We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre at best. Not great for the price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Mediocre at best. Not great for the price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here for the weekend and although I do agree this is a great place to stay for smaller children, as it is not as overwhelming as the larger resorts, they are way overpriced for what you get and the service. First the positives, Magiquest is a huge plus, it's great exercise and my daughter loved it, the people working there are wonderful. Also the arcade games were easy to play and easy to win tickets, although we won big on one game and it spit out only one ticket. There was only one attendant who was extremely busy behind the counter so it wasn't worth the wait to complain. The water parks were clean and lifeguards are HIGHLY attentive. Huge plus. But a big minus was not allowing tubes in the wave pool. Other resorts allow them and it takes away from the real fun of a wave pool!! Many guests were noticeably confused and disappointed by this. Some of the other big negatives was the staff was very unknowledgable about many things. Pool staff couldn't answer a question I had about the hotel. Front desk staff couldn't recommend a restaurant that served breakfast late. I found this strange for the Dells where people are probably always looking for a concierge or asking for other things to do. Also, poor service at the restaurant and sweet shop. Rooms were just ok. It was pricey for the quality. I stayed here because the Wilderness was too much for my child last year but it wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Thank you for visiting Great Wolf Lodge – Wisconsin Dells! I understand your concerns regarding the tubes in the wave pool. This was a change done across the board with all Great Wolf Lodge locations as of 3/1/14. We wanted to ensure our lifeguards had clear lines of sight to all areas of the wave pool, and the tubes prohibited this. Safety is the number one priority at Great Wolf Lodge and we made the decision that best fit this priority.

I apologize for the service you received while dining with us, and I will pass this feedback along so we can improve for future guests.

Whenever price becomes a concern, you should keep an eye on your e-mail inbox. As a valued guest, you will receive exclusive repeat guest discounts that you can use to make a return trip more affordable!

We hope you will stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    405
    164
    79
    41
See reviews for
788
21
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Hotel seemed old, outdated. Bathroom was tiny, although I love that the sink is not in the bathroom so someone can be brushing teeth while the other is in the shower. Nice that our first floor room had access directly to the parking lot. The water park itself I felt was small. I'm sure in the summer it would be better as the outside would be open. Nice that the outlet mall is conveniently close by. Lots of restaurants nearby. For sure eat at Cracker Barrel is you can. Love that place.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

All in all, Great Wolf Lodge was a pretty good experience. The room was nice and the waterpark was, again, pretty good. The problem is that in our opinion, Khalahari is the best park in the Dells. Thus, the rest have to be ranked lower.

Great Wolf Lodge is certainly better than Atlantis and Chula Vista, for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We arrived on April 19th to a PACKED hotel. The front staff was very nice and courteous upon check in. We were given a room on the fourth floor, which was nice and quiet. I did find a used bandaid on the floor of the bathroom which was pretty gross but I got over it. Also, our room (477) didn't lock. The rooms could definitely use some updating for sure! The Mr. Coffee in there was an antique. The rooms weren't really a big deal because we were always out and about so we weren't really there a whole lot.
The indoor waterpark was great, but a little cold. Tons of stuff for the little ones. The lifeguards were AMAZING. They took their jobs very seriously and never took their eyes off the water. I also saw them handle a lost child and an injured child quickly. It was really awesome.
The food at the hotel was ehhh....Definitely go out to eat. We had the take out pizza which wasn't very good at all but we were starving so we wolfed it down. The breakfast buffet was alright. The man working the omlette station was very nice.
The game room was nice added bonus. It gives kids something to do other than being in the water. It was like a mini chuck e cheese.
Overall, we LOOOOVVVEED our trip! Our daughter had a ball and she hasn't stopped talking about it since. I did find it to be a really expensive weekend, but I guess that just comes with visiting the Dells.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor seem to be less noisy as there is no one running around above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo over Easter weekend with 4 adults and 4 children aged 18 mo, 3 yr, and 8 yr. I have never stayed in the Dells before and I suppose this is baseline for a Middle America family entertainment center resort. It wasn't great. The condo is much too small of a space for this many people despite advertised for 8 people. The appliances are old and worn. The towels sometimes were thread-bare or had holes. The furniture was worn and tired. The pull out couch was minimally comfortable. There were annoying tapping noises from the ceiling of one bedroom (a pipe?). There were ants in the bathroom (and on the floor of shower room at water park). Despite being large, with plenty of wall space, the bathroom had only one towel rack and no where to put anything. The sheets kept slipping off the bed. The water-park itself was fun, except for the uncomfortably cold water temperature and air temp. The pool towels are small. Sometimes they had run out of towels. The spa and bar were nice. Overall, eh. I doubt I'll stay here again. At least not in a condo.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GWL_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Great Wolf Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for staying at Great Wolf Lodge – Wisconsin Dells and sharing your feedback with us! I apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with your condo suite. Whenever there are issues like this, please contact Guest Services immediately so we can work on resolving as many of your concerns as possible or potentially move you into a different room.

We hope you will return to stay with us again soon!

Jason
Great Wolf Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Kids and adults will love this hotel and park. The spa is top-notch, the rides are a blast and there are bars for the grown-ups. The food's not bad; it's typical for a theme park like this. This place is great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Ulm, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Great place to spend the weekend! Kids loved the Tornado Slide. Lifeguards very nice. Location is next to Tanger Outlet Mall, which is an easy walk across the parking lot. Rooms very clean and staff very friendly.

Room Tip: Look for discounts online. Arrive Thursday evening rather than a Friday, as to beat crowded check-in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#21 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.