We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids had a blast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Kankakee, Illinois
Level Contributor
89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The kids had a blast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a water park destination lodge. The lodge itself is showing its age a little but it was very clean. The staff is super friendly especially the staff that interacts with the kids. This is definitely geared towards pre-teen kids which is great. There are tons of stuff to do on the property with Magi-Quest, the arcade and the kids Cub Club. The clock tower show and story time was very popular with our 6 & 8 year old. The check in procedure is very regimented and be sure to follow their instructions or you will wait and get some withering stares from the others in the line.

My only complaint with this place is the food services available. The lunch bar/grill was over priced and the food quality was below average. The camp critter breakfast buffet was a waste of time and money. Everything on the buffet was cold except for the made to order eggs. I've never heard of a buffet that wouldn't give refills to kids for milk. The only things the adults can drink free of charge is soda, coffee, or tea. This is ridiculous! Charging for orange juice on a buffet and charging for refills? What is the big deal. They don't make enough with the inflated prices on everything else in the hotel or the buffet.

I would definitely return as the kids loved the water park. Only next time we will only do the water park and definitely not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    456
    182
    87
    49
See reviews for
944
24
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waukon, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Great Wolf. So much to do and the staff are excellent with kids.. We had the Critters breakfast buffet, we went early which was a good thing because it is a very busy place. The food is just average and they only have one chief for all of their guest (150 people) so we had to wait quite a while for a omelet or eggs you had ordered. Other than that it was a great place to stay, we had alot of fun..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We check out tomorrow and had a pretty good stay. I thought the water park would have more exciting rides but they were OK for my children ages 7 and 8. They definitely liked the tornado the best. We spent only 2-3 hours per day in the waterpark and I thought we'd be there much of the day. Kids absolutely loved Magiquest and we spent lots of time doing that. Bring your walking shoes if you plan to participate with your kids! Paw pass was great. Kids loved the "build a bear" experience. Food at Loose Moose just OK. Bartender tonight very good but name tags were small so could not read his name. Stayed in room 446 (1br) on top floor and enjoyed the fact we had no neighbors -- adjacent to elevator and stairs. Quiet in terms of no neighbor noise but air ducts and frig were loud. Pros probably outweigh the cons. There is a lot to do overall. My 6 year old loved storytime. They also had a disco party last night -- just wish it wouldn't have started at my kids' bedtime. Note to management - was walking in front of Loose Moose pizza takeout and I overheard one of the ladies say to the other that the kids were really irritating. Probably not the best line of work for her? Might come back if the deal is good but will try Kalahari next time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed in the loft condo with another family! Next time we will great the bigger condo with bedrooms cause everything echos for the lucky person that sleeps in the loft. It is a long walk from the condos over to the waterpark but it is a larger resort. Room was clean and check-in was a breeze. The kids enjoyed storytime and the dance party and of course many hours were spent at the waterpark. Bring your own towels though cause they make you hand them in before you leave the waterpark. John the bartender was the best bartender ever and made our last night memorable. The waitress Sherry was the worst waitress ever and I can not believe she even has a job in customer service as we were not the only ones who received horrible service. We did speak to a manager after multiple requests to see one and he did make it right and was apologetic. I do hope to get to visit again but if Sherry is working we will not be eating there. Bonus: The outlet mall is right next door!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This was our third stay and we had a lot of fun. Our kids re 4 and 7, and it was definitely a perfect place for them. The water park is large, without being too spread out. There are 4different areas of the water park: the wave pool with adjacent tube and body slides and toddler spray park, the water playground with smaller slides and dumping water, the lazy river and tube slides, and another area of varying slides and lily pad. While they are separate areas, it is not that spread out and still not too difficult to find people.

While life jackets are not required here for younger kids, they were readily available in the pool area. We were there during spring break when the hotel was at full capacity, and still never had a problem getting a single or double tube, and never had to wait more than a couple of minutes for a slide. The staff was helpful and friendly, and there were a lot of attentive life guards on patrol.

The game room was fun, as we're the lobby activities. My younger child especially enjoyed the characters in the lobby and the show they do over the fireplace. One time was more than enough, though.

Our basic room was spacious and had more than enough room. It was clean, comfortable, and had sufficient storage. We were surprised to find a refrigerator and microwave in our room.

My only complaint concern the quality of the food. Our first night, we were tired after a long day at the water park, and decided to try the dinner buffet at the hotel. Big mistake! While it was clean and comfortable and the staff was friendly and professional, the food choices were terrible. We all left hungry and craving anything fresh. After that, we switched gears and picked up fruit and snacks for our room and went out to eat the following night. For breakfast, we picked up Dunkin Donuts or McDonald's and ate as we got ready for the day. We did eat lunch by the pool one day and thought it was totally fine.

That said, I would still go back to this property and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We went for four days during spring break. We had a great time even though it was busy. You never have to leave once you get there if you don't want to. Several restaurants within walking distance. They do have a deal called a Paws pass for a number of things to do at resort. It's a great value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The waterpark was phenomenal. There was more than plenty to do for all ages. The concessions and drink prices were slightly inflated, but nothing out of the ordinary. The park hours are very broad- 9am to 9pm most days- and we spent the majority of our time there. There are plenty of lifeguards, and they were friendly and do a good job.

We were able to check in before our check-in time (4pm). We had six in our party, and all stayed in a family suite, which was roomy enough. It was on the first floor, closest to the waterpark, and we didn't have any trouble with noise. The room was clean, and had a walk out patio which was nice- would be be even better to have in the summer. The bathroom was painfully small. Beds-- with the exception of the pullout couch-- were comfortable.

The breakfast buffet ($12 per adult) was gross. It was nothing different than a continental breakfast-- which I've actually had better continental breakfasts. The food was lukewarm, and the breakfast meats were more like mystery meats. DON'T waste your money, there are plenty of breakfast joints around the hotel where you'll spend less and get edible food.
We also tried the Bar & Grill our first night there. Food was normally priced and boring.

Something I thought was strange-- maid service didn't come until around 4pm. When they did show up, they made the beds and restocked towels... but didn't restock the coffee or anything else.

All in all, the money spent was not totally worth it. We had a good time, but I think we will try the Wilderness or Kalahari next time.

Room Tip: First floor is closest to the waterpark, and most rooms have walkout patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
3.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 363 reviews
2.6 mi away
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Atlantis Waterpark Hotel & Suite...
#40 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#16 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Orbitz and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.