We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Hideaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   4169 Rte 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Hideaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Bowman's was our first B&B and me and my wife loved it. It was near to everything, but in a peaceful little part of the forest away from the road. Dave and Nancy are charming hosts and make a wonderful breakfast. We will be returning someday.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    2
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
64
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Willowbrook
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just a short drive from the Dells you'll find this pleasant oasis. It's set well back from Rt. 13 so it's very quiet. Beautiful trees and lawn. We enjoyed watching all the birds at the backyard feeders. First time I ever saw an indigo bunting. The inn is well run and comfortable. Breakfasts were delicious. Innkeepers are very knowledgeable about the area.

Room Tip: Elmer's Room is very comfortable. Lots of windows, pretty views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Lake, WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We loved this little hideaway B&B. Away from the craziness of downtown Dells, but only a few minute drive from it. David & Nancy were excellent hosts and the breakfast was delicious. Will definitely recommend to others. We stayed in Gracie's Garden Room and enjoyed relaxing in the whirlpool tub after our long day. Bed was super comfortable, too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Bowman's was a wonderful place to go and relax, but at the same time be very close to all the action. My husband and I could not have asked for more. The accommodations were great and the breakfast was superb. We will definitely be returning for another stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stayed in Aunt Geri's cottage and absolutely loved it! Brenda and Jim were such wonderful hosts: very respectful, sweet, and knowledgeable. The cabin had heated bathroom floors, a lovely whirlpool tub, and a cute little fireplace. The location was excellent: close enough to the "excitement" of the Wisconsin Dells, and far enough away to avoid it if necessary. Brenda was an awesome cook! One of the mornings we had to leave early for our day and she delivered "breakfast-to-go" in paper sacks right to our door step! Love this place! We are already discussing when we can come back...

Room Tip: Aunt Gerri's Cottage is absolutely wonderful. The cabin had heated bathroom floors, a lovely wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I traveled to Bowmans for our first experience with a B&B. It was a peaceful couple of days highlighted by delicious breakfasts and lovely southern charm from our host. The whole place was impeccably clean which is a big plus on my list. We are looking forward to a follow up visit during the summer months!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atikokan, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We booked two cabins here for 3 nights, for 2 adults and 4 children. I spoke with the proprietress ahead of time to ensure that they were family-friendly, and she assured me that they often accommodated children and it was no problem. However, from the moment of our arrival we sensed that we were not welcome. We were told not to allow the children outside except in a designated field near the highway. During our initial tour every one of our children was told it to touch things, not to sit on the furniture, etc. our youngest son was grabbed and pulled off of a couch. We tried to keep things smooth, watching the kids far more closely than usual, but the owners spied from their window and admonished our children as soon as they walked between cabins the first evening. I was sorry to leave the property, which was pretty, with a great claw foot tub on a deck (and yes, my son did exit the trailer to speak to me out there), but there was no way that we could coexist with these people for 3 days. We left the next morning, feeling that they had badly misrepresented themselves as "family-friendly". They were adamant that our unruly children were the problem, but honestly the problem began the second we exited our vehicle, and while our kids are normally quite energetic we tiptoed around this place to no avail.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Owner at Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your Valentin's Day review of your August 2013 stay with us. As in all situations involving more than one person there may be different memories of any given occasion.
When you arrived from your several hour drive from Canada it became obvious to us that the 4 children needed something to spend their pent up energy on thus we offered a safe place and ball so that they could get some exercise. The offer was not accepted. At that time we did request that your children be under your supervision at all times.
Upon entering the cottage when one of the boys began jumping on the sofa it seemed wise at the time to assist him in getting off so that he didn't fall off and hurt himself. I am so sorry you were offended no offense was intended.
No looking out windows was necessary at 12:00 AM to be aware of what was going on out there. We as well as the other guests in the neighboring cottage were woke up by the sound of loud voices and running on the decks. Three of the children were outside unsupervised having a great time playing chase. We didn't feel it was unreasonable to ask that you keep the children inside. Again there was no intent to offend. We did have other guests to consider.
After a discussion the next morning and being threatened with a review like this we agreed to refund 2 nights of your three night stay. Which we did!
We do welcome well behaved children and have had some delightful experiences in the past. With children under the age of 12 we offer breakfast served on the cottages, however in your case we offered a setting for the 6 of you under the cabana on our large deck. Even though the table was set and breakfast was prepared you chose to leave without eating.
Life is full of lessons to be learned every day. Thank you for being our teachers in this situation. We learned a lot. We would love to have you back another time for a romantic couple weekend. Happy belated Valentines day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4169 Rte 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on a peaceful hill safely hidden from the road this romantic 60's ranch style home and new cottages are just what you need for your special retreat. Spacious rooms with comfortable king or queen Beds and lovely linens. Enjoy a whirlpool tub or spa shower. No hotel noise for you! Yummy breakfasts start your day off right. Rest on the large deck. Take a walk in our organic garden or sit on the covered swing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bowman's Oak Hill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.