We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Great Wolf Lodge
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Mineral Point, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Room and staff were execellent. Everything was clean and in order. One of the top three indoor parks in the Dells. The Quest was cool for all ages. The paw pass is well worth the money. Its a must for anyone with kids.The food on site is reasonably priced although the alcohol is outragously priced.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    416
    166
    80
    42
See reviews for
806
21
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We just returned from a 'winter break' weekend. From the moment we arrived, 'til we dragged our tired feet back into the car for the ride home, we had only positive experiences. The room was spotless, and well maintained. It included all the comforts of home including a microwave and, refrigerator. The Northwoods 'Wolf' experience thrilled our kids with stuffed animals in the lobby, towering totem poles, printed carpet, and log carved beds. We packed our suits in a separate bag, and arrived early - about noon. Check in was very easy, and they went out of their way to accommodate us with a 3 year old who was having growth plate issues in his knee. They gave us a room on the same level, and located very close to the water park. The water park was extremely clean, the lifeguards were plentiful and attentive. We played until about 4:00 when we went up to our room, and out to dinner. We barely got back in time to put our pj's on, and head down for the 8:00 story time. With the story, and life sized characters, you would have sworn you were staying in Disneyworld on Disney property. I can't say enough good stuff about our experience. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast the following morning, and that was good, but, even more so, very convenient. The kids went to breakfast in their pajama's, making it simple to go back to our room, and change into our bathing suits quickly to enjoy the water park until about 10:30. After checkout at 11:00 we could have swam until 9:00 that night, but, honestly, we were filled with about as much fun as we could handle, and headed out to enjoy some of the other sights before our trip back home.

Room Tip: ask for a room close to the lobby if possible. Especially if you have young children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My daughter had such a good time last August that we had to go back, she says it was just as fun this time. With the Paw-Pass two nights is not enough time, you never want to hurry when having a good time. Next time we will stay longer.

Room Tip: We had a handicap room this time, the whole room seemed more open/larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had another great stay at Great Wolf Lodge. We stayed here for the first time last Christmas and were looking forward to making it an annual event. Didn't make it in December but had just as much fun this February! No noticeable changes at the Waterpark or the Hotel but that is okay. This place has a comfortable, relaxed warm atmosphere that we love. Again we got a great room, the Loft Suite. This room is huge with plenty of room for our boys (ages 9 and 7) and hubby and I. The kids love having their own space upstairs (and so do we) along with their own TV. I like having the fridge and microwave sink area so we can make meals to save some money. I was able to easily warm up and serve the food I prepared and we really didn't need to go to the restaurant at all...but we did :-) The restaurant isn't cheap but it's not crazy expensive either and the food and service are really, really good. We all loved our meals. The brat burger was particularly awesome. We also picked up some Starbucks in the coffee shop for a little extra energy after climbing all those stairs at the waterpark. We have been to several indoor waterparks and this is still our favorite. It is laid out well and very clean. The lifeguards are attentive. Our kids will ride everything in this park....over and over again! The way it is designed it's easy to manage and keep track of your stuff and your kids while still having a great time. I think it is particularly good for families that have toddlers as well as older kids as the areas designed for toddlers are well defined but not separated from the other attractions. It was not crowded and we had very little waiting time for slide. We also love the Magiquest on site. The boys really got into it this year. (It is a wizzard themed super treasure hunt with a magical wand.) The only downside is more stairs. They have a workout room here but I've never used it as we get more than enough of a workout climbing all the stairs for the slides and magiquest! Magiquest is a great break from being wet and you never have to leave the lodge. I'd also recommend getting the Paw Pass. It includes a magiquest admission and wand, a stuffed animal, a drink with souvenir cup, a craft at the cub clup, some tokens for arcade and some discounts at local attractions. It really is worth the money. Our kids had fun painting a ceramic in the cub club. My 7 year old really liked the clock tower show and we went on the wolf walk in the lobby one morning (a staff member did a guided eye-spy game in the lobby and the kids found different animals and talked about them then made an origami wolf). My 9 year old wasn't too interested in either. The arcade is a great thing to do while hubby packs the car. It's not huge but has lots of great games. Overall we really had a great time. It's relaxing to have everything at the lodge and not need to leave. The only thing that I wouldn't rave about is the housekeeping. We had to call to get our room cleaned and they didn't do the best job (didn't restock coffee and cups, there were some candy wrappers from a previous guest in the nightstand). That said the hotel is well maintained so it wasn't a big problem. This place is a great family get away. We all had a great time! Looking forward to doing it again next year.

Room Tip: The condos are the farthest away from the water park. We were on the 4th floor and the elevator can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We are big fans of the Dells and have been many times but I'll tell you, be prepared, it's a wide swath of America (the good, the bad, and the crass). Great Wolf seems to attract less of the crass than other resorts. The resort is quite nice and with younger kids (we have kids ranging from 7 to 1), it's particularly nice because it's all in one complex, no shuttle buses to get to the water park, no walks across snowy, windswept parking lots. Also, while there are certainly plenty of adult beverages availble. the focus seems to be more on the kids and you don't often see out of control drunk parents with their kids at the park. Also, the lifeguards seem to be well-trained and attentive. The rooms (we usually stay in the condo-wing are perfect for a big group. The only downside is there are no views to be had from the room - it's directly on the interstate. But, the service, the convenience, and the nice accommodations make up for that. Also, across the parking lot is the outlet mall which is always a big hit. Great spot for a family vacation and safe - the resort does not sell day passes so it's never too crowded.

Room Tip: Condos are great for big/multi-generational groups and are all inside and totally connected to the w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

My wife came with the flu about 2.5 days before our reservation, so I called to cancel. They said it was within 72 hours (I believe it was around 65 hours before) so we'd lose the entire amount ($350) if we cancelled which seems outrageous. We were never warned about this policy when we originally booked, and they refused to waive it for us. However they said we could reschedule once with no penalty.

We rescheduled for 1.5 months out, but the same room was $199 then. They refuse to refund the difference, and instead gave us a $150 credit to use at the resort. I guess we'll be ordering a ton of room-service.

Hopefully nothing in life prevents us from going this time. The reschedule was a one time thing and then they claim they just get to keep my $350 for no service provided.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howards Grove
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Ranks in my top 3 worst vacations. When we arrived, our condo wasn't ready yet so they took our number to call us when it would be....except they never called. There we were waiting in line again wondering when we could get into the room. When we finally made our way to the front of the line, the attendants response for no call was " they must have forgot, I don't know." She then wrote down our condo number and walked away leaving us not even knowing where we were going. When we finally got to the water park, we did manage to have a little fun when there was a tube or mat available. Instead of allowing everyone a turn, guests kept the tube or mat to ride again ignoring the people waiting, well the attendants just watched ( keep in mind this was a Sunday night.) When we settled for the night in our condo, we kept hearing a dripping noise. As it turned out, every time the room upstairs used the toilet or shower, the water dripped very loudly in the walls of the bedroom. By 5 am kids were running around upstairs and screaming. We decided to head to the lobby for coffee only to find out the treats shop doesn't open till 7. I really don't know why I would ever stay here again when you get better service at a McDonald's. Since my niece was tired from not sleeping the night prior, we attempted the water park before we left to return home. Once again no tubes or mats and a complete disaster. Best part of the trip was getting home today.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 1400 Great Wolf Drive, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#22 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Wolf Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Lodge Hotel
Wisconsin Dells Hotel Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge Wisconsin Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Wi Dells
Great Wolf Hotel Wi Dells
Great Wolf Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.