooms, and staff were great. The outdoor park was cold so we mainly just used the indoor waterpark. The kids had fun at the arcade. We went shopping at Tangler outlet which was in walking distants. Overall a perfect place for family fun for everyone. I would highly recommend this place. :)

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

After a rough check in process (arrived after 8pm and still waited 15-20 minutes to check in) and bad directions on where our room was the rest of our experience was great. Water park is huge and has areas for all ages of children, though are 2.5 year old had some trouble finding stuff he liked, our four year old loved it all. Lifeguards are every where and made us feel more than safe with our children in the water. Staff is friendly, beds are very comfortable and food is very affordable. Story time and pictures with the Great Wolf characters in the lobby before bed time was great and cant be missed. Everything was very clean, we constantly saw housekeeping around and our rooms were always clean beyond expectation. I'll agree with some other reviewers something has to be done about check in. I saw the lines during our stay during the afternoon and early evening and it was ridiculous. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and we will be back.

Room Tip: If you don't like noise ask for a room on the top floor away from the water park its quieter (th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale Heights, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed for 3 days and 2 nights. Highly recommend the Paw Pass for kids 6 and up. Room was nice and clean. Pizza and other food was good and the price was right. The waterpark was fun and was clean and safe. Highly recommend and will be back

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Lots of annoying things

I went with my wife and our 3 year old daughter. Overall we had fun. The water park is impressive for a hotel/resort. But there are a few things that were really bothersome and need to be addressed:

1. We arrived at 3 p.m. and had to wait in line for 40 minutes to check in. That's unacceptable.
2. There is no safe in the rooms. It's a "resort" so they should act like one and provide basics. We had to just leave our laptop, wallets, and iPad in there and hope for the best. Since most of the day is spent at the pool, you don't really want to take that stuff there either. Evidently, there's a locker you can rent, but that's annoying.
3. The pool towels are terrible. Small, thin, and stained. I'd considering bringing your own.
4. The room only had one electrical outlet over by the balcony to plug things into. The hotel seems really old, so they haven't joined the 21st century where people have things to charge like cameras, phones, tablets, and laptops.
5. The hotel only provides bar soap and "bubblegum" kids body wash. Really?
6. We got a $7 temporary "tattoo" for our child. It's basically glue and glitter. Although it's advertised to last up to 7 days, when she was done, the tattoo artist told us to avoid sunscreen and water. We're checking into a water park... the tattoo lasted about a half-day.
7. The hotel buildings where the rooms are have a back door that can lead to the indoor water park. But the water park doors are exit-only. So you get lectured if you try to enter. However, if you do exit them at the end of the day (the quickest way to get back to the room), the doors back into the accommodation buildings are sometimes locked. And the key cards don't work in them. So then you are forced to bang on them until somebody walks by or go back to the water park "exit only" door and get another lecture.

All these things might keep us from coming back. It's advertised as a "resort" but they aren't up to resort standards, in my opinion.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Wisconsin Dells and providing us with your feedback! Your commentary is greatly appreciated and I have shared it with our Management team at the resort to discuss internally.

We provide all of the towels a guest may need in their room and waterpark, but veteran guests recommend packing one beach towel per person to wrap up in for the walk back to the room.

We respectfully request that guests enter through the waterpark only through the front entrance. It is for the safety and consideration of our guests that other doors can only be utilized in case of an emergency. These emergency exits are meant to be used only to leave the park and are not intended for return entry.

I hope you find this information useful and will choose to stay with us in the future.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.