We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Iowa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you have little kids (under 8/9 yrs), this is a great place. Clean rooms, great atmosphere, and great service. Most of the water park is indoors which is both good and bad. With little ones, it’s great cause you don’t have to worry as much with sunscreen but for adults, it means you’re indoors when the weather is nice during the summer months. They really do cater a lot to little ones. Take advantage of the evening story time for the kids. Our girls loved it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    363
    345
    145
    69
    37
See reviews for
688
21
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our family has frequently stayed at a different Great Wolf location, so we thought we knew what to expect when checking in here. Although there were differences, they were mostly improvements on what we already knew.

There are many water parks in Wisconsin Dells to choose from. One thing I noticed while shopping around was that the other parks were open to general public, with many area hotels offering passes. Great Wolf is different in that you must stay at this hotel to use the water park. As a result, it is not crowded. The indoor park is split into 3 rooms with slides in each room. There is also a really nice outdoor area with slides and a large pool.

Our room had two queen beds and a pull-out sofa, providing plenty of room for our family of 4. We used the refrigerator and microwave. The small balcony was a plus as well. Our room was clean and comfortable.

Tips: Add the breakfast when booking your room for a price break.
If you go to the hotel first before visiting the town of Wisconsin Dells, you will be able to get discounts to local attractions (I wish I had known this ahead of time).
There are multiple restaurants and an outlet mall within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My Family and I Came here for spring break....and it was amazing! Nice Room, Nice Arcade and Nice Waterpark...All Clean and Fun. Many Fun Activities Are held for the kids during the day....the only problems we had were with the Scoops kids spa (we didn't make a reservation and did not know we had to...and they wouldn't fit us in which was a mistake on our part not theirs )
our other problem was on our last night 2 of our family members (including me) got extreme food poisoning....we are not sure if it was from the restaurant across the street (the person in our family who didn't get sick ate here also) or the Hotels restaurant in which only me and the other family member who got sick ate......when we left we alerted one of the maids that we had been sick and made a bit of a mess (because of the violent food poisoning) and she told us that it had been happening a lot......overall we would come back but just not eat at either of those restaurants

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
We greatly appreciate the feedback from your stay and thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Wisconsin Dells! I am sorry to learn some of your party got ill during your stay. If there are ever concerns like this, please bring it to our attention.

I hope your family is full recovered and will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I took my daughters and grand-daughters for 2 nites expecting a charming lodge stay. Instead we had housekeeping and maintenance in one of our 2 rooms for the "4th" time in 24 hrs to pull hair outta the sink, unplug the toilet (twice before we could even use it) and then come back at 10:30PM to unclog the tub drain as well and have hair cleaned out of it. I did not expect anything but clean rooms and appropriate staff, and after complaining I was given a less than generous compensation of $105 off a total $1300. bill. We spent an additional $400 on site for food, arcade games, and childrens activities, and now because it was set up through an employer, I will let them know not to encourage employee families to go there. Hugh disappointment in mgt, of a business that needs to spend $ on upkeep, maintenance, and staff.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Charlotte,

The commentary from your stay is greatly appreciated and I am disappointed to learn of the issues you had with your suite. Please know this is not customary for us and I have shared your concerns with the Management team on site.

If you would like to discuss your concerns further, feel free to contact us directly at guestrelations@greatwolf.com. We will be happy to speak with you about your stay.

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The water park inside this hotel is great. It's designed for younger kids, probably from 4 to 15. The hotel only allows guests staying at the lodge to enter the water park, so there aren't likely to be crowds. There indoor pools as well as an outdoor one. The slides are terrific fun and the are so many of them. Some slides are limited according to a child's height. The lifeguards are everywhere and definitely in charge. They do a very professional job. We felt our grandchildren were very safe. The condo we occupied was large and well appointed. The one restaurant we tried on property was fine, but not great. There are several restaurants within walking distance. We never moved our car once we were checked in. There are activities for kids other than the water park, including bedtime story time. The "paw pass" is worth the cost. We couldn't ask for a better vacation spot for young children (ours are 4 and 6). Highly recommend. This lodge is in the Wisconsin Dells areas, which is quite beautiful and close to Madison.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to the water park. There didn't seem to be a location better than any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This was our third time staying here and we were not disappointed. We have always had a double queen sofa suite on the 4th floor because the ceilings are vaulted and makes the room feel bigger, plus you don't have the noise of someone above you. There is a balcony which was nice to sit and relax on. There is also a mini fridge and microwave in the room. Our kids are 10 and 14 and they love it here. They didn't want to leave to go do anything else! Our 14 year old loves the Magiquest and Shadowquest game. Four stories of up and down searching for clues and solving quests. A person gets their exercise playing this game! It was to cold to enjoy the outside waterpark, but the kids were happy with the indoor wave pool and slides. It was not crowded and the lifeguards are very attentive. I like that the waterpark is only for hotel guests and not open to the public. We purchased the paw passes which was a good deal and the kids got a lot with them. We purchased the Camp Critter breakfast buffet for a couple of days and it was okay. Loved the waffles with a wolf face on them and hubby enjoyed having omlets made for him. Great Wolf Lodge is geared towards younger children and is very family oriented, but it will always be one of our favorite places!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent three nights at the Great Wolf Lodge. This was our second visit. We enjoyed out stay very much. The room was clean. The waterpark was clean. The pizza was great and inexpensive. This is a very nice place to stay considering the price, the nice rooms and the indoor water park for those cold days. My 13 and 15 year olds liked the wave pool. The staff was excellent and very friendly

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.