We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For little kids only.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Cuba City, Wisconsin, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For little kids only.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

this was the official hotel for an event we attended Thurs- Sun. It is not for adults. All pools close at 9pm & nothing opens until 7:30 am or later. The highlight was the spa, I did receive a great massage. Will never recommend or stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    356
    338
    140
    68
    37
See reviews for
672
21
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

very family friendly.. and very accommodating for younger children like ours.. the water park had plenty of play areas for the little ones and nothing there is very deep at all but they do provide life jackets if needed.. they really did a great job accommodating everyone at the park with fun for all ages..

liked the restaurants on site.. we got to know the waitresses because they jump from restaurant to restaurant and very friendly..

we do highly recommend the buffalo phils across the parking lot.. they bring your food on a train.. the kids loved it!!!

we had a patio 1st floor room facing the water park.. no traffic at all it was like we had our own private yard for the kids to play in... room 169 was great!!!

Room Tip: room 169 was a very good room close to everything but very private and quiet..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We came to the Great Wolf Lodge from Texas, and went with family from Indiana. School was already out for our kids in Texas, but apparently not so many are done in WI yet, so it was atabout half capacity for our two day visit, which worked well for us, having three small children.

Everyone in the staff was helpful and friendly, and they were very patient with our children. The facility was clean, and the room was very clean and stocked with all you expect in a room. I liked the safety features in the rooms with a balcony.

If there was anything that could be considered a negative, the smok alarms have a flashing green light that were a distraction in all parts of our condo. Safety first, a minor annoyance, but definitely did not take away from the trip whatsoever. Definitely a location we will visit again in the future, and recommend to our friends who are more local to here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location in the middle of the Dells. We rent the two bedroom condo. Only has one bathroom, but a full kitchen, living room with a fireplace and a large deck. Great for a family with kids. In the heart of the dells and close to everything

Room Tip: Make sure you request a room on the parking lot side away from the interstate or you'll never sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We loved the waterpark. It was nice that you don't have to go outside to get to it from the room. Our room was probably the furthest from the waterpark as you could get and it was at most a 5 minute walk with a toddler. Waterpark had short lines on a weekday in early June - at most waited 2 minutes for the Howlin' Tornado. We felt very safe there, the lifeguards seemed to be attentive. We didn't order food at the waterpark it self, it seemed pricey. The cafe had a Starbucks inside... that was way cool. Stopped at the Loose Moose Bar and Grill for an appetizer and drinks while we watched the Hawks game... Service was good and the Boneless wings were surprisingly good. Our room was a Condo room, and it was very spacious and comfortable - my only complaint was there seemed to be a lot of road noise from the highway from where our room was.... not sure if the rooms that are closer to the lobby building would have had this problem, but with the fan - A/C running it wasn't as noticeable. The A/C unit wasn't working when we got there, but was quickly resolved with a call to the desk who sent maintenance that was there in 10 minutes. It was nice to have a mini fridge and microwave in our room. We never heard anyone outside our room in the highway. It was really quiet at night. Our 2 yr. old liked the hourly animatronic clock show in the lobby. All in all we would recommend a stay here to anyone with a family.

Room Tip: Lone Wolf Condo room on 2nd floor near door 7 seemed to have a lot of road noise from highway - more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, IL USA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night stay after picking up a pretty good GROUPON deal. We took three of our younger granddaughters, ages 2, 5, and 7.

ROOM
Our deluxe queen suite was nicely appointed with 2 fairly comfy beds and a full sleeper sofa, a dining table with 4 chairs, fridge, microwave, coffee maker, 2 flat panel tv's and a stone fireplace (gas). There is a hairdryer, ironing board, and iron. The hotel also has laundry facilities ($1 to wash and $1 to dry. Tide laundry detergent and Snuggle fabric softener is available for 50 cents. We had requested a ground floor room and were assigned 113. The room was nice and clean, but seemed dark. Even with the curtains open and all the lights on the room was dark
.
WATER PARK
Our main destination was the water park,of course, and the kids loved it. Lifeguards are plentiful and very attentive. There are life jackets and towels are plentiful. The indoor area is very warm and the water temp is warmer than what we usually find at such places. They have two hot tubs, one of which allows kids, which made the girls happy because the other places we go it's adults only. They also have some pretty cool slides for the littlest ones and the daredevil 2 year old made good use of them! The older two enjoyed the bigger slides as well. Everyone liked the wave pool. The Lazy River however, is the smallest I've seen anywhere!! It's as if they built the park and when it was done someone said "OOPS! We forgot to make a Lazy River. Oh, well. stick it in that corner over there". I noticed a lot of areas that could use a bit of repair/touching up. They could make it look a lot nicer for a little work and not much money.

Unfortunately it was 55 and raining the whole time we were there so the outside park was closed

RESTAURANT
We ordered the pizza meal the first night which included a 16" pizza, 6 bread sticks, a salad, and a 2 liter bottle of pop. The pizza was edible, not the worst I've ever had, but close. The toppings were ok but the crust was so hard and thin (and I like thin crust pizza) it resembled a cracker. The salad was very good.
We had received a $50 dining credit for the restaurant with our GROUPON purchase so on day 2 we took the girls for lunch. The food was ok, nothing special. but you won't go hungry here. The chicken strips are more like chicken PLANKS, three huge pieces and also comes with fries and a drink.. The macaroni and pizza also come with fries, which seemed odd to me but I guess kids do like fries. I had the fried fish which was pretty good and I was happy they have malt vinegar as I hate tartar sauce. My husband had the rib eye sandwich which was more like a shaved beef sandwich and he thought it was alright.

There are lots of things for kids to do here if they get tired of the water park, which mine never do. They did go one night for the story telling and they enjoyed it. And there's the usual game room and gift shop if you feel the need to waste a lot of cash.

I would probably return if I got another good deal but I wouldn't pay full price. Of course, I never pay full price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Waterpark... extreemly alert and attentive lifeguards everywhere... almost too many. Coyldnt go down any slides WITH really little kids ~annoying. I wish the management would pay more attention to the cleanliness... dirty stairs etc.
Hotel... very nice clean and friendly.
Food... excellent pizza!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Otel so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.